Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
240 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 108 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Science & Arts Academy 5

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
My son has been a part of the SAA family for quite a few years. I feel the most important part is EVERYONE at the school knows him and is looking out for his best interests. There is no difference in academic to participation to the arts/music or character development. He continues to be challenged and enjoys it at the same time. Tim has great vision and more importantly execution as well as soliciting frequent feedback to change for the long run.

Science & Arts Academy 5

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
Whether you live in the City or the Suburbs, it’s likely that your local public school faces some big challenges, including: large class sizes, uncertain funding streams, and onerous testing requirements. With a focus on teaching for the test, many public schools are cutting back on “non essentials” from art, to science, to gym, to gifted programs. In this context, the Science and Arts Academy (SAA) stands in sharp contrast. It is a school that does it all. Its greatest strength may be its Science program, which is one of the best in the state. But as the name suggests, the Arts are also strong. It has an amazing Drama program, where all students love to participate. The Art program speaks for itself. All you have to do is walk through the halls to see the caliber of work. It also has a Music program has grown over time to include Orchestra, Band, and Choir. Private lessons are provided at the school, so it is really a one-stop shop for the frazzled modern parent. Of course, the main reason parents send their kids to SAA is for the accelerated Math and English curriculum. Most of the students perform at least a year above grade level and for those that are 2-3 years advanced, the school places them appropriately. It is differentiated and challenging. Lastly, as a parent, I have to say that I appreciate the SAA community. The school is relatively small so the parents, teachers, and students all know each other. It is a supportive environment where the big kids take care of the little kids and they all share a love of learning. There is nothing “uncool” about being smart at SAA; rather, it is a place where children go to thrive and excel. All you have to do is walk down the halls to see it and feel it. For those with gifted children, it is a truly great school.


Science & Arts Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has had many wonderful teachers at Science & Arts Academy. From a preschool teacher that understood her (and her worried parents) to elementary teachers who nurtured her and helped her understand herself, to middle school teachers who encouraged her to excel and who have prepared her for the next level. If I were to name each teacher, the list would be very long... We have been blessed.

Science & Arts Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
My sincere thanks for not only supporting my child in an incredible learning environment, but also the support you have given me. I am grateful for all that you do each and everyday!

Science & Arts Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
I have been impressed (awed, thankful) to all of the teachers we have been lucky enough to have at SAA, but clearly the leadership, vision and commitment of the head of school, Tim Costello, is what puts this school in the 'extraordinary' category. He has a clear vision for what gifted education should be, he is compassionate, friendly and approachable, he is inclusive, passionate and driven.


Science & Arts Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
In my child, I see her commitment to her school work and extracurricular activities as far above her age-matched peers in our public school. Gifted kids have a natural ability to persevere, but this school also fosters and environment where expectations are high, but obtainable, and effort, enthusiasm and commitment are recognized as much as grades.

Science & Arts Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Significant emphasis is placed on Social Emotional Learning; every teacher and staff is trained to incorporate this in the curriculum. The students are mentored in all areas of development: finding their own voice, respect and support of their peers, understanding peers of different backgrounds, ethnicities and talents. They are expected to put their best effort forward, whether academically or socially. These expectations are modeled by the staff and the older students. This is one of the kindest, friendliest groups of kids I have ever encountered.

Science & Arts Academy 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attended a 'great' public elementary school from kindergarten through 3rd grade. My daughter was extremely engaged and excited about school early on, but gradually became more frustrated, bored, and actually started acting out, which she hadn't ever done. She felt like she was not understood by teachers or other kids, and felt like she 'thought differently". These are typical feelings in gifted kids who are not challenged. Our public school was clearly not meeting our needs for accelerated or advanced learners; the advanced student 'pull out' programs were minimal, and the fantastic program for gifted students was discontinued altogether. In the fall of 2014 I enrolled my daughter in the Science and Arts Academy in Des Plaines, and I can say that the move has literally transformed my kid: she is engaged, excited, challenged, happy, encouraged, supported. The school is staffed by teachers who only teach gifted students, so they understand how these kids think, process and learn. If your gut tells you that you have a really smart kid who is not thriving where he/she is, a gifted school is worth investigating. Making the move has really--no exaggeration- turned our lives around at home. These early years of education are when the kids get wired for success, and matching my talented kid's ability to the right environment, peers and teachers has been more important than any other parenting decision I have made. And, after looking at the other gifted schools in the Chicago area, SAA still outshines the other schools.


Science & Arts Academy 5

Posted December 26, 2015
- a parent
Small class sizes and they are experts at differentiation. Your child can be in grade level language arts and higher level math (or vice versa). This is done easily and, most importantly with age level peers! It's completely accepted to be smart, or artistic, or both! Both of my kids enjoy school and have an amazing learning environment.

Science & Arts Academy 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
SAA has an amazing gifted program which focuses on a child's social and emotional learning - its has equally awesome (read: friendly, non judgmental) students and dedicated teachers. Ever since we moved, our child is happy and always challenged - never bored! For instance, he is in grade 3 but according to his capability he is now doing grade 5 Math, just what I love about this school, you can be as challenged as your growth will allow and the school will support that all the way! The general environment, students, and teachers make SAA an amazing place, and we couldn't recommend it enough.

Nearby schools

Science & Arts Academy
1825 Miner St, Des Plaines, IL  60016
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 108 reviews. (847) 827-7880
Last modified Science & Arts Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top