Advertisement
Advertisement

St Margaret Mary

Private | PK-8 | 453 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Algonquin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $187,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2012

I went to public school as a child. I never really gave too much thought about a Catholic school. When I saw the scores that the kids get at the school I thought there was no other choice. When I read that one comment about their child getting C's and D's at St. Margaret Mary and getting A's and B's at a public school I thought to myself that the curriculum is so much easier at a public school. The level of parent participation is wonderful at St. Margaret Mary school. It really allows the parents to see where their money is being spent and how well it is being spent. The school is all about education and God. It's a great foundation for our kids future. It's worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

My son is in the second grade at Smm. It is a great school, with great leadership and teachers. The curriculum is very demanding but pushes your child to do his or her best. I wouldn't think about sending my son to any other school. The financial sacrifice is well worth the quality religious education he is receiving. I highly recommend Smm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

Wonderful school and wonderful principal. I have 2 children attending and another one next year. I can't say enough about the education they are receiving. It's definitely a financial sacrifice but so well worth it. We have such a great school community as well because we are a smaller school. Everyone looks out for each other. I would highly recommend St. Margaret Mary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

My daughter is beginning her 4th year at St. MM and we are very impressed with the academic environment. Our experience has been that the teachers are top notch, on the ball professionals who provide a challenging environment with high expectations. They respond to inquiries and concerns immediately . I am a very picky mom who considered sending her child to a neighboring more affluent community to attend school, but it just hasn't been necessary. Another area I am constantly impressed with is how responsive the school is any situation needing attention. I believe this is due to the leadership provided by the principal. There is always an immediate response and reaction. Love it!! The overall feel of the school is one of warmth and structure. I really cannot say enough good things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Because we have some of the best volunteers that help make this school what it is today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

Let's assess the value of private v. free public education. The politics, lack of teacher & admin credentials, and holier than thou appearances (a smokescreen) are not worth the expensive tuition for a mediocre education. Take your business elsewhere, where they pay top $ for top faculty/admin!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

Absolutely thrilled with the education my daughter is receiving at St. Margaret Mary. Mrs. Snyder is the best Principal that I have ever met. She genuinely cares about each student reaching their fullest potential. I cannot recommend sending your child to this school enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

We have 2 daughters in this school and are glad to pay for the great education they are receiving. The public schools in our area have terribly low test scores, whereas St. Margaret Mary's has the highest scores around this area by far! Check them out for yourself. The teacher's care about the students and involve the parents to make sure the kids are living up to their potential. Parents are involved and it makes for a great atmosphere especially for the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

I now go to a local public school and my grades went from C's and D's to A's and B's. Teachers have to love kids if you want to receive a good education, which I am now receiving at a scholastically better public school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2006

Academic programs are well within expectations and standards. Very friendly and helpfull staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

I can't say enough about this school. I tranferred my daughter from public school from 1st grade. She has just completed 2nd grade and is flourishing....She is excited about going to school. Her 2nd grade Teacher, Mrs. Elaine Norkett is absolutely the best. The school really brings a real family feeling to each play, function, etc. I recommend this school to anyone thinking about Catholic school placement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2004

I have two children, one has already graduated from St. Margaret Mary and my other child is in Jr. High. My oldest child attends a private H.S. and was more than academically prepared, after completing her 8 years at St. Margaret Mary. The principal makes the school a welcoming environment for the children. For years I've said that our school was the best kept secret in our area. With the purchase of the new building, St. Margaret Mary is expanding the classes, by adding a kindergarten class each year. This provides more of the Algonquin area to experience the wonderful learning atmosphere with qualified teachers and be let in on the best kept secret in our area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 60%
Asian 7% N/A
Hispanic 4% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Amy D Johnson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA
  • NIPSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockford
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

119 South Hubbard Street
Algonquin, IL 60102
Phone: (847) 658-5313

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT