Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grace Lutheran School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in Kindergarten at GLS. This school is fantastic. The teachers are helpful and concerned. The principle is involved. I had my daughter in Pre-K 4 at the Early Learning Center at Grace. I almost took her out of Grace because the Pre-K 4 teacher was not the best. She was not concerned with much other than sitting in her chair all day and taking off when her son was ill - which was about once a week. She also has favorites. She does not hold a college degree but felt that my daughter would not be able to keep up in Kindergarten, yet my daughter is doing fine in Kindergarten there at Grace while some of the other students from her class are not doing as well - and she did not tell their parents that the should not move to Kindergarten. I don't want to say the teacher's name on here, you will know her if you have her. Regardless of the experience in Pre-K 4, I am really glad we kept our daughter in Grace. We had the opportunity to put her in another private school in the area and decided not to, and that was the right decision. The Principal is excellent and so are the Kindergarten teachers. Just put your children in Pre school somewhere else.
1 person found this helpful

Grace Lutheran School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
Teachers are amazing. High expectations with lots of love. Don't enroll if you are not willing to have your child learn to put forth a strong effort.
1 person found this helpful


Grace Lutheran School 5

Posted July 22, 2012
- a parent
Grace is a top notch school, a rare jewel in the gem state. Not only do they have progressive technologies, they start Spanish in the first grade. My daughter started attending in their Pre-K3 program and now is going into fifth grade. I have heard the standard complaints people make about any school, but I look at the fact that my child assists her five year senior sister with her public school homework. The teachers are paid less than their public school counterparts, the administration of the school is always streamlining efficiency to maximize the value of each tuition dollar. I considered a move to Washington and found a similar school had a tuition rate nearly 5 times that of Grace. This is the perfect place to establish the life long foundation of learning.
1 person found this helpful

Grace Lutheran School 5

Posted September 04, 2010
- a parent
I have 4 children at Grace Lutheran and am amazed at the advancement of all four of my children. This year my oldest boy is in a math class that is studying the same material as a 7th grade student as my oldest daughter that is in andanced placement math (algebra 2) as a Junior in Highschool.
1 person found this helpful

Grace Lutheran School 5

Posted April 29, 2009
- a community member
Grace Lutheran is a proven quality school. On the state wide tests the school ranked number 2 of over Idaho 350 schools for grades 3-5 and number 1 of over 170 state junior high schools. The building is clean, modern and has a great level of technology. Grace Lutheran was named an Idaho Merit School and a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence. The hot lunch program is on site and serves high quality food that my children enjoy. The school has two modern playgrounds and the library was just doubled in size. Grace Lutheran has religious lessons that are appropriate for all denominations. The teachers are firm but the students seem happy and like to attend. Overall I believe that a firm teacher makes for a happier school because the children feel safe. The school does charge tuition but the product is absolutely worth it.
1 person found this helpful


Grace Lutheran School 1

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Grace Lutheran School 1

Posted December 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Grace Lutheran School 3

Posted December 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Grace Lutheran School 5

Posted September 27, 2008
- a parent
I have had my 2 children there since preschool and have been very happy. 2008 ISAT results: 3rd grade & 4th grades tied for 2nd in the state out of 357 schools, was the information I have. Thought I would post this info since it is not posted because it is a private school
1 person found this helpful

Grace Lutheran School 5

Posted May 05, 2008
- a parent
We have 2 kids attending Grace, it's expensive but it's worth it. We could have more house and newer cars, but their education is more important to us than having nice stuff. Both kids are excelling academically and have great study habits, something they didn't get from me. Grace can seem a little strict, but in other ways it provides more freedom than the norm. Our kids can say the pledge of allegance in class and pray if they like, or not. Kids from all religions and backgrounds go to Grace, because it's a superior school with a healthy environment. Sending our kids to Grace has been like buying an insurance policy insuring their academic success and future. We are confident that our kids will excel in high school, college and in life, because of the foundations they've received at Grace. What's more important than that?
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grace Lutheran School
1350 Baldy Avenue, Pocatello, ID  83201
(208) 237-4142
Last modified Grace Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Grace Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top