Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
240 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 97 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Science & Arts Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
I have been impressed (awed, thankful) to all of the teachers we have been lucky enough to have at SAA, but clearly the leadership, vision and commitment of the head of school, Tim Costello, is what puts this school in the 'extraordinary' category. He has a clear vision for what gifted education should be, he is compassionate, friendly and approachable, he is inclusive, passionate and driven.

Science & Arts Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
In my child, I see her commitment to her school work and extracurricular activities as far above her age-matched peers in our public school. Gifted kids have a natural ability to persevere, but this school also fosters and environment where expectations are high, but obtainable, and effort, enthusiasm and commitment are recognized as much as grades.


Science & Arts Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Significant emphasis is placed on Social Emotional Learning; every teacher and staff is trained to incorporate this in the curriculum. The students are mentored in all areas of development: finding their own voice, respect and support of their peers, understanding peers of different backgrounds, ethnicities and talents. They are expected to put their best effort forward, whether academically or socially. These expectations are modeled by the staff and the older students. This is one of the kindest, friendliest groups of kids I have ever encountered.

Science & Arts Academy 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attended a 'great' public elementary school from kindergarten through 3rd grade. My daughter was extremely engaged and excited about school early on, but gradually became more frustrated, bored, and actually started acting out, which she hadn't ever done. She felt like she was not understood by teachers or other kids, and felt like she 'thought differently". These are typical feelings in gifted kids who are not challenged. Our public school was clearly not meeting our needs for accelerated or advanced learners; the advanced student 'pull out' programs were minimal, and the fantastic program for gifted students was discontinued altogether. In the fall of 2014 I enrolled my daughter in the Science and Arts Academy in Des Plaines, and I can say that the move has literally transformed my kid: she is engaged, excited, challenged, happy, encouraged, supported. The school is staffed by teachers who only teach gifted students, so they understand how these kids think, process and learn. If your gut tells you that you have a really smart kid who is not thriving where he/she is, a gifted school is worth investigating. Making the move has really--no exaggeration- turned our lives around at home. These early years of education are when the kids get wired for success, and matching my talented kid's ability to the right environment, peers and teachers has been more important than any other parenting decision I have made. And, after looking at the other gifted schools in the Chicago area, SAA still outshines the other schools.

Science & Arts Academy 5

Posted December 26, 2015
- a parent
Small class sizes and they are experts at differentiation. Your child can be in grade level language arts and higher level math (or vice versa). This is done easily and, most importantly with age level peers! It's completely accepted to be smart, or artistic, or both! Both of my kids enjoy school and have an amazing learning environment.


Science & Arts Academy 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
SAA has an amazing gifted program which focuses on a child's social and emotional learning - its has equally awesome (read: friendly, non judgmental) students and dedicated teachers. Ever since we moved, our child is happy and always challenged - never bored! For instance, he is in grade 3 but according to his capability he is now doing grade 5 Math, just what I love about this school, you can be as challenged as your growth will allow and the school will support that all the way! The general environment, students, and teachers make SAA an amazing place, and we couldn't recommend it enough.

Science & Arts Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Excellent emotional learning program that focuses on a child's social, emotional needs and values. Community centric projects, buddy-up mentoring etc. besides the day to day feedback loops form a strong part of this.

Science & Arts Academy 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
We did an extensive search to find the right learning environment for our children. We are so lucky to have found SAA, The children are learning in a rich, creative and diverse learning environment. Our children love school, love their teachers and found great friends that share the same interests. We have a wonderful learning community at SAA and we owe it all to the teacher and a great head of school.


Science & Arts Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Centineo is outstanding. She is a gifted-child whisperer. She has a never-ending amount of patience, always has a creative solution, and only kind words. My son and I absolutely think the world of her. When we think of SAA, we think of Mrs. Centineo. She is a jem!

Science & Arts Academy 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
SAA recognizes and celebrates the uniqueness of each student and crafts a challenging yet supportive learning environment for each child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Science & Arts Academy
1825 Miner St, Des Plaines, IL  60016
(847) 827-7880
Last modified Science & Arts Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Science & Arts Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 97 reviews. Top