Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Prairie Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

There was just a post regarding the health teacher at Indian Prairie and someone at the school deleted it..... As stated ....health teachers need to teach health by example. With all the complaints it seems that someone would rather delete the problem than address it. Obesity is a chronic problem perhaps someone in district could agree...even if her husband is a football coach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

I could never say enough wonderful things about Indian Prairie Elementary school. The teachers are skilled, kind and always available to help a child or a parent. The office staff is the same. We have been in this school for many years. My oldest is a senor in high school and my youngest is in 2nd grade. I have 2 more in-between. This is the reason we moved to Crystal Lake. District 47 is well run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

I have just transferred my son to this school and already he is loving it. I keep hearing from other parent and former students how much they love the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2012

My child is entering 5th grade this year, and has attended Indian Prairie since Kindergarten. I couldn't be happier with the teachers and staff. They do a great job at accommodating students at different levels. As a volunteer during class time, I was very impressed with the style of teaching. I would highly recommend Indian Prairie!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

My son is in kindergarten this year and I don't have a single bad thing to say about the school. His teacher is great, the administration is excellent. They obviously care about their students and it's an excellent environment for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

This school is great.Wonderfull principal and assistant principle!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

I moved here from a different district when my son was in 2nd grade. That school was academically in the 'top ten, ' academically. Mr. Kelly and Mrs White are amazing! The only issue I have is wiht the teacher parent communication this year. I would like more direct feedback, Still, overall a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

This is an amazing school. You know you have arrived to a special place when you step through the doors.


Posted April 19, 2007

Indian Prairie Elementary School is a mixed bag based on grade. Our child has attended K-3rd grade so far. It was our experience in 1st and 3rd grade that teacher's claiming to invite parent interaction actually did not relish the input. 2nd grade was excellent with respect to classroom discipline and teacher parent collaboration. Extracurricular activities are good at the school - no complaints. My wife and I have found that you need to develop a good relationship with the teacher from day 1. Keep asking tough questions related to your childs development regularly. If our child is doing poorly let us know sooner rather than later in the quarter. Heavy emphasis on getting all students up to speed for standardized testings. Overall a very good school and experience with some rough edges that can be smoothed out with pro-active parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2007

I would have to say, I was very pleased when my daughter was in 1st grade. Mrs. Maglares is a wonderful teacher and was very involved with all the children equally as well the parents. she kept me informed abt my daughter's performance academically and well as socially.Now that we are in 2nd grade I feel left out about tests that are being given and not knowing until my child comes home to tell me. parental involvement is limited to those the teacher feels comfortable with. As far as Music,Science,and Art, I really could not give an opinion because I am not informed. I am sure the program fits as best as it can for most students but, I guess because I was raised in a Catholic School setting things seem a bit different as far as academics and parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

A very nice well educated school i recommenedm it highly the staff help your children like their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

The quality of school is fantastic. They are very involved with the children and have many different programs for the kids to be involved with. The teachers are very involved with the kids as well as the parents. They have a 5th grade band which is very exciting for the kids, as well as plays and other performances. Parents can be as involved as much or as little as they would like. My daughter had trouble getting off of the ground with reading in 1st grade and they recognized that right away and put her into a reading program, and now she's doing great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

The absolute best school ever for grade schoolers - teachers are wonderful - principal is wonderful - I am so lucky to have my children at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2005

One of the best schools my son has ever attended. The staff really cares about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My daughter has been here since kindergarten. She is now in the multi class for 2nd grade. So far I can honestly say that this school & the entire district has been wonderful. My daughter has reading difficulties & the school & her teachers have been great with all the work they do to help her overcome this problem. We moved to Crystal Lake because of the district good reputation & so far we have not been dissapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female78%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income70%
Non-low income86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female90%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income82%
Non-low income84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female75%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Low income70%
Non-low income87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)62%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female61%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Low income62%
Non-low income72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students94%
Female88%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White97%
Low income93%
Non-low income94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)100%
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female78%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Low income73%
Non-low income88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female79%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Low income61%
Non-low income89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 51%
Hispanic 15% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 2% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

651 Village Road
Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Phone: (815) 459-2124

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lincoln Prairie Elementary School
Lake In The Hills, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT