Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holmes Elementary School

Public | PK-2 | 442 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2012

Great school. Great teachers. My kids attended this school and excelled all through school. This school prepared them well for their future years in school. They have great programs which challenge the kids to excel and do their best. Excellent education received here. Every bit just as good if not even better than the Clarendon Hills and Hinsdale school systems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

Charges for bus service, when tight budget, first to be cut are the teachers but admin can get huge raises, poor communication, hidden agendas (great teachers though)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Great Teachers, Great Programs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

You get out of Holmes School what you put into it. If you help your child do their homework they will do well in school and excel. If you become involved as a parent and show your support with time and money you will bring great benefit to the school. After reading some of the initial reviews I am taken aback by the lack of knowledge some angry parents have. Ask not what Holmes School can do for you, but what you can do to give your child a wonderful learning experience. The staff is there now the parents need to show up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

Below average for the area for sure. If you are new to the area consider District 181 over District 60. This school district can't figure out what it wants to be, very unorganized curriculum. There is absolutely no gifted program at Holmes school. If you have a child with an IEP or recognized special need this may be a good fit for you though. There seems to be a lot of time and financial energies going towards the special education department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

barely adequate. Far below other area schools in basics. Stuck in the mindset that being slightly above state average means huge success. We just passed a very expensive referendum in order to reduce class size and my daughters kindergarten class went from 16 to 22. Pathetic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

My daughter loves her school, all her teachers and made lots of progress...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

This is my son's first year at Holmes, and we were thrilled with the teachers, the (current) principal and staff. However, we are concerned about the upcoming school year (06-07) and the controversy surrounding the newly hired school Principal. As parents and taxpayers, everyone in the community will be watching her closely and asking lots of questions throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

Its a great school. parents and teachers are involved. Test scores are excellent. Teachers are so devoted. We are moving-I'm really upset about leaving this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

it is a great school. teachers are extremely devoted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

Most of the teachers really care about the progress of all students. The only negative is the lack of leadership and vision in the administration. Politics and relationships seem to affect the decisions and the correct moves are not made. The overall quality of the faculty is excellent and the parents are very involved in the learning process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

Great School! Excellent teachers and administrators recommend to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 4%
Hispanic 16% 24%
Black 12% 18%
Two or more races 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Dominic Sepich

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5800 Holmes Avenue
Clarendon Hills, IL 60514
Phone: (630) 515-4810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Walker School
Clarendon Hills, IL





Notre Dame School
Clarendon Hills, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT