Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Robert Bellarmine School

Private | PK-8 | 302 students

We are best known for first-rate academics & values.

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $190,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2010

Great teachers, great families, excellent education and values supported by a wonderful parish faith community.


Posted April 28, 2010

I have two children at SRB. The schools academics & catholic values are wonderful! Great school Great people...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I have 2 children attending SRB. The teachers are fantastic. There is a real sense of community. There is not a high turnover rate of teachers. Our principal is constantly working on adding new programs to make our school better for our children and future students. My family and I have had a wonderful experience. I was referred to SRB by a friend and am pleased with our decision. I do not worry about my children's future, I know they will be sucessful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

SRB has been in our family for almost 50 years. Four children; four weddings and now four grandchildren have gone through this school/church. It is family and family sticks together. People have come & gone; and so have programs and opportunities but at any time the future of our children are what all those changes were about. You couldn't ask for a better environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Very close-knit school, promoting a real sense of community responsibility -- a great trait to instill in future adults!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Because it gives kids a place where they can learn and feel safe and good about themselves. The class sizes aren't too big or too small and it is also very diverse in nationality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

St. Roberts is a great school with fabulous teachers and programs!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Everything. My husband and his siblings attended SRB when they were children and loved it. They grew up to be great people! It is truly a place where I know my child will learn not only the usual things like science, math, reading, ect, but she will also learn how to be a good person. The teachers and principal (Mrs. Mijal.) are absolutely amazing! Always going above and beyond. The parents are also wonderful! It's such a close-knit school. Parents look out for each others' children. I know my daughter is safe, even when I'm not around. It's definitely a school I'm happy to sacrifice so many things for in order to send my daughter to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Great teacher, children receive a great education and all is in a family-oriented atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Saint Robert Bellarmine is an excellent Catholic school because it offers a nurturing environment that enables children a chance to shine and blossom. We had several options at our fingertips, however, we chose Saint Robert Bellarmine for a number of reasons. As a new family this past year, we were immediately drawn in by the sincere sense of kindness and passion, direction and focus, as well as driven leadership narrowly focused on the success of each child as they develop spiritually, physically, and emotionally. The students at SRB are part of the future generation that will help to heal a wounded world. So, it's no wonder then that the school is planting seeds of faith, leadership and integrity in their hearts and minds -- and has done so for many years. SRB is known to develop students who are good stewards and contribute to society in a positive manner. In addition, families, faculty, and the parish help to create a place where you want to come and pray with your neighbors and friends, and be a part of something larger than you could have imagined. It's a loving environment that makes SRB a great place to call home. Nestled in Jefferson Park, on Chicago's northwest side, this is one of the top Catholic schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Teachers really care about these students and the students care about each other. they learn respect and compassion here. They also learn the basic skills that will help them throughout high school, college and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Dedicated and Caring Teachers, academically challenging, lots of afterschool sports and activities, commitment to developing the whole person - including their faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Great teachers and very one is always smiling
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

My kids love their school. The teachers are amazing, results of report cards are fantastic. The Principal is top knotch, amazing leader, moving the school in the right direction, very modern way of leading, up to date. The best private catholic school in the NW side of Chicago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It is a great school with great teachers who are so dedicated to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Well I have to children and my first child went to IHM in Chicago but I transfered him when he was in 4th grade and since he attend SRB his grades did much better and he wanted to do more actives at SRB and he became more socialable
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

It has excellent staff, concerning parents and most it educates are potential leaders of the future...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My children received a good education and are in very good colleges now because of the education they received in grammar school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

St. Robert's is a wonderful community of caring parents & teachers. The school is very responsive to family & children's needs both in its academic curriculum and its after-school programs. A lot of terrific families make up this kind, caring school and community. That's right, in the city. You loved Chicago before you had kids and St. Robert's is a BIG reason why you choose to raise your family here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

St. Robert Bellarmine is a wonderful learning community.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 60%
Hispanic 20% 16%
Asian 7% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% N/A
Black 0% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Polish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Carrie Mijal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (773) 725-7611

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Loyola University
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • St. Robert Bellarmine offers an excellent education plus a values-based community where parents, faculty and students work together so that children can flourish.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Fenwick, Loyola Academy, St. Ignatius, St. Patrick, Trinity etc.
99.8% are admitted to their first choice high school.
Top-tier public high schools, such as Lane Tech and Whitney Young.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6036 W Eastwood Ave
Chicago, IL 60630
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 725-5133

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Pascal School
Chicago, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT