Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J Sterling Morton West High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

75 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2010

The honors/AP classes are good. My daughter loves the theater dept and teacher, Ms D!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Great teachers. It is also my Alma Mater, Class of 1972.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I love J.S. Morton Sterling West High School because there is a zero tolerance policy, kids are at school to get their education and get college geared. I also love the uniform policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

ALL schools are what you and your child make of it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Great school for preparing young people for higher education. I especially like the vocational technical aspect which is extremely beneficial for kids desiring to go directly into the work force after graduation.


Posted October 25, 2010

I love Morton high because it has a lot of spirit and has made my daughter a better student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

I give it a 5 star. The school has plenty of extracurricular activities for its students to keep them motivated
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

My kids go there and as long as the student had the best teachers there and my kids were involved in many after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2010

My oldest son graduated from Morton West an this year my youngest son will graduate from Morton West.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

I have attended the PTO meetings at Morton West. Over three thousand students attend this school, but only three or four parents make the effort to support the school through participation. There are more teachers at these meetings than parents! The teachers work hard, many of the students want to learn, but where are the parents? What makes charter and private schools work is parental involvement. Why have so many parents given up on their children, then blame the school when the student goes astray? It's time the parents did more than simply complain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Morton is a terrible school. i went there freshmen year, then transfered to LTHS, It was great at LT, my senior year i transfered back to morton and it was a nightmare. worse than it was my freshmen year. they treat students like middle school kids. the uniform is there number one priority. they care more about unforms than they do the grades and whats important. the deans are rude, the secuirty is rude. there are some teachers that a nice. asome that dont care. and some that are angry at the world. morton needs a tune up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2010

In the begining when my son was a freshman he was so excitement to be into all the sports. After the second year his excitment went down the drain. The guidance at this school is a joke!!! I am ashamed to tell people what school my son attends because there is nothing good to say about it!!! If I could afford to send him to a private school I would... I pay too much for taxes on my home that leaves no extra for a private school. I will not give up on my child because his school district has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The school is a joke . They focus way more on enforcing dress code and rules rather than actual education . Test scores are ridiculous . And the school is now drilling into the ground with the new budget cuts beginning next year . Would much rather attend a school that actually makes me want to learn and get my education rather then one full of teachers that put shame on you for grades and test scores (does not even apply to all students) . Ummm try a little bit more involvement and encouragement !
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

Morton West needs to concentrate more on studies and less on so-called discipline. With reading, science and math scores so low, Morton teachers and administrators should be ashamed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

I have three children attending. The teachers are wonderful and the curriculum is improving. My children enjoy going to school. That's what is important. I do wish there was more parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

I graduated from this school years before my children started attending, and I am so happy that the curriculum has improved. The teachers are very involved with the students, and have been very helpful to us parents in keeping us informed of our kids' progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

this is a good school i love it you learn a lot never wanted to leave. great curriculum good teachers i love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

This school needs some tidying-up seriously. If the teachers were much more encouraging to each student they would not have any problems with test scores or grades. The teachers are suppoed to set the example so do it!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2008

I loved Morton! not only was I a great athlete there and a student but I went off to play college sports and recieved amazing amounts of educational scholarships all thanks to my hard work and the help and passion of the teachers there. i loved the school so much I'm comming back to be a part of the staff!! Go Mustangs!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2008

As a former student, I believe that high school is what you make of it. If you go to school and get your work done, you will get a quality education. I graduated with a 4.2 GPA and I now attend DePaul University. I did very well for myself and I have the awesome teachers at Morton to thank. Students just need to shape up and stop acting like little babies. Morton is NOT a bad school! They wouldnt have to enforce rules if the students just followed the dress code. Teachers REALLY care here! Morton is very underrated!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female28%
Male29%
Black8%
Asian50%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Low income26%
Non-low income39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities32%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students33%
Female33%
Male32%
Black12%
Asian40%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Low income29%
Non-low income46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities36%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students26%
Female23%
Male29%
Black6%
Asian50%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Low income22%
Non-low income42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities29%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

68.4%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 77% 24%
White 15% 51%
Black 6% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Joe Gunty

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Home Avenue
Berwyn, IL 60402
Phone: (708) 780-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT