Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Lutheran School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pocatello

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $118,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $570.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2013

Teachers are amazing. High expectations with lots of love. Don't enroll if you are not willing to have your child learn to put forth a strong effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

Grace is a top notch school, a rare jewel in the gem state. Not only do they have progressive technologies, they start Spanish in the first grade. My daughter started attending in their Pre-K3 program and now is going into fifth grade. I have heard the standard complaints people make about any school, but I look at the fact that my child assists her five year senior sister with her public school homework. The teachers are paid less than their public school counterparts, the administration of the school is always streamlining efficiency to maximize the value of each tuition dollar. I considered a move to Washington and found a similar school had a tuition rate nearly 5 times that of Grace. This is the perfect place to establish the life long foundation of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2010

I have 4 children at Grace Lutheran and am amazed at the advancement of all four of my children. This year my oldest boy is in a math class that is studying the same material as a 7th grade student as my oldest daughter that is in andanced placement math (algebra 2) as a Junior in Highschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Grace Lutheran is a proven quality school. On the state wide tests the school ranked number 2 of over Idaho 350 schools for grades 3-5 and number 1 of over 170 state junior high schools. The building is clean, modern and has a great level of technology. Grace Lutheran was named an Idaho Merit School and a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence. The hot lunch program is on site and serves high quality food that my children enjoy. The school has two modern playgrounds and the library was just doubled in size. Grace Lutheran has religious lessons that are appropriate for all denominations. The teachers are firm but the students seem happy and like to attend. Overall I believe that a firm teacher makes for a happier school because the children feel safe. The school does charge tuition but the product is absolutely worth it.


Posted September 27, 2008

I have had my 2 children there since preschool and have been very happy. 2008 ISAT results: 3rd grade & 4th grades tied for 2nd in the state out of 357 schools, was the information I have. Thought I would post this info since it is not posted because it is a private school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

We have 2 kids attending Grace, it's expensive but it's worth it. We could have more house and newer cars, but their education is more important to us than having nice stuff. Both kids are excelling academically and have great study habits, something they didn't get from me. Grace can seem a little strict, but in other ways it provides more freedom than the norm. Our kids can say the pledge of allegance in class and pray if they like, or not. Kids from all religions and backgrounds go to Grace, because it's a superior school with a healthy environment. Sending our kids to Grace has been like buying an insurance policy insuring their academic success and future. We are confident that our kids will excel in high school, college and in life, because of the foundations they've received at Grace. What's more important than that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

This is a great school academically and spiritually. But I also agree with the tuition being more than double when you go from prek to kindergarten. Being a middle class citizen with only 2 kids would be hard to fiancially be able to do it without some help. We figure it will cost us almost 1,000.00 a month for our two kids to go to preschool and kindergarten with after school care. We both have to work to keep up...We should get some sort tax break because we pay for public school and our kids go to private school..But its a really good school and god will help us out..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

GL is excellent academically. Pk programs are fabulous. I agree w/the May 26th reviewer about the timing of Sun school classes.Another problem is tuition. Pk to Kgarten more than doubles. Kgarten is the same as full day 1-6 grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

We enrolled are children at Grace Lutheran beginning with their preschool program. I feel the education is of the highest quality. The teachers are nurturing and encouraging, discipline problems are taken care of promptly and the Principal is superb. Homework starts in kindergarten. By second grade homeowork is an every day routine. Parents are welcome and encouraged to visit and/or help in the classroom any time. The library is first rate and the librarian very helpful. Staff is excellent and efficient. Teachers all have e-mail addresses, so helpful. Spanish starts in first grade. Students seem alert and hapy here. The opportunities available to students at Grace Lutheran School in Pocatello, Idaho are unmatched anywhere in Pocatello.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 78%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Hispanic 5% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1350 Baldy Avenue
Pocatello, ID 83201
Phone: (208) 237-4142

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT