Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Philip Neri Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 110 students

Our school is known for our academic excellence.

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $57,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2012

St. Philip Neri School is excellent. Our school offers family /community. The new Principal, teachers, and support staff genuinely care about our children. As an educator myself and new family to the school, I made the best choice for my children. They are where God wants them to be. The school offers a safe, clean and enriched learning environment. Many parents are involved in supporting our children's school. The children genuinely bond in and outside of school. The school and Athletic Director offer numerous activities to promote happy and healthy children. Our children are inspired to be critical thinkers. As the instructional leader, the new Principal, Ms. Sanders conducts classroom visits and personally works with children one-on-one. St. Philip Neri demonstrates daily that it is a school of excellence and order that focuses on each individual child. Our Volleyball Team is undefeated! Go Lady Falcons! I love our school, church, playground and the dedicated administration, teachers and staff. Father Tom provides spiritual guidance, excellent teaching, and prayer. Thank you St. Philip Neri for producing confidence, excellence, and leadership in our children..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2012

St. Philip Neri is the best thing that has happened to me and my family! My daughter struggled with math and reading when she entered 1st grade. Her teacher was so dedicated that she offered to tutor my daughter free of charge 2-3 per week for two quarters straight! By the end of the 3rd quarter she had significantly improved in math and reading. The Title I program is outstanding as well! The school is really willing to work with each child on a one on one basis to get them to where they need to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

St. Philip has always been a rewarding school. I know that I am paying tuition but I am not buying grades. Grades are earned. The learning bar is set high. Teachers use many different ideas to reach all students. The parents need to be more involved. They must understand that they have a voice and need to learn to share thier ideas. SOME parents expect that the administration and teachers must do exactly what they want. Parents should try working with the staff and stop complaining. If teaching is such an easy job how come parents are not homeschooling their children. Opening day of school is coming...How many of you will be their to see your children off. How many of you will show up to school meetings? If you do not give of yourself to your children's education then you can't lay the blame at others feet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

I feel that St.Philip Neri could be a great school. Yes,the classes are smaller which allows more one on one time with the teachers ,but the leadership is horrible. The parents are more dedicated than the principal and that's ridiculous. St.Philip needs a new principal and now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

St. Philip Neri is a great school. The curruculum is excellent. The class are smaller which allows for more one on one instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

I feel that St.Philip is a good all-around school. The leadership is dedicated to providing an excellent curriculum and qualified teachers.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted November 4, 2006

I do not recommend anyone to send their child, to this school. The teachers are really good with the students; however, the leadership is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

Don't waste your hard earned money at St. Phillip Neri! The principal is more concerned with dollars than sense. My son has been jumped on and I had to bring the police up to the school because the principal did not want to deal with it. The children were not reprimanded for this incident until the police were involved. My children have been there for two years, the learning environment is distracting and the standards that the school offers are extremely lacking. I believe that my children deserve a better challenge so they will not be returning in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

I as a parent I'm very unhappy with St Philip Neri. My daughter's grade have diminished since entering the 5th grade. There is a great turnaround in teachers every year. The principle is more concerned with money than the education of her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

The quality of education has diminished. There is a high rate of turnover with the teachers, many of whom are not certified, and the principal is not very responsive to the concerns of the parents. The curriculum is lacking components that would ensure the school's students are competitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 24%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Linda Sanders
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Gardening
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Whitney Young
St. Ignatius College Prep
Mother McAuley Liberal Arts High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2110 East 72nd Street
Chicago, IL 60649
Phone: (773) 288-1138

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT