Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westinghouse High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers are less effective than others, but the problem is when students consider the teacher a "EASY A" and complaints are brought to the principal and the only thing that is done about it to give the teacher a promotion or when the students feel that the teachers don't care. Based on conversations with prior students and parents it's very hard for some students to attend institutions of higher learning; they're struggling because they were not properly prepared in high school and the material taught is irrelevant in college. There should be mandated training and workshops for all teachers. In addition, this school should partner with City Colleges or other institutions of higher learning and incorporate some of these teaching into the classrooms to help make students more prepared. Again, Students are not prepared.

Westinghouse High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
I can only speak for my child and as times the work load gets heavy, but there are other times when it's not. My only hope is that the homework is relevant to the success of the student in higher ed.


Westinghouse High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
This school promotes students who do well, but the students who do not do as well are left behind. There is no support for the students who are lacking. They praise and promote the one's already doing good, in order to pat themselves on the back. This school intent is to be able to say our students are excepted in these colleges, but they don't tell you the stats. It's all about the school's ability to praise itself! They promote putting students in 4 year colleges without the finances to stay there. Many students go away for their first semester of college only to come back in debt and not able to return for lack of funding.

Westinghouse High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
In speaking with several students the lack respect for the Administration is apparent, some students have brothers and sister older than the principal. His inexperience and age may cause him respect amongst the students. The development of respect has to be earned and may be a long time coming. The school does not develop respect amongst its student well at all.

Westinghouse High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
I think this is something that should already be in the student upon arrival, but the school doesn't assist in the development of the this.


Westinghouse High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
How can they develop something in which they know nothing about? The school Administration is still learning!

Westinghouse High School 2

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent of a Senior. The school is highly unorganized, everything from the top Administrator to the bottom. The principal is new and learning on the job, the two AP's are new as well and learning on the job. The front office staff can be unfriendly and unprofessional at times which makes it hard for parent to interact with them. Parent have no voice and not included in the decision making process. This school has no dedication to it's sports programs and finding coaches is always a problem. All students are not represented equally and fairly; pertaining to the activities that take place within the school. The LSC is a rubberstamp for the principal and don't do what's in the best interest of the students; everything is personal! The last school year the school has not been as clean as it should have been with the cuts in staff; at one time the school didn't even have garbage bags. The bright spot is the new building which has amenities that other schools don't offer. I can truly say I am so glad this is my final year!

Westinghouse High School 5

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
My son is a freshman at Westinghouse. He has made great friends at this schools, through freshman connection (free no charge, unlike many other schools) and through different sports and clubs. The teachers are smart and hold high standards for their students. They are also very attentive to their students needs. The teachers are easy to communicate with as I've had open communication with all his teachers through email and phone calls. The school has an evening early in the school year when parent go through their kids schedule. I was surprise how well the teachers already knew my son. This school has a small school environment. This was not our first choice selective enrollment school as we live in the far far northwest side of Chicago but we decided to give it a chance and I'm really glad we did. My son either takes the Metra back home or the blue line. When he stays after school for practice or a club I'll pick him up. I've had to run late a few time as late as 7:30pm and noticed that there were still many students in the building, meeting with coaches, teachers or working on projects.


Westinghouse High School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a sophomore at GWCP and we are extremely happy with the school. The teachers and administrators really give their all to help each child achieve academic success. Teachers are available after school and my child feels welcome to see them anytime she wants extra help. They also have a really neat medical program that is often invited to Northwestern Memorial for interesting field trips. While it is not in the greatest neighborhood my daughter feels comfortable walking to the Chicago bus with a friend and we have never had any problems. My daughter is white, which does make her a minority at this school. She has a very large diverse group of friends and participates in sports and extra-curricular activities. We have found the student body to be motivated academically, kind, friendly, helpfull and respectfull.

Westinghouse High School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
My child is a sophomore at GWCP. This school was not her first choice when she was applying for Selective Enrollment schools. It is far from our house and in a not-so-great neighborhood. BUT it has turned out to be a fantastic opportunity for her. The teachers have really taken the time to get to know her, to push her and move her into higher level classes when appropriate. She has excelled academically at GWCP. While that is great, the school is still new and working on developing strong parent involvement and extra curricular activities. These things take time and they are on the right track. I highly recommend Westinghouse College Prep.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westinghouse High School
3223 West Franklin Blvd, Chicago, IL  60624
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (773) 534-6400
Last modified Westinghouse High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top