Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Healy Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
Like I said previously my niece did well there but is no where near where I was when I graduated from there.

Healy Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
Look at my review its just way too much, more homework does not make a child smarter better teaching methods better teachers make smarter children. Not teach to test.


Healy Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
Based on what I have said before I know it's not only the schools responsibility it's also the parents but when the staff has just as much of an attitude as the some of the kids who wouldn't be rude and disrespectful back.

Healy Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
No, again based on what I've seen no. My niece had a bully for years they never did anything about it except tell the bully to stop bulling her. I see no programs for them to speak to the children to see if they may be having problems at home that's why they act out in school. Help these kids don't punish them that just makes things worse.

Healy Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
Based on how the kids act after school. The way they talk, swear and act it's not something that seems to be a major concern for this school.


Healy Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
WOW!!! This is an amazing neighborhood school! My daughter has attended this schools for over two years now and I cannot rave enough about it. The faculty here provide quality education in wonderful classroom settings. My daughter went from being below grade level average to exceeding it in one years time. If your child is fortunate enough to live in the area assigned for this school, thank your stars!

Healy Elementary School 1

Posted February 22, 2015
- a community member
This school is mean! They give too much homework to 6 through 8 grade students and never have time to enjoy themselves. They have to wear a uniform and 1. are not comfortable in, 2. ugly. These kids would like to have more freedom at home im sure and they always stay home and do homework.. what is the point of a weekend when they are still doing homework the whole time. The school toilets are always flooding and they always give an attitude. The kids need NO UNIFORMS, LESS HOMEWORK,AND RESPECT! Because if you want respect then you better give them respect too! Thank you! Horrible school!

Healy Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a community member
I think Healy is a great school because they have teached me a lot of things and they also have fun events like student of the month, they also have performances like the lion dance and more.


Healy Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2013
- a community member
a super duper school!nothing said!great state of the art building!i just loved healy and this kids were something special too!

Healy Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2012
- a community member
I truly believe this school is amazing and did a lot into preparing me for high school. I've just graduated this year and I'm currently attending Walter Payton College Prep one of the city's top performing high schools along with eight other students that graduated alongside me. I've attended Healy since kindergarten. The teachers and staff are very supportive and devoted in bringing the best out of each student. I graduated out of the gifted program but I've not been in the program since first grade. I was given the chance to join the gifted program in 6th grade and I am very glad I had. Though it was challenging at first, my standardized test scores saw an improvement. The gifted program at Healy is wonderful; coming out from the eighth grade gifted class from room 214 many of the material taught by the current teacher is almost no different from the high school level I am being thought now, therefore I was not surprised or overloaded with work I was not familiar with or did not know how to handle when I entered my high school classes. If your child is able to enter the gifted program at Healy, I highly recommend it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Healy Elementary School
3010 South Parnell Avenue, Chicago, IL  60616
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (773) 534-9190
Last modified Healy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top