Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pope John Xxiii School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Evanston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $273,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2008

This is my daughter's first year attending Pope John. She absolutely loves it. She is excited about learning and adores her teachers. I feel she is appropriately challenged and that that the school really works to foster a warm and caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

I used to attend Pope John and it was a very good community. I had a nice class and most of the teachers were above average. Through my years there I felt that every class I learned a lot, but I never really had a strong math teacher who was able to explain the concepts on what we were learning. I thought that the English/Lit class in the Jr High was a very high point. I learned a lot but still had a good time, since the teacher kept the class pretty amusing. It had its high points and its low points, just like any school. I still wish I was able to attend there, but Pope John was able to prepare me for my move to a new school and a new town.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2007

We have sent our children to Pope John for many years now. We have been incredibly happy with all aspects of the school. There are going to be issues with any school, with any community; overall, however, we know our children are in a caring community receiving an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

I worry about some of the teachers at this school. I felt my child wasted a semester with a teacher whom I feel did not challenge the kids. I am glad I made the decision to send her overseas to a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

As part time French teacher at Pope John XXIII School, I witness the high quality education students receive there.The teachers are professional and dedicated, the principal, assistant principal and office personnel are extraordinary and the community is outstanding! Pope John offers a classic education as well as a foundation in religious values and ethics. Students learn to take responsibility for their actions and for their work. There are numerous opportunities for students to explore the arts, through fine arts, dance, song and drama. Students who graduate from Pope John do well in high school.I sincerely believe the school offers a great education and an opportunity for students to learn to live with a diverse community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 28, 2007

Pope John XXIII is the BEST school for our children. The balance of a sound academic curriculum with a core group of teachers who not only teach but offer the direction we are seeking for our children is unmatched. The principal is strong is academics and budgeting (new endowment fund) and average in communication. She is well balanced with the Assistant Principal who is a strong communicator and advocate for the students and faculty. Pope John School does a good job in creating a place where parents can and do actively participate in their child's education. The new Media Center offers a quality place for the students to continue their learning along with improvements in Technology. Pope John is a wonderful and caring community where we look forward to our children being educating for many years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

I had two children attend PJXXIII. During that time, we only had one teacher that was really bad. Most of the teachers were outstanding. There were three principals during that span. The first was great, the second was good, and the current was poor. A lot of politics have dictated the school policy and leadership with certain families having a grip on the leadership. I still consider the school to be very good despite the leadership over the last 10 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2007

We had children at Pope John for several years, and finally made the decision to leave. This school has a caring, involved parent community and some excellent teachers. However, the principal is not a strong selling point. As someone in a vital position of leadership, she is closed-minded and does not listen to concerned parents. The school codes are enforced inconsistently. Physical education is suboptimal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

Pope John XXIII is a quality Catholic school, with several dedicated teachers. However, it lacks a well-liked principal. In my opinion, she has very little sense as to how students behave and would like to be treated. While I was at the school she treated every student, despite their age, as she would a pre-schooler. The classrooms are average in size and the computers are brand-new. The gym is on the small size, but I never had too much of a problem with it. One very large benefit of the school is it's relationship to St. Nicholas Church, a truly great community. Also, their Latin class (and teacher) is amazing. In fact, Mr. Onofrey is the one of the only reasons why I liked Pope John.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 21, 2006

I graduated from Pope John two years ago and couldnt be happier with the way Pope John prepared me for high school. The teachers were very strong in just about every subject, especially math and english. I could see that they really wanted each student to understand the material. Another great thing about this school is the way they emphasize your faith. Between masses and religious shows and the wonderful envolvment of the pastors, i believe that i truly recieved a full education of my faith and so much that cannot even be said about my individual growth. One of my favorite things about the school was our great athletic program. With so many different sports to play, it really taught me to balance my school work and fun, an important thing for high school. The parent involvment was so great and is really what makes it all so fun.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 24%
Two or more races 16% 3%
White 13% 51%
Black 11% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Science Olympiad State Qualifier (2007)
  • Science Olympiad State Qualifier (2005)
  • Science Olympiad State Qualifier (2004)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Rosalie Musiala
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (847) 475-5683

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Our parents are involved in many ways. they volunteer in the classrooms and they pariticipate in annnual fund raising acitivities. they are active in leadership roles on school organizations like the school board, the parent association, and the athletic board.
More from this school
  • Pope John XXIII draws from a rich heritage that dates back to 1886 from St. Mary's and St. Nicholas Schools. Pope John XXIII was consolidated 20 years ago. It is one of the most successful consolidations in the Archdiocese. We have a new multi-media center with over 8,800 books and 20 new laptops for student research. There are also 30 in the computer lab and 4 in each classroom.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
50% to Evanston Township High School
30% to Loyola Academy
10% or less to St. Ignatius or Regina Dominican High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1120 Washington Street
Evanston, IL 60202
Website: Click here
Phone: (847) 475-5678

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Park School
Evanston, IL


Chute Middle School
Evanston, IL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT