Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barrington High School 5

Posted October 29, 2015
- a student
I am a Junior at bhs and i think it is one of the best schools in IL. If there was a thing as an ivy league high school, Barrington would definitely be one. There are infinite club and actives here. There is definitely room for everyone. The staff here is great and if any teacher is bad, with one complaint they are outa here. the education and opportunitys for extra help makes learning a lot easier. I can go on and on about this. This is the number one school.

Barrington High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 29, 2015
- a student
The teachers here are all wonderfu! every single one of them. I want to say thank you to all of you. Education depends a lot of you. Good teachers make learning fun


Barrington High School 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
We moved to the district from another state based on location to work, transportation and most importantly, excellent rating for the schools. My kids are very happy at the high school and station middle school. They both say the schools are much better than the ones they previously attended. The schools are not perfect, but none are. The administration for both BHS and Station Middle School are very involved and don't just sit at their desk. The principals both attend the PTO meetings, along with the counselors and a school board rep. at the high school meetings.

Barrington High School 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a student
My school is a great place where all students feel accepted and encouraged to get involved in activities. For the students we aren't just classmates we are a family and we will always work together to the best for our schools. We come together and win various competitions for sports/clubs in state championships, sectional champions, and regional champions. We are Barrington!

Barrington High School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a community member
Anyone that has given this school a harshly negative review has not had experience in other schools across the country. Barrington High School has a diverse student body, a club/sport/volunteer organization for just about everyone, well-educated teachers and staff with great leadership, dedication, experience, and community involvement. Kids that walk away with an education that truly prepares them for college or their post-graduate careers. As an alumni as well as a teacher that works in the city of Chicago, I only wish that my students could see the opportunities that BHS provides that they are, unfortunately, missing out on. It is a very traditional high school experience with a lot of hometown pride. Addressing any drug issues that have been included in reviews- you are naive to think that you won't find that in any high school these days. Rich or poor, teenagers face personal issues and will experiment and hang out with people they shouldn't- it's called growing up. I feel lucky to have attended BHS and i think most people really appreciate it especially after they are thrown in the real world! I hope to send my kids here in the future.


Barrington High School 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a student
Beautiful school. Full of great people. Great educations. Great teachers. Great environment. Not more to say.

Barrington High School 4

Posted November 29, 2012
- a parent
As a Barrington HIgh School Graduate and parent of one of the very few BCHS students to not graduate I am surprised to see that none of these reviews mention the alcohol and narcotics problems that plague the school and the teen suicides. Whenever I meet new families to the area, I always warn them of these issues, and stress the importance of communication with their children, and honestly discussing these issues. My son withdrew from BCHS feeling he had more in common with his teachers (and these included some older teachers) than with his class mates. He passed his GEDs started courses at Harper College in September of what would have been his senior year in high school. He got into a technical program and did extremely well. The high school offers a number of wonderful programs, has incredible facilities, has many excellent teachers, and yet a couple of enormous problems exist and must be addressed.

Barrington High School 2

Posted July 22, 2011
- a parent
I think this has been an excellent school in the past, and I hope one day will be again. There are, based on our daughters experience, significant issues that need to be addressed, including an ongoing commitment from the school and the community to fine arts - in a school of this size that they cannot fill the auditorium for productions is very sad, and I question the administrations focus on anything other than academics, and sports A school of this size can also make for a very impersonal education experience, and I'm not sure that is ideal for every kid. I think the staff are a mix of great, enthusiastic young teachers and sad, bitter, tenured staff waiting out retirement. If your child gets the former, great! If the latter, you will be disappointed. We are moving out of district so our younger daughter does not attend this school....it is not the right fit for her, or our family.


Barrington High School 2

Posted October 24, 2009
- a student
BHS is not all it's cracked up to be. If you are an average student and fit into the 'norm,' BHS is just fine. Anyone outside of the box will have a very rough time at this school. Special Services is absolutely horrible, and are very unwilling to make any accommodations - not to mention most of the staff is incredibly rude and arrogant.

Barrington High School 5

Posted October 16, 2009
- a student
I attended Barrington High School 1st semester of my freshman year. I moved to Leyden high school and i am now a sophmore. In my own opinion Barrington High School is a really great school. I believe it is a better school then Leyden and i would love to go back anytime. I believe that any student that goes there most likely likes that school also becasue it has such great programs. The teachers there are so helpful(: Barrington High School is a really great school(: Oh yeah and the teachers there are really nice to(:

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barrington High School
616 West Main Street, Barrington, IL  60010
(847) 381-1400
Last modified Barrington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barrington High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top