Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Durkin Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
All the teachers at Durkin Park Elementary School put in 100%. But one teacher puts in 110% and that would be Mrs. Helen Branch. Mrs. Branch is a math teacher and has the patience of a saint. She takes her time and really listens to the students and works around their understanding since it can be different for each. She is always encouraging and always sees the best in each student. She never gives up on her students and when disciplining she does it in a respectful understandable way. She builds relationships with each student and their caretaker. She is an inspiration to the students and makes learning fun.

Durkin Park Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
I have respect for each and every teacher at this school. They each are consistently working hard with the kids and not only teaching them about the subjects they need to focus on, but also about life.


Durkin Park Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
the school gives enough work to keep the students up to date and current on their studies but not overwhelmed by the homework they receive.

Durkin Park Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
the school is always having challenges and competitions so that students can do their best and learn that hard work and dedication pay off.

Durkin Park Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
The staff at this school is very fair and very open minded to all of their students and the backgrounds that they come from. The school has respect for its students, therefore it receives respect back.


Durkin Park Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
The school is always trying to help each other and to help others who might not be as fortunate as their students. The school is always offering opportunities for students who might other wise feel left out of activities.

Durkin Park Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
This school is very diverse and celebrates all types of holidays and special day for each of its nationalities. The staff is always recognizing good behavior and always encouraging the students to do their best. This school has always had lots of activities that covers everyone's likes and heritages.

Durkin Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
The school principal and assistant principal and the entire staff have always treated each student and their families' as if we were all family. From the principal to the cafeteria staff to the janitors, each person that works in this school has only treated everyone with respect and kindness. There was never a day in 8 years that I felt unwelcome in this school. Each staff member treats the students with respect and also takes an interest in each one. I have always felt comfortable and safe leaving my kids in this school and after school programs.


Durkin Park Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in 2nd grade and my son is in Kindergarten and they love this school. I love the staff, they know all of the kids by their names. I am impressed!!

Durkin Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
Last year was my son's first year at Durkin for sixth grade. I must say I was very impressed with the faculty and the staff. The teachers are great! My son transferred from St. Bede School and I realized the kids at Durkin were a lot more advanced. I wish I would have sent him here from Kindergarten. I wasted so much money all these years. I would definitely recommend this school!!

Nearby schools

Durkin Park Elementary School
8445 South Kolin Ave, Chicago, IL  60652
(773) 535-2322
Last modified Durkin Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top