Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 154

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Philip Lutheran 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a community member
this is the best school ever. i love this school. so good. great teachers. great students. great one on one time with teachers. there are ipads with great apps for education. the books are on the ipad.

St Philip Lutheran 4

Posted October 15, 2011
- a parent
When I drop off my children I feel that they are safe in a school like St. Philip. Great parental involvement and strong school system. You are fortunate to be able to start your child off at St. Philip and to see them graduate from such a great school! It used to be combined classes with the first and second graders but not anymore...they each have their own classrooms and teachers. By the way- The sinks and water fountains HAVE been repaired. Like anything else things tend to break but these were repaired and are now exceptionally beautiful and completely functioning.


St Philip Lutheran 5

Posted October 02, 2011
- a parent
Excellent teachers in the early childhood program, strong principal, our daughter is in the preK program 2nd year. Nurturing, Safe environment, children are very kind to one another, you can see the kids are very happy and are learning just by observing their interaction with one another. My daughter can read and always surprises me with little nuggets of knowledge she learns at school

St Philip Lutheran 2

Posted February 24, 2011
- a community member
And why is the girl's water fountain broken? Why has it BEEN broken for months? Honestly, you hired the guy to break the thing. Now it hurts to crank the thing because the guy came, took off the handle, and left. I love the teachers, though. But to put two classes together is insane. I asked a second grader what they thought of second grade, and they said they were learning all first grade stuff.

St Philip Lutheran 5

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is in her second year in the early education program at St. Philip. So far, I am very impressed. The programs to teach children to learn through play are clever, the religious teachings are inspiring and I know my daughter is young but I can see her gaining comfort and confidence in the knowledge of God and Jesus Christ as her savior, the meals are nutritious and we may have just lucked out on the other kids in the class but friendships have also been an added bonus. My daughter can't wait to go to school every morning. I have also noticed, that among those who were born and raised in the city, St. Philips seems to have an excellent reputation.


St Philip Lutheran 5

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
St. Philip is an excellent school with good academics and a fantastic technology program. There is a variety of sports offered: cross-country, basketball, volleyball, bowling, golf, track. Two of my children went here and are doing well in high school. The class size is quite small, yet there are no double grades like many private Lutheran school have on the northside of Chicago. The academics seem to be ahead of most of the local public elementary schools.

St Philip Lutheran 0
no rating

Posted December 05, 2009
- a community member
St.Philip is a great school. the books are up to date in every subject and grade. The staff really knows how to teach. the principal is a great leader and keeps the school organized. The sports teams are very succsesful just recently the boys basketball team got 3 in the state and 9 in the country. Last year the JV boys team won the city and subarban tournament. This year the JV girls team has won all the Tournaments they have participated in. The technolgy program is amazing they have all the newest technology and teach the kids how to take apart computers and to put them back together. and they have to learn how each part works. They learn the history of technolgy and make technolgy. It's a great school for immigrants who need help with english or kids who need help in school.

St Philip Lutheran 5

Posted September 28, 2009
- a community member
St. Philip is awesome! It's an excellent school with good academics and wonderful teachers. This school is diverse and has a Technology program which is great! I must say this school is excellent


St Philip Lutheran 2

Posted May 13, 2009
- a student
Good schools have extracurricular activities, a good environment, high standard academics, and good teachers to help their students. This school has all of them. Although the teachers can be very immature and act like children at times which is just ridiculous because they are supposed to be a professoinal teaching staff. Though most of the teachers are a well functioning staff. I am dissapointed in this drop of teacher quality that the school has displayed.

St Philip Lutheran 3

Posted April 25, 2009
- a student
This school is amazing. I love it. If you compare it to other Lutheran schools it's probably one of the best. Toward public schools probably averages out the same. St. Philip is probably one of the most diverse Lutheran let alone Private schools out there. Though, you should be aware that the reviews below are true. So that should be taken into consideration as well. Also it should be noted that things may get out of hand and may not be good for a child's exposure. Other than that it ok.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Philip Lutheran
2500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL  60659
(773) 561-9830
Last modified St Philip Lutheran is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Philip Lutheran Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top