Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Albert the Great School

Private | PK-8 | 171 students

A tradition of academic excellence

 
 

Living in Burbank

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $119,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

This school year opened with a Mariachi band welcoming the students and families. Last year, we had the Shannon Rovers. The Principal, in a word, is amazing; he cares deeply about the children. This is truly an amazing place. I highly recommend St. Albert the Great for wonderful-dedicated teachers, the safe learning environment, and leadership of our Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2014

St. Albert the Great is a wonderful school and my children can't wait for the new year to begin. The school has a great faculty - each take the time to work with students who need more help. The new Principal has done much to revitalize our school, he knows all the kids by name, and is always available...I hope he stays with us a long time. Catholic school choice is an investment...this place is worth every penny and then some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2014

This school is great. They provide a solid education and instill good traditional, catholic values in the children. While this school operates without any frills it does not lack at all in academics. I actually believe that it is the lack of frills that helps the children stay focused in school and to perform so well. I really appreciate the small class sizes and family atmosphere St. Albert's provides my kids. The diversity of the student body is also wonderful and everyone who comes into the school feels immediately welcome. The new principal has brought with him lots of hope for the future growth of our little school and my family is excited to be a part of it. I highly recommend St. Albert to anyone looking for a nurturing school environment with exceptional academics- you will not regret enrolling your kids here, I promise! Stop in and see for yourself you will immediately feel a sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

Just enrolled my two children last week. We are transferring from another Catholic school - my kids had were having a bad experience. Already, I can tell we made the right choice. Both of my children had a "shadow day" where they were able to sit in classes, meet the students/teachers/Principal. My son and daughter walked out with new friends and are excited. The Principal is easy to talk to, answers all questions, and has been supportive in our transition. I have heard many positive things about this school, especially their academics - but also about all the new changes the first year Principal has made. Our family can't wait for the new year to begin. If you are looking for a great school, this is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

This school is great. The faculty and staff are incredibly professional . The teachers care deeply about the students and dedicate all their time to them. Classes are small and this benefits the kids greatly. Enroll your kids at St. Albert- you won't regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2014

Great school and great teachers. I know my child is getting a great education. No bullying and well mannered kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

We have been part of St. Albert the Great for many years and love the teachers. The new Principal is amazing! I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a solid education for their children on the south-side. And they lowered tuition, who would have thought!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

Much needed new leadership has infused life and a strategic vision for growth at our school. St. Albert is and has always been exceptional with academics but the energy of the new Principal along with all the positive change he has created - in a short time - is welcomed and very exciting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

Both of my sons attend preschool at St Albert the Great School. The preschool program is Great! My 4 year old son was writing his name and was able to identify all the letters of the alphabet by the end of the school year. Not only has he grown educationally but spiritually also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

Great school, fun times ,great teachers what else to say -matt K
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 51%
Hispanic 31% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Irish Gaelic/Polish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Irish Gaelic/Polish
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Terrence K. O'Rourke
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Irish Gaelic/Polish
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Ride Share
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • SADD
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$0 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits
O'Laughlin & O'Rourke Memorial Scholarship

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Marist High School/Brother Rice
Queen of Peace/Mother McAuley
St. Laurence/St. Rita
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5535 State Rd
Burbank, IL 60459
Website: Click here
Phone: (708) 424-7757

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT