Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Resurrection High School

Private | 9-12 | 642 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $255,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2014

My daughter attends Resurrection. Her mother did also. Its a great school with down to earth staff who are always approachable and the gal who works in the front office is the best. Great people make a great school. Great school makes great students. Thanks everyone there, Keep up the fine work Bob Cavaiani Chicago, Il
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

I went to Resurrection and actually really loved it, other schools say they have events with boys but in reality Resurrection really is truly the one school that is truthful about everything. The only way a parent would not like this school is because there daughter did not participate in any of the events. The faculty actually cares about there students and they prepared me well for college. By far, number 1 out of the other all girls pivate schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2011

Ressurection College Prep has been a wonderful experience for our family, the opportunity to particpate in practicum is a program not offered may of the other private schools in the north suburbs or city. The curriculum is challenging if you have the drive to excel and the sports program has been a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

Dont waste your money. Teachers really do not care about the students. It is run like a business and as long as your tuition is paid you will not hear anything from them good or bad. I called my daughters counsler on numerous occasions and never got a return call. I am so glad my other daughter did not want a part of the "resurrection experience".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

Parents love to blame the school when their children don't live up to their expectations. Home is where they spend the most time, should see values acted out and where open communication should be prevalent. The schools can't teach your kids, monitor their activities, and set their valules. 75% of all that should be the parents' responsibility. Look to yourselves before you blame the school. I am a parent of three Res graduates and a grandparent of one. It is a very good school.


Posted November 10, 2010

lost it's catholic idenity. Don't waste money find a real catholic school. the teachers treat it like a job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2009

I graduated from Res in 2006. I'm just about to graduate from a private, liberal arts university. I must say that the education I received at Res allowed me to have great success in college. I felt academically prepared and I owe that to the amazing faculty at Res. The teachers truly care about you as a student and want you to succeed. The friends I made while at Res helped me have an unforgettable high school experience and will always be near and dear to my heart.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2009

My daughter went to this school for a semester before we took her out. We expected this school to have great morals since it is private. It is the exact opposite. The students in this school are terrible and I've never even thought that they would do the things that they do there. I'm not the only one who feels this way, lots of people transfer their kids out of here because of how terrible the experiences are with the girls here. My daughter is now at a public high school and loves it! She is very thankful that she was able to transfer out of Resurrection and in a nicer environment with great friends at her public high school. Resurrection is NOT the same as it used to be. Please do not make the same mistake we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

The education is typical of any high school in within a 20 mile radius. The electives are extremely limited. And yet the tuition is so HIGH!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

There have been significant changes at Resurrection this year and finally there is some real leadership in the role of principal and president. My daughters are excited about school each day and the teachers seem for the first time in a long time to really enjoy teaching and enjoying their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2008

I love going to Resurrection! It was the best decision of my life to test here. The teachers, faculty, staff, and students are all excellent. I currently am a junior and honors student at Res, and I truly believe that I would not have been this happy at any other school in the city. The day I graduate and leave Resurrection will be the saddest as well as the happiest day of my life. I cannot wait!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2008

Without a doubt, attending Res has been one of the best experiences of my life. And there is not a single day that I regret having chosen this school. There is a very strong sense of community and family. Teachers are always willing to help and encourage students to do well. Many important resources are available such as library tutoring, tech lab, math lab, English center, etc. There's a very strong sense of pride and school spirit. The school encourages responsibility and time management even during the summertime (reading and math programs). And one thing that really makes this school is the incredible practicum program offered to upperclassman. It's a real eye opener and allows for the girls to seriously start thinking and planning for their future in education and careers. You can't say this about any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2008

Everyone can expect Resurrection as not an easy school for many reasons. However, if your daughter does succeed here, she will be perfectly ready to handle college life. Your daughter will need to be extremely proactive, assertive, and persistent while attending Res. Teachers will only notice the students to try to put the their best forward, who ask questions, and who consistently show progress. The teachers are outstanding and they are weeded out if they do not do their job. Most importantly, the sense of community is amazing. I always wish that I could go back to high school because of the welcoming atmosphere. Do not allow your child to attend Res and expect a miracle 'turn around' because of the tuition and its status as a 'good school'. Your daughter will only 'get lost' if she does not work hard, stay focused, and get involved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2008

My daughter made some wonderful friends, but did not like the school otherwise. Her guidance counselor was not very helpful- my daughter felt 'lost in the shuffle'. The teachers either aren't trained properly on the school connect website to update grades, or are very lazy in getting them posted. My daughter came from a wonderful Catholic grade school and although I am used to paying tuition, the tuition at Res was outrageous for the quality of education my daughter received in return. I've heard similar complaints from other parents...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

My daughter graduated in 2006 and is successfully attending a rigorous 4 year liberal arts college. I feel she is very well prepared for the challenges of college academics. Her first week of classes she was given a 10 page paper to write...some of the kids were complaining but it was like nothing to her. She will forever be grateful to many of her wonderful teachers at Res including Ms. Merrick, Ms. Stubei, Mr. Mazzula and many others. Resurrection seems to always get a bad rep in our community but I would urge parents to consider it for their daughters. They walked the students and parents through the college admissions process very well I believe. They also offer many scholarship opportunities. Probably my only concern would be for girls who have the hearts set on playing one of the popular sports, it's hard to make a team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

I graduated from Resurrection and it's a great school. The teachers care and are willing to work with you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 4, 2006

Strong curriculum and faculty, adding and upgrading technology continually, broad range of programs to foster students' interests, adding programs to help students excel academically and prepare for college. Excellent sports and fine arts programs.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 13, 2005

This school is great. I traveled over an hour both ways just to attend. Keep it up!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 1, 2005

This school is really terrible. The teachers don't really care about anything and if you want anything done, nobody helps you when you need it. They postpone it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Resurrection H.S. students will usually state that the best thing about their school is the dedication and commitment of their teachers. This all girls school has a wonderful sense of family and community. They are outstanding in the service they give and won the National Service Learning Award in 2000.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 51%
Hispanic 15% 24%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Lynne Saccaro
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Parents Club, Boosters
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7500 West Talcott Avenue
Chicago, IL 60631
Phone: (773) 775-6616

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Taft High School
Chicago, IL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT