Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
378 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Avery Coonley School 3

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
on the kids who are actually smart enough to get into the school on their own merrits.

Avery Coonley School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Our family loves The Avery Coonley School. Our daughter recently started kindergarten after having been in ACS’s Junior Kindergarten the year before. (Their “Early Childhood” programming starts at 3 years old.) We have been consistently in awe of the teachers’ depth of knowledge into children’s learning, especially as it applies to gifted children. Their emphasis on “educating the whole child”, particularly the social-emotional needs that are often unique to gifted children, is really quite amazing. And, the fact that our daughter will be among like-minded peers through 8th grade is immensely valuable. The newly renovated lower school is beautiful and modern while retaining the charms of the 100+ year old institution. It’s worth noting that our family comes from an entirely public-school background, but we have found the ACS community — parents, teachers, staff, and students — to be extremely warm, welcoming, positive, and down-to-earth. We’re thrilled to be part of this school community for years to come!


Avery Coonley School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Yes -- our experience in both Junior Kindergarten and Kindergarten is that persistence and determination are heavily, heavily emphasized. The teachers are keenly aware that many gifted kids are also extreme perfectionists, which can lead to a reduced willingness to take risks due to fear of failure. And so, considerable time and energy in the early years -- in ways both subtle and more obvious -- are spent trying to get kids to be more willing to take on challenges.

Avery Coonley School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are absolutely top-notch. Our primary experience has been with the Junior Kindergarten and Kindergarten teachers, and we've come away from our interactions with them thinking that their knowledge of educating and raising children, especially gifted children, could fill volumes. Many of the teachers at ACS have been on staff for several years if not decades, which speaks highly to the quality of the faculty as well as the faculty-staff-parent relationships.

Avery Coonley School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
As Kindergarten parents early in the school year, we haven't yet experienced the homework load.


Avery Coonley School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
If you have a chance to interact with the students at ACS, you'll be immediately struck by how polite, confident, and well spoken they all are. This is particularly true for the middle school kids, who, despite being teenagers, interact with adults in an extremely positive and respectful way. Character is certainly a point of emphasis in the ACS education.

Avery Coonley School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely. One of my favorite recent ACS moments was watching several 8th grade students walk our kindergarten daughter over to the playground for one of her first days of before-school play. It was really touching to see these teenagers, who easily could have run off to talk or to play soccer, take the extra time to usher one of the new little kids into a staple of life at ACS.

Avery Coonley School 5

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
We chose The Avery Coonley School (ACS) because we believe the school teaches its students how to think and not what to think. Both my husband and I are professionals and cannot underestimate the importance of critical thinking skills, analytical rigor, and the pursuit of intellectual curiosity, both in the workplace but also in life. We believe ACS is a special place and it s magical watching our children grow as individuals here and knowing that their love of learning is flourishing.


Avery Coonley School 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
Avery Coonley is simply incredible. My daughter loves the school. The teachers and staff are supportive, engaging and talented.

Avery Coonley School 5

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
School is phenomenal. Teachers are committed, enthusiastic, and genuinely concerned about your child. Mr. Barton, head master, awesome and very involved. The students actually love to go to school and love to learn. There is mutual respect amongst the faculty and student. A very unique environment, conducive to learning. Worth every penny!

Nearby schools

Avery Coonley School
1400 Maple Ave, Downers Grove, IL  60515
(630) 969-0800
Last modified Avery Coonley School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top