Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Algonquin Lakes Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, August 27, 2014

My oldest child attended this school from 2009-2013. My personal experience with the principal was unfavorable. She was belittling towards parents, very unexceptable. My child did have a bulling issue on her bus route two seperate times. The second time, the principal did get involved and took care of the issue right away. She even at one point pubically called out the PTO stating that she was disappointed at their subpar job. I was not part of the PTO, but this statement enraged me as many parents work full time and volunteer their time to the PTO! Fast forward to 2014. My last two children are now attending ALES and under the new principal Chris Columbaro. I have seen excitement and participation increase with the falculty and parents under this new principal. Mr. Columbaro is very approachable and respectful. He is also a family man with children of similar ages to those that he works with. He is in touch with the concerns that children, parents, and teachers face today. I am hopeful that these next several years will be enjoyable, fulfilling, and enriched with a positive educative environment for my last two children. Sincerely, Doctorate Educated Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

Very bad. I used to go there and was bullied very severely. The principal did nothing about it! SO glad I'm out of that awful school...ruined my childhood -_-


Posted January 27, 2013

Our daughter attends this school and loves it. The PTA involvement is high and the principal keeps the school going on the right track. There is good encouragement from the teachers for those kids showing enthusiasm and interest in academics. We also love the Circle of Friends after school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

This is our third year at Algonquin Lakes and our son is in the Special Education program. We have been thrilled with both of his teachers and the principal is amazingly active and in tune with what is going on in the classrooms. I was thrilled to learn that she actually goes in to the classroom and reads with the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Great families, great teachers and great Principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

This is my 3rd school in 3 years (my son is in special ed) and I've never seen a school run so well. Mrs Ryan is the first principal I've seen who understands the special ed program. My son's teacher is amazing and SO patient with him. Even on the worst days she'll find something positive to tell me. All my son's teachers and aides act like a team and treat me like a team member. You can tell how much they care about my son and what's best for him. It's been the best experience I've had so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Principal and teachers ROCK! Genuinely care about the families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

Academically - this school is great for Algonquin, but behind other local schools. Teachers Top notch! Principal In my opinion, the schools only down fall. She is unapproachable, talks down to parents and has a snobby attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

This is amazing school the staff is excellent! My kids grades k and 2 have had a postive exp. The teachers are wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

We are very, very happy with this school! From the principal, Mrs.Ryan, on down, the entire staff is quite supportive and eagerly try to educate all of their students whatever challenges they may have. Mrs. Ryan makes it to every event with a smile on her face for every child and the teachers and aides our children have encountered are all wonderful! Compared to comments I have heard of from other parents with children in other Algonquin area elementary schools, I feel we are blessed with being in the best elementary school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

I love,love love this school! Mrs. Ryan can be a little rough around the edges but has the kids interests at heart. All my kids went there and my daughter is in 3rd grade now. Only one time did I feel a teacher was not what I would have liked for my child but he learned that you meet people in life that you must learn to deal with weather you like them or not. He ended up getting to know his teacher and what was expected of him. My children are at all levels of learning.From gifted to needing extra help and not one of them was ever looked over. Thanks algonquin lakes Admin and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

This school has exceeded our expections. The teachers are great. The principal is visible and approachable at all events, including before and after school. We feel our son is getting a quality education. We appreciate all of the work and effort that goes into that not only from the staff, but the parent volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

ALES has some excellent teachers but the prinipal has been both overly critical and insulting to both staff and parents. The students receive an adequate education with a high level of parent involvement. The parent involvement level expectations can lead to a feeling of us versus them (two income families and stay at homers). There is an air of we can buy a better school, grades, etc. over other buildings within the same district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female69%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income51%
Non-low income78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learners29%

Reading

All Students62%
Female67%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income41%
Non-low income75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities69%
English language learners21%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female66%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Low income46%
Non-low income81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities75%
English language learners40%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students69%
Female72%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Low income50%
Non-low income78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
Students without disabilities72%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Low income67%
Non-low income91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
Students without disabilities87%
English language learners67%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female72%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Low income54%
Non-low income67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female86%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Low income63%
Non-low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 51%
Hispanic 18% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Black 6% 18%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 Compton Drive
Algonquin, IL 60102
Phone: (847) 532-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Perry Elementary School
Carpentersville, IL




Sunny Hill Elementary School
Carpentersville, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT