Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Shore School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

The administration staff, the owner, and supporting staff are great. Teachers for kids 6 months to 3 years are great as well. However, they can't seem to be able to retain good teachers there in pre K. My child went through 4 teachers in one school year. They ranged from very mean to nice, some were better at teaching academics than others. As much as it was a relief to see mean/angry teacher go, the fact that kids had to adopt to a new caregiver every few weeks was frustrating. I do not have experience about older grades since my child went there from 1year to 5. Let me stress again that I think this is by far the best day care in Edgewater. Teachers are caring and knowledgeable that provide great programs to little ones. We interviewed several daycares and this was the only one that met our expectations and made us feel comfortable leaving our little one there. They do monthly field trips and send report packages home with photos and child's art work every two weeks. Once they fix their pre K teacher retaintion issue, they will be amazing. I am sending my second kid there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

I attended this school from 3rd - 8th grade, so I do not know much about the preschool program. I graduated from here around 7 years ago. I had a wonderful education, it really prepared me for high school! I got a better education and more one on one then I would have had at a cps school. I graduated with a class of 5, because their were only 5 of us in the entire class! I received a wonderful education, was in a very diverse environment, and made life-long friendships! The school can be kind of pricy, but the teachers are extremely dedicated. So if you live in Chicago and in the Roger Park area I would really recommend this school!


Posted May 26, 2010

Lake Shore School is not one that I would send my child. The Director needs social skills toward parents. The teachers need to speak up for their students and not let her belittle them and their students. After all, big money is required. Not every teacher has to like a child. Teachers are human too, but they need to be a lot more professional in handling negative situations. Parents like to hear the good things their kids are accomplishing, not just the bad. The director needs to retire and find someone that has a more caring personality and not one that is overbearing. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

All the teachers are great with the children. They talk to the parnets if there is a problem with your child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2009

Both of my daughters went here when we lived in the city. The greatest strength of the school is the diversity of the students - my girls learned about different cultures by having classmtes who talked about home. Mses Marsha and Karen expect the kids to listen and it works. They are on top of what the kids are doing and will not accept 'sliding'. We missed them greatly after we moved to the suburbs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

Feb. 2009 School has grown: achieved NAEYC accreditation, CPS partnership and long term improved teacher credentials. you must visit to appreciate the program, curriculum and very affordable tuition.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2005

The school has numerous strengths. The student-teacher ratio is very low and the after-school care is wonderful. The school fosters creativity and art well. The student population is diverse with the majority as black or mixed ethnicity. there is little parent involvement, but the staff teamwork is strong and there is wonderful communication and feedback from the school. I have two children there and their literacy is developing very well. This is an excellent school for busy, working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2005

Great: small class sizes, dedicated teachers and staff. Long history of committment to children and families. The only program that is affordable and exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

Academic program is excellent. Extracurricular activities are not that good. My son was not able to take more classes because he was the only one registered for that class.Parent involvement is not always requested by the school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 38% 18%
White 22% 51%
Hispanic 21% 24%
Two or more races 14% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Farah Essa
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5611 North Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60660
Phone: (773) 561-6707

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Senn High School
Chicago, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT