Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Snake River Montessori School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Idaho Falls

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

This school is an incredible find in Eastern Idaho - we are so grateful we can send our children there. I have never met such a dedicated group of teachers - not only do they teach, but they put in countless hours volunteering on behalf of the school. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

This school provides the best possible start that you can give your child in Idaho Falls. The Montessori style of education is what sets it apart. Additionally the professionalism of the staff, devotion of the teachers, and excellence of the facilities are all reasons why this is the best PreK-6th grade school in town. The Montessori method encourages that children should begin the learning process before Kindergarten and SRMS accepts kids as soon as they are potty trained. My daughter started when she was 3. She is now in the 2nd grade and recently scored a 6.2 on the STAR test meaning that she is reading at a 6th grade level. You need to visit this school before settling on another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

Definitely made the right choice for school in Idaho Falls! My son is in his second year of preschool and I am so impressed with how much he is learning and how much fun he is having. I love that he is in a class room with 3,4 and 5 year olds. He learns from the older students and is a "big kid" to the younger ones. Definitely not a place you just drop your kid off and do not get involved. It does require parent involvement, but that is what makes the school so great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

After graduating college with a degree in elementary education, I began my job hunt. I knew Snake River Montessori was a good school from watching my youngest sister learn and grow while attending SRMS. When I learned of a job opening at SRMS, I immediately applied for the position. Shortly after accepting the job, I was headed to Montessori teacher training in Colorado. I had no idea just how life changing it would be to get my Montessori teaching certificate and join the amazing SRMS staff and community. As a teacher, this approach to education is so satisfying and exciting. I love watching the children grow and learn at their own pace. I enjoy the freedom to be creative as a teacher and not be confined to a scripted curriculum. My students aren't learning things because they will be tested on them later. They are learning life skills, figuring out their place in the universe, developing a love of all living things, and following their interests. We encourage independence and show the children respect. I am now in my third year at SRMS and can't imagine teaching anywhere else.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 31, 2013

I went looking for the best grade school in Idaho Falls and I think I found it. The school concept is to let each child excel at what they are good at and help them with what they struggle with. My daughter has been there now for seven years and I would not consider sending her anywhere else. I like the teacher and their willingness to help with all situations. They want to know of any problems your child is facing at school and at home. They are attentive and caring. Each child is encouraged to move ahead in any subject they excel at but at the same time they get help is areas where they might have trouble. The only thing I can think of that would make the school better is if they had a hot lunch program for the first through sixth graders. But I think that is a small inconvenience. After having my oldest daughter go through public school, I knew I had to do something better for my youngest daughter. I definitely found it at Snake River Montessori School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

We are so thankful to the staff at the Snake River Montessori School for providing an exceptional education experience for our three children, two of which, after attending SRMS through six grade, have moved on to public education and are thriving very well. Snake River Montessori School is an education gem in South Eastern Idaho!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Snake River Montessori School is a fantastic school. The focus is on developing each child's individual potential. The Montessori method of teaching provides a far more stimulating and tactile learning environment than possible in underfunded and overcrowded public schools. Children learn to be responsible for their learning environment, peer relationships, and planning and completing work to achieve their goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

My daughter attends Snake River Montessori and it i just the most amazing school for her. The academics is awesome and fun to learn. The staff is just wonderful. My daughter is nourishing her potential. She is also expanding her mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

This is the best school in the area. The teachers really do have a passion for their work and it shows in the childrens' ability to excel in their learning. The Montessori method allows children to work at their own pace and finds what works best to help them excel in their studies. I love how our school uses Science Trek and Teton Science School as part of the curriculum to offer a unique learning experience for our students. We had originally planned on only attending Snake River Montessori for pre-school and kindergarten but after seeing how my son thrived in this environment we decided to continue on through the 6th grade. As with any private, tuition based school, it can be financially challenging at times but this school is completely worth the sacrifice. The dedication of the teachers and staff and the wonderful family environment truly makes this school the best school in Eastern Idaho.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

Great staff and facilities. Not a better school in Idaho Falls. The preschool program gets kids off to a nice start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

A wonderful investment in my child's future. It is so nice having her attend a school with children who's parents and teachers have a common belief in education. She loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

Couldn't ask for a better school! The kids love learning! My oldest started reading chapter books in Kindergarden--and is now an avid reader well above grade level. Montessori perspective really does help each kid find their particular way they learn best. You must visit the classroom and have a student describe to you what they are working on. All the teachers are fabulous--but the Art teacher is top notch! You can't go wrong with this school. Once you walk in the door--and see for yourself--you'll know there is no other comparison. Families and teachers/administration all work together and show their dedication to making sure the kids know how important education really is. You really get what you pay for in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

Top notch teachers and administration encourages creative thinking. Our son enjoys the learning enviroment and the extra ativities provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

A wonderful child centered school were each child is allowed to work at their own pace. Small class sizes with a wonderful caring staff. Great community of parents as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 78%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 1%
Hispanic 5% 16%
Black 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2970 1st St
Idaho Falls, ID 83401
Phone: (208) 524-4730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lighthouse Montessori
Idaho Falls, ID





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT