Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Marist High School

Private | 9-12 | 449 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2008

I am very sorry I sent my child to Marist. The school has too much emphasis on sports and not enough on academics. Furthermore, the teachers at the honors level are not carefully monitored and as a result, they get away with sub-par teaching. Terribly disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Marist is a place where effort is rewarded. I am far from a genius, but I worked hard at Marist and, as a result, achieved great success there. The academics/faculty are outstanding. Academic support is widely available, putting the path to successes into the students hands. Multiple athletic, social, and academic extra-curricular programs exist, offering something for all. Participation is the key; by taking advantage of these programs, an unconfident/awkward freshman quickly transforms into a mature/focused upperclassman. At Marquette University, I noticed that I was better prepared than many of my peers. Additionally, I noticed that I was much prepared than my peers from other Chicagoland schools. Since graduating, and working for an international accounting firm, I have reflected on my academic experiences. I give Marist the primary credit for my professional and personal development. I look back on my days at Marist with great fondness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

My child is a freshman. The environment is academically challenging. The teachers are committed. There is a learning specialist to help meet the needs of the students with learning disabilities. Edline allows parents to track student grades (all teachers should be required to use it regularly.) Unfortunately the student body is not very diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

Excellent school with a focus on academics as well as respect for your elders and fellow students. I was surprised when the dean of discipline contacted my parents when I was disrepectful towards my teacher - thus allowing my parents to add to the detention already administered at school. Frankly I was a lazy adolescent, however the Marist Brothers were quick to note this and were able to extract more from me. I have no doubt that my successes later in life have a great deal to do with the tutelage I received while attending Marist.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 19, 2004

Marist's band is horrible. To the post below, the band can't even march. They look good and sound good becuase they can't do anything than stand and play. Also if you call a band good who performs at the football championships think again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

A great school with wonderful and caring instructors-my son has made terrific friends here also!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

As a parent of two graduates, 2000 and 2004, and one daugther, the first coed class of 2006, we have been very pleased with the educational environment/curriculum at Marist H.S. It is a wonderful learning community which seeks to bring out the best in their students. As their motto states, they 'educate young men and women in mind, body and spirit.' It is a Catholic high school but has students of other faiths who come to Marist for a strong college prep program particularly in math and science. Marist does a fine job in preparing students for a successful rigorous college experience. It has an excellent band program which has been recognized by their participation in the Rose Bowl, Orange Bowl, and Gator Bowl in recent years. Their Jazz Band has also received high ratings. They have added equal sports activities for the girls with great success. Two thumbs up for Marist!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2004

Wonderful school! The Marist Brothers are TRUE educators. I wish we could have a Brother for the principal, as I feel he would give the necessary religious presence we currently lack.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I love Marist! There extracurricular activies are so much fun and there is so much involvement. This year I joined many clubs and I think they are the best! I feel like I am part of Marist and have changed me this year. I feel very comfortable especially around all my friends, teachers, and other students. I couldn't think of anything better to be than home, which is Marist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The school went coed in 2002 A really fine school that will prepare your child for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 51%
Black 9% 18%
Hispanic 7% 24%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Larry Tucker
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4200 West 115th Street
Chicago, IL 60655
Phone: (773) 881-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT