Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brentwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2012

I'm so happy with this school! I've had children in two other schools in the area, and this staff is dedicated and committed to helping kids grow! Both the kindergarten and 4th grade teachers are beyond my expectations. They made my children's learning fun, challenging, and relevant to their lives. Wow... my kids never wanted to go to school before, and this year they're asking when they can go back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

Unhappy with the school. Boring, rude principal, unqualified teachers that lack common sense (and the principal does, no wonder, fish rots from the head),low quality education, inhumane attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

When My son was deployed to Afghanistan My Grandson came to live with and enrolled at Brentwood . They were so helpful and understanding to My Grandson's needs


Posted March 5, 2010

My son excels in this school. His teacher really focuses on learning and helping children grow. Great experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

The school has fantastic learning resources in both the library and classrooms, and has dedicated staff that challenges each child to achieve their academic potential, My children have had extremely positive experiences with the staff. They not only work to confer information, but encourage the children to model exceptional character and are responsive to special circumstances. We deliberately moved to this district when we saw our friends' children blossom after they transferred here from another district. We love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Brentwood does have a wonderful principal that cares for all students. The teachers are just as special. All the work and effort is put into each and every child to achieve their goal. This is a school where the kids do come first. I love Brentwood School where kids never stop learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

It is a wonderful community of students, teachers, staff, and families!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

The teachers and administrators really care about the children who attend Brentwood!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I really love this school for my child. The teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

My children have been there for for the last 4 years, and we have about 10 more years to go. The staff is wonderful. Helpful, accomodating. They are always willing to work with you and assist when needed. Principal is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

It's not just a school, it's a community of parents, teachers, staff all working together for the benefit of the kids. It's warm, loving, fun, creative, safe and nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love the school. Staff and teachers are excellent. Our kids love the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The whole Brentwood Staff is exceptional! Miss Allen, the principal is the most caring and understanding person along with being very conscientious and organized even in crisis situations. We just had a 'soft lock down' due to the escaped convict. Miss Allen was very calm and handled the situation with impeccable work in a critical situation. The entire staff at Brentwood is caring, personable and are really aware of all the children's needs. Parents of Brentwood children are always willing and able to work with the school for any event or situation. Being a part of Brentwood school is like having a very large extended family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

My kids have been at Brentwood for over 6 years (and counting) and it's the best elementary school we've ever been involved with. The staff and kids are so great, that last year I volunteered as a lunch supervisor. Getting to know the staff and students that well only strengthened our opinion of Brentwood, and we know we made the right decision in making this the only elementary school that our kids will ever attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Brentwood Elementary is a great school. The teachers really care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This staff works diligently improve the educational lives of students. Each member reads, attends classes, meets with various building teams and meticulously plans to create and support superior individualize instruction to their diverse students. Our students make us better teachers!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

Brentwood is a great school; I have to rave specificially about the special education services. My son is a very smart, high functioning autistic who easily could have been neglected had Brentwood staff not recognized that his learning style required some accomodations. He absolutely thrived under the nurturing staff at Brentwood
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son and daughter both go or went to Brentwood. Brentwood is a great school! My son has a form of autism in which he could have easily been overlooked. The special education services realized this and were able to accommodate his needs and he has performed better than we could have expected. All the teachers are extremely helpful and go out of their way to try and help the kids do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

I love this school. My son is receiving the extra help he needs because he is a auditory learner. The teachers and principal. incuding other staff members are warm and welcoming to all. My son is progressing wonderfully now and is in a classroom size of 18 and the teacher really goes out of her way to meet his needs. Thank you, Thank you Thank you!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

My daughter is in 1st grade and I couldn't be happier with this school . We switched from private school and the education here is much better. My daughter has advanced leaps and bounds. The only down side is class size is large, 24-25 in the english speaking rooms, 16-18 in ESL.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female68%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income70%
Non-low income72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)62%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learners57%

Reading

All Students74%
Female77%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian85%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income64%
Non-low income78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)54%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learners55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female84%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Low income70%
Non-low income83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female73%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Low income70%
Non-low income79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students93%
Female92%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Low income92%
Non-low income94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female71%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Low income69%
Non-low income75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female62%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian53%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Low income65%
Non-low income70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 24% 4%
Hispanic 15% 24%
Black 6% 18%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

260 Dulles Road
Des Plaines, IL 60016
Phone: (847) 593-4401

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St Raymond School
Mount Prospect, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT