Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Amundsen High School 5

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
My son is a Freshman at Amundsen in the IB Program. I have been very impressed with course content in the IB Program and the one-one-one attention he gets from his teachers. He has enjoyed his participation on two of the sports teams. Amundsen Principal goes out of her way to make each student feel welcome and appreciated for their unique talents. At Amundsen, every one works together to create a small-town culture in an Urban School. I would highly recommend Amundsen to my friends.

Amundsen High School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
We first visited this school in the fall of 2014 and were very comfortable with the "feel" of the school. The new principal seemed genuinely engaged in creating a great learning environment for students and in supporting teachers and staff. We've heard from current and former IB students about their Amundsen HS experience. We have chosen Amundsen over other IB and selective enrollment schools and have not regretted it. The very good impression continues through the freshman year as we come to the report card pickup days, interact with the teachers. They're caring, they know well the children that they teach and guide. There are also many opportunities for developing special interests as there is a variety of after school clubs. I have not regretted for a moment that we've made the neighborhood school our #1 choice.


Amundsen High School 5

Posted November 13, 2015
- a community member
As a neighbor, I am so impressed with all that is going on at this school now. Not only are the kids happier (very safe, huge Homecoming celebration, 50% more students involved in after school activities) but the principal and her staff are driven for success for all the kids and the IB program and AVID are top notch. Makes me a little sad that my now college-age kids (who went to Selective Enrollment high schools) missed the chance to walk across our beautiful park and attend a great neighborhood school. GREAT NEWS UPDATE: Amundsen was just named a Level ! school! They also had some major remodeling work done this summer (new gyms, locker rooms, computer resources) and have a major partnership with University of Chicago!

Amundsen High School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a student
I went to their open house and see that it's a good high school to go in.

Amundsen High School 5

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
Amundsen is not the same Amundsen of just a few years ago. The culture is completely different - safe and positive. The new principal (hired in 2012) is strengthening the academic rigor, and developing a great learning community. Don't let the old reputation keep you from looking at this "hidden gem". Amundsen is also part of a brand new community effort (with aldermen and neighborhood leaders) to make this school a "school of choice". The school offers IB, AVID, AP and dual-credit.


Amundsen High School 5

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
Wow, I went to the recent open house and the new principal is a total rock star. I know so many parents that are worried sick about their kids getting into a selective enrollment school, but after meeting teachers and students here at Amundsen, we are going to give this school a long hard look. If you haven't been to this school and taken the tour, you owe it to yourself to put it on the list, as more and more neighborhood families are enrolling their kids here. Test scores continue to rise and we are lucky that this our local neighborhood option. Your kids don't need to be perfect to attend here, but for so many of us that are seeking a great local option this is a perfect fit.

Amundsen High School 4

Posted November 14, 2014
- a community member
We have a middle schooler who's in the process of learning about high school options. Amundsen is our neighborhood school and we've been hearing good things about the principal and the school, so we wanted to see for ourselves what Amundsen has to offer. We went to last weekend's open house, and were impressed with the IB program, the athletic offerings, so many student activities and the overall feel of the school community. Even my extremely skeptical middle schooler was impressed ... so much so that Amundsen shot to the top of her list, tied with her top selective enrollment choice. I would be happy to have my kids attend Amundsen, right here in our neighborhood.

Amundsen High School 5

Posted November 24, 2010
- a parent
I agree that this school has a very undeserved bad rep. Before we moved here, I was so worried about sending my daughter to this school because of all we had heard. But the staff were wonderful. Ms. Farfan was so helpful and got my daughter enrolled right away. The faculty at this school is very proactive in the students' educations--instead of just sitting back waiting for the students to fail, they make sure they take every step to catch problems early. I'm so glad we "had to get stuck" with this school!


Amundsen High School 5

Posted February 26, 2009
- a student
This School is better than most people realize. The teachers at this school are very helpful and always give chances to finish up late work. It's right next to a soccer field,football stadium,3 baseball fields, and a park has it's own parking for students and teachers. The only problem that I notice are the students don't pay attention or really try to do the work not all of the students are like that though. It's still a very good school.

Amundsen High School 5

Posted October 30, 2008
- a student
It's a great school all you have to do is choose your friends right, and they'll be your great friends throughout the year/

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Amundsen High School
5110 North Damen Ave, Chicago, IL  60625
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (773) 534-2320
Last modified Amundsen High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top