Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Decatur, IL
Students enrolled: 1,179

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Macarthur High School 4

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
I wish there was more information on who to contact when you have general questions. As a parent of a freshman who has never had a child in high school before, I find the lack of information provided very disappointing. Coming from a middle school where parents felt welcomed and teachers were readily available as opposed to being thrown into a new environment with no guidance as to where to go.

Macarthur High School 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a community member
Mr Dean Schultz is the key to MacArthur success. He is a leader who cares about students. Schultz is a hands on principal who is always visible tp students and staff.


Macarthur High School 5

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
need more metal detectors security is alright test the kids for drugs and wepons it will be more safer mr shultz does his job dr wallace is a very good person mrs parish is so genorous

Macarthur High School 5

Posted June 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Macarthur High School 1

Posted May 16, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Macarthur High School 5

Posted April 11, 2006
- a parent
Great academic programs and challenging as well. Teachers do not accept medial work from students. There are a lot of extracurricular activities, like the plays, which my daughter is helping with at the moment. I think it is a great opportunity for her. I think there could be more parental involvement but I do see a good level of it.

Macarthur High School 4

Posted April 30, 2005
- a student
MacArthur has its share of problems like any school. If I could have chosen any high school in the city, I still would have gone to MacArthur. The extracurriculars are great. Scholastic Bowl has been consistently successful for 15-20 years, the Drama Club is consistently among the tops in the state, Jazz Band does well at their competitions every year, and there are others. Of course, they are successful due to the hardworking students AND teachers involved in these. If you think that any student can waltz in and be involved, then you'd be wrong. If you are ready, willing and able to contribute to the success of whatever you're involved in, then go for it.

Macarthur High School 1

Posted March 28, 2005
- a former student
This school is terrible. Definitely the worst school I've ever been to. I'm now currently being homeschooled, and am pretty happy with it. Well, I could go on, but I've reached the word count minimum.


Macarthur High School 4

Posted January 18, 2005
- a former student
The music and drama programs are very good. Mr. C and Schepp are very good band teachers. Mrs. Barnabe is a wonderful choir teacher. And most of all Mr. Waller is an outstanding drama teacher. I am glad that I had the chance to expierence what the Mac can offer. I thank all of you.

Macarthur High School 1

Posted October 24, 2004
- a parent
Our family was a second generation MacArthur family. Unfortunately many things have changed. There were many thefts and fights. Safety for your student was not guaranteed. Although there are some very good teachers there, there were more that were not. When going in to express a concern over teacher quality, the administration's answer was they knew about the problem but not to worry your student wouldn't have to have them again. They are working to get their graduation rate up but the drop out rate is unacceptably high. They do offer a good Tech program and many extracurricular activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Macarthur High School
1155 North Fairview Avenue, Decatur, IL  62522
(217) 424-3156
Last modified Macarthur High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Macarthur High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top