Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Elmhurst, IL
Students enrolled: 384
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Timothy Christian High School 2

Posted December 21, 2013
- a student
I attended Timothy for 9-10 years, from the end of grade school through high school. Though it is sufficient in terms of academics (if you are a self-starter), I can think of few other positives. "If you're not Dutch, you're not much" was a phrase jokingly used by "lifers" (classmates who had attended TC since preK) but I found this to be very accurate. I am thankful for the academic training I had (small class sizes & advanced courses), but felt the lack of diversity, both racially and in terms of income level and religious denomination, to be unrealistic to life after schooling. The code of conduct for students is very rigid in comparison to public schools, and in terms of extracurricular activities there is much to be desired. To reiterate--academically, prepares students for university. Lacking in terms of social life, spiritual life, and personal development.

Timothy Christian High School 1

Posted December 14, 2013
- a student
As a former student I would never recommend this school to anyone unless you are popular and liked by everyone sadly. The kids here don't really portray the christian attributes expected. TC has cliques everywhere you look and everyone there or at least most share the same faith. If you are not their specific 'faith' , then you are usually looked down upon and they criticize your 'faith'. After transferring I was treated better academically at my other school then I ever was at TC. Some of the teachers are rude, not naming any specifics. The students will bully you if they simply don't like you. My worst high school experience was here at TC. There are many other great private christian schools to attend or send your child(ren) too, but TC isn't one of them. It will be a big mistake and you will regret it.


Timothy Christian High School 5

Posted December 06, 2012
- a parent
I recently moved here from out of state with two high school children. The staff and students at Timothy have been very welcoming. The teachers and coaches are encouraging and good role models. The faculty shows a sincere concern about my children s success and well being. In addition to the impressive academic programs, there are many extracurricular activities. Because of the small size of the school, it is not difficult to become involved in a wide variety of these. On the other hand, the school is not too small to have multiple sports, drama, music and fine arts programs. The campus is modern with a brand new $3.4 million science wing that has five new classrooms and three state-of-the-art science labs. My children are getting an excellent Christian education and are making life-long friendships. The parents are friendly and helpful to newcomers. I am so blessed to have found Timothy Christian.

Timothy Christian High School 3

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
Timothy gives students a solid Christian foundation but the academics, extracuricullars and sports are mediocre. Ok for a self-motivated kid but not good for a child who needs resources. Definitely not a place to get your child "out of trouble" or special ed. Insufficient resources and no patience. Teachers rely too much on copied, unverified materials rather than a textbook. The copied materials have errors that the teachers often don't understand. Frustrating when parents try to help when there is often no materials to guide them.

Timothy Christian High School 1

Posted July 12, 2012
- a student
I have just recently left this school. This school is not a well brought up school. If you are an outsider you are looked down upon. If you are different in any way you are targeted. They say it is a nondenominational school but in history class (western civ.) they talk bad about other religions. And nothing but good about Calvinism. When a student gets bullied and the student goes to the guidance counslor for help.The student never gets help. The teachers are very mean to the student. And if the student has a thought the teacher doesn't like, the student will be downgraded. If you are a person who is new to the community and not CRC then you will be outcasted. The school is full of hypocrates and bullies.


Timothy Christian High School 5

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Timothy Christian High School and we couldn't be more pleased. The students were welcoming to him from the first day; depsite the fact that he didn't come from their grade school and middle school program. The teachers are top notch and dedicated to their jobs. They are also dedicated to being disciples of Christ and that is evident in the classrooms, their teaching, and personal interactions with the students. The courses are academically challenging, including the honors classes. There is also a well rounded selection of classes and extras offered. Certainly we know that the school came from Dutch roots and that heritage is embraced, they aren't a Calvinist school. They are clearly a Christian school... making "academically prepared disciples of Christ". What a perfect mission statement for this school.... they are doing it!

Timothy Christian High School 4

Posted March 01, 2011
- a parent
Academics are better than average and challenging for most students, and a Christian perspective is evident in the curriculum, school environment and in the teaching staff. I am not happy that Timothy has become the food police for our children and have taken away the enjoyment out of eating, including special occasions. The current dean and principal's roles seem to be that of cops/detectives who are constantly trying to catch kids doing something, anything, that doesn't meet their ridiculous standards of behavior. Overall, we are still very happy, but these few things are troublesome.

Timothy Christian High School 3

Posted October 15, 2010
- a student
i attended timothy christian high school. i did not grow up in the community & although i did make friends, i always felt like an outsider. the community is very closed off & a lot of the students are not open to hearing about other denominations as they have all grown up together in the CRC. i definitely think that the community in this school are very hypocritical & i felt judged by many parents because i was an "outsider" not having grown up in the school. i also struggled academically & i felt that the teachers were not helpful to me in ensuring my sucess. i would not recommend this school nor would i send my own children there.


Timothy Christian High School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are wonderful, they actually care about there students and want them to succeed.

Timothy Christian High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2008
- a parent
We have 1 child in school here and are happy to say we are very pleased with this school. It is spiritually challenging for her and the academics are among the best in the area; much better than most public schools. The teachers and administration are caring, Christian people who encourage the best in our daughter. Look no further for a top-notch Christian education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Timothy Christian High School
1061 South Prospect Avenue, Elmhurst, IL  60126
(630) 833-7575
Last modified Timothy Christian High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Timothy Christian High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top