Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Berwyn, IL
Students enrolled: 356
 

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2011
- a community member
Well I wonder what having the best school in Berwyn will do for this school. The school has an 88% of students achieving the states academic goals. With that kind of achievement it can compete with almost any school in the state. It doesn't seem like the school is declining in anyway even with a changing demographic. I think Berwyn overall need more extracurricular activities for the public school system. What I would like to see is Emerson become a magnet school, and if someone who was not in the district be able to attend the school. We will see. I do applaud the school and the staff for maintaining high marks!

Emerson Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2011
- a parent
Teachers are very dedicated to their students. Students actually enjoy going to school there. They have been performing quite well academically and the school has some groups that are looking to continue to improve the school.


Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Emerson Elementary School 1

Posted February 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Emerson Elementary School 3

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
I love my son's second grade teacher... But the rest of the school, I am not impressed with, particularally with the office and school district office. They are not very helpful.


Emerson Elementary School 2

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
I've progressively seen how the ISAT scores at Emerson have declined over the years. I am also concerned that Emerson is having 26-28 students in a classroom compared to 18-19 in other neighboring communities. This topped off with an overwhelming increase in the hispanic population (75%) make me concerned of the dual language environment which tends to cause more work for teachers and hence brings less attention to native english speaking students.

Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Emerson Elementary School 2

Posted June 20, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Emerson Elementary School 1

Posted April 13, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emerson Elementary School
3105 Clinton Avenue, Berwyn, IL  60402
(708) 795-2322
Last modified Emerson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Emerson Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top