Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Bernadette School

Private | PK-8 | 116 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Evergreen Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

My daughter absolutely loves her school. Her preschool teacher, Ms.Power is so welcoming and fun. My husband and I are so grateful that we have this wonderful school right down the street from us. She is having such a great time learning, playing and making friends. I thought it would be hard to send off our first child to school. But the truth is I am so happy for her and I know that she is in the perfect place. The first day I picked her up from school, she pointed to the Church and said, "Jesus is always there, He is always with us." I thought to myself - "wow" - money well spent. We really appreciate the community of St. Bernadette and couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Our family is EXTREMELY happy with St. Bernadette! We transferred our daughter here a bit before she turned 3 years old; the second day after her b-day SHE WROTE HER NAME FOR THE FIRST TIME! The staff at St. Bernadette works hard to instill kindness and consideration into the children. Everyone is friendly, they have teacher's aides who are studying at St. Xavier in child development, and the children really care about each others well-being. Even the young ones. My daughter will educate/remind me from time-to-time on doing the right thing, how to politely address others, and how much God loves us - AND SHE'S ONLY THREE. The tuition is very affordable in comparison to what daycare centers are charging for 3/4 year old children. .... St. Bernadette is just a solid school all the way round. This is my daughter's family away from home and I'm looking forward to seeing her 8th grade graduation from here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

St. Bernadette is a family educational and spiritual environment that caters to kids on various levels with its multi-age classrooms. It offers a challenging curriculum, athletics and music. It's a great school, a hidden treasure located in Evergreen Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

This is one of the best schools in the neighborhood! The whole parish--church and school-- is a gentle community that cares for one another and provides an excellent foundation for children. The classes are small, and all alums do wonderful things (I know many in graduate, law, and medical school and others with great jobs in which the find much fulfillment). Truly one of the neighborhood's hidden treasures.


Posted June 15, 2009

I think St. Bernadette is great. The school and parish are small and caring communities, and, having grown up in the neighborhood and now sending my kids there, I know that they are in good hands. I've seen many alum go off to college and beyond and do very well, and I'm impressed by my daughters' education now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2006

Everyone feels like family, great atmosphere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2006

I attend this school. I like it very much. The teachers are very helpful and kind. They really care about your well being, future, and career. The teachers teach a well based lesson that is both challenging and easy to pick up. The teach us short cuts or easier ways of doing more complex things. I really appreciate this school and every single thing that they do for me and the rest of our students. Also with all the fun things they do like rib fest and student and teacher appreceation day it's always fun to go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2006

St. Bernadette offers an excellent academic program for their students. They offer music, soccer, basketball, track and a host of other extra curricalar activities. St. Bernadete has an excellent principal and is staffed by caring, concerned teachers and other staff members. Parents are encouraged to participate in activities at the school throughout the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 18%
White 34% 51%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Hispanic 5% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Arlene A Baumann
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9311 South Francisco Avenue
Evergreen Park, IL 60805
Phone: (708) 422-6429

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Northeast Elementary School
Evergreen Park, IL


Central Jr High School
Evergreen Park, IL


Southeast Elementary School
Evergreen Park, IL


Hope Lutheran
Chicago, IL



Northwest School
Evergreen Park, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT