Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
Class size is right around 22 kids - not bad. Several classrooms are co-taught. Principal and assistant principal are extremely involved and caring. Teachers are easy to reach via email. There is a focus on reading and on use of technology. Kids are learning to blog and use education-based apps when doing homework. The PTA organizes afterschool activities (for a fee) including chess, yoga, theatre and art that take place throughout the school year. The school will improve as more parents place an emphasis on learning. It begins at home.

Emerson Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at Emerson are energetic, easy to reach, and approachable. They monitor your student's progress. If it is too easy, teachers place children in higher levels to continue their advancement; no child is bored, waiting for the rest of the class to catch up if that is the situation.


Emerson Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
There is zero tolerance for bullying and differences and achievements are celebrated by Emerson. All teachers and administration are positive and caring.

Emerson Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
Emerson uses PBIS (Positive Behavioral Intervention & Supports) as part of their teaching philosophy. Kids learn from example. The negative influences from home are met with only positive experiences at school.

Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2011
- a community member
Well I wonder what having the best school in Berwyn will do for this school. The school has an 88% of students achieving the states academic goals. With that kind of achievement it can compete with almost any school in the state. It doesn't seem like the school is declining in anyway even with a changing demographic. I think Berwyn overall need more extracurricular activities for the public school system. What I would like to see is Emerson become a magnet school, and if someone who was not in the district be able to attend the school. We will see. I do applaud the school and the staff for maintaining high marks!


Emerson Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2011
- a parent
Teachers are very dedicated to their students. Students actually enjoy going to school there. They have been performing quite well academically and the school has some groups that are looking to continue to improve the school.

Emerson Elementary School 3

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
I love my son's second grade teacher... But the rest of the school, I am not impressed with, particularally with the office and school district office. They are not very helpful.

Emerson Elementary School 2

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
I've progressively seen how the ISAT scores at Emerson have declined over the years. I am also concerned that Emerson is having 26-28 students in a classroom compared to 18-19 in other neighboring communities. This topped off with an overwhelming increase in the hispanic population (75%) make me concerned of the dual language environment which tends to cause more work for teachers and hence brings less attention to native english speaking students.


Emerson Elementary School 1

Posted April 13, 2006
- a parent
This school is great because of the good parent and staff particpation. the worst thing is that we have lost a great amount of extracurricular activities but we still tend to make the best of it all.

Emerson Elementary School 4

Posted April 10, 2006
- a parent
Academics are good. Very high grading scale! For 3rd grade there are not alot of extra activities for them to be involved in. Many activities throughout the year that show parental involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emerson Elementary School
3105 Clinton Avenue, Berwyn, IL  60402
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (708) 795-2322
Last modified Emerson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top