Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Downers Grove, IL
Students enrolled: 378
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Avery Coonley School 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
Avery Coonley is simply incredible. My daughter loves the school. The teachers and staff are supportive, engaging and talented.

Avery Coonley School 5

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
School is phenomenal. Teachers are committed, enthusiastic, and genuinely concerned about your child. Mr. Barton, head master, awesome and very involved. The students actually love to go to school and love to learn. There is mutual respect amongst the faculty and student. A very unique environment, conducive to learning. Worth every penny!


Avery Coonley School 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a community member
ACS is literally my second home. I always feel appreciated and cared about, like I'm a part of something larger than just a school. You know everyone there by name, and you really feel like the teachers care about you. I learn so much everyday I go there, and wouldn't want any other place to be called my school.

Avery Coonley School 5

Posted July 03, 2011
- a parent
A naturally gifted child will thrive in this community. They have a complete understanding and compassion for their students and the challenges that can occur with gifted and 2e children.

Avery Coonley School 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
This is a school for hard working, bright and gifted kids. The teachers are great and there is a lot of parent involvement.


Avery Coonley School 5

Posted November 06, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Avery Coonley School 0
no rating

Posted August 17, 2009
- a parent
ACS provides an education you cannot get in most of the DuPage County school districts. Children must continue to perform to remain in the school and the school feeds them with extraordinary education. It is unfortunate that there are not more similar schools to provide the same gifted opportunities from three years old through 8th grade. Also, there needs to be an Avery Coonley High School as well. The public schools simply ignore gifted students by forcing them into the same mainstream as all other students.

Avery Coonley School 0
no rating

Posted December 13, 2008
- a student
i have attended this school for nine years, and i love it! I'm in 6th grade and i feel like it's my home. I know almost everyone in the school. Everyone at the Avery Coonley School is close to one another and the teachers. I love Avery Coonley!


Avery Coonley School 5

Posted March 22, 2008
- a parent
Our daughter attended kindergarden at Avery Coonley and had a wonderful experience. We had to relocate to another part of the country where she now attends what is considered one of the best private schools in the region. She was very well prepared for a challenging first grade experience and ahead of her peers in math. She developed an exceptional conceptual understanding of math concepts at Avery Coonley. Her teachers and peers where absolutely outstanding. We miss Avery Coonley! It is worth every penny.

Avery Coonley School 5

Posted December 28, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avery Coonley School
1400 Maple Ave, Downers Grove, IL  60515
(630) 969-0800
Last modified Avery Coonley School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Avery Coonley School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top