Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Champaign, IL
Students enrolled: 144
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Countryside School 4

Posted June 04, 2015
- a student
Countryside is an amazing school with a few flaws. This school has really helped me grow as far as math and science, but coming from a private elementary school that was much more rigorous in reading and writing, I felt that the LWW program was not challenging at all. I learned a lot about philosophy from that program, but not enough creative writing, which is my main interest. Also, this year a new math teacher was hired and he has been amazing. I had a lot of trouble with the previous math teacher who was undoubtably smart, was very unclear and went off on long tangets that made it difficult to learn. But this year, the new math teacher has been absolutely wonderful. He is clear, kind but firm, and makes the topic easy to understand. I have some great friends made at Countryside and I have never been bullied there. Overall, Countryside is a great school with a welcoming environment for students of all kinds.

Countryside School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
We've had kids at this school for three years and I am very pleased with the education they are getting. The teachers and staff are so attentive and caring. They create an environment that kids love and it makes the kids love learning. Yes, the kids work above grade level and learn interesting things, but it's the love of and interest in their own education that leaves a mark on their lives.


Countryside School 5

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
Countryside ranks as the best K-8 school in the community. The teachers are smart, nurturing and bring out the best in the students. We've had two children with very different strengths attend this school since kindergarten, and both have soared academically and socially at C-side and now in high school. My kids loved going to school here because of the hands-on learning. The head of the school stays on top of school trends and enables teachers to bring innovation and creativity to their classes. Also, it's the only non-sectarian, not-for-profit, academically challenging school in town. A governing board made up largely of parents has governed the school since its inception 20 years ago. Even more amazing, each and every year, the head of school solicits written comments from the parents regarding the school's strengths and weaknesses and actually follows up on what is written!

Countryside School 5

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
A great school. Our 2 boys have each spent 7 years at Countryside. Unlike any other public or private school . A diverse population of kids who are given the freedom and resources to excel. Math counts went to state competition , sports are fun, emphasis on academics , but with a compassion that is rarely seen in other venues. Usual for a high percentage of countryside students to be admitted to University Laboratory High School, one of the nations premier high schools.

Countryside School 5

Posted February 17, 2009
- a community member
I looked at this school and it was amazing. The odyssey of the mind and 'outdoor break' are great for the kids. This school is wonderful and different.


Countryside School 5

Posted November 26, 2008
- a parent
Countryside was a wonderful experience for our family. The administration and staff are experienced, knowledgeable, approachable, and caring, and the academics are very strong. The return was well worth the cost of tuition.

Countryside School 5

Posted January 24, 2008
- a parent
Countryside is a very positive alternative to the public and private schools in Champaign-Urbana and the surrounding area. As far as I know, it is the only significant non-profit and non-sectarian school in C-U, funded solely by tuition and contributions from families and friends.

Countryside School
no rating

Posted January 15, 2008
- a parent
Our two children have thrived at Countryside.A caring and warm environment with challenging academics which are tailored to meet the individual needs of the student. The kids there are a diverse lot and the parents are very involved.All schools should be as well run as this school .


Countryside School 1

Posted January 08, 2008
- a parent
Countryside fails to deliver on any of it's promises. The staff and administrators selectively support and nurture favored students and allow others to fend for themselves. It is not uncommon for students to have vastly different experiences. While the classic education is on par for the community the expectations for respect and character building are seldom met. Indeed bullying is common, in our experience and goes unchallenged. We would never recommend this school to anyone.

Countryside School 5

Posted December 31, 2007
- a parent
Countryside delivers the highest quality education in Champaign County, is known for its caring and family friendly atmosphere, and is in *outstanding* financial health. We have three children there, and there is no doubt that this school will be delivering excellent education in a nurturing atmosphere for generations to come.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Countryside School
4301 West Kirby Avenue, Champaign, IL  61822
(207) 355-1253
Last modified Countryside School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Countryside School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top