Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Infant Jesus Of Prague School

Private | PK-8 | 442 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Flossmoor

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

I enrolled my son here with high expectations...they were only 1/2 way met. Unfortunately, due to a new principal, some of the staff are NOT on the same page. The school holds too many fundraisers and is always asking for money in some capacity. The teacher (2nd grade) is very good. She has some interesting teaching methods, but there are a few things that have happened with my son where I can not totally recommend or return to this school for the next school year. If you end up choosing IJP, be sure to ask about Uniforms (they are super expensive and must be special ordered) and ensure you get all fees listed up front. Good luck as they have automated most systems (tuition and lunch) and they each tack on fees just for convenience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

Hi! I am a student of IJP. I have to say to school isn`t all that bad. Education: It is starting to rise up again. Is taught in a good way. Teachers: The students can very easily control them. We can get our own way if we get them mad. Otherwise, good, fair (at points), and strict sometimes. Principal: CAN NOT CONTROL THIS SCHOOL. We can not wear bracelets, necklaces, or wide headbands. I still continue to see girls wearing this and the principal does nothing. He thinks he is doing a good job, but honestly, our school has fallen since he came. Homework: Teachers can not control how many peole do not do their homework. It is just unacceptable the number of people that are not doing it. Activities: They are really fun. Used jsersyes though. Cliques/Bullying: This is outrageous. Of course, people are with their own groups, but bullying is starting to rise. I have been attending IJP for 8 years and have 2 to go. I say IJP is a school your child should attend overall. There are some flaws, but its mostly good. Hope to see you in the next 2 years!! By the way I am a 6th grader at IJP.


Posted February 24, 2013

The vaunted Blue Ribbon status IJP impresses quality in the mind of parents of prospective parents. This is where it ends, "impression." While they are great are dolling out demerits, and other disciplinary measures, they are lackadaisical about the primary reason of the institution - education. Case in point, when we mentioned the lack of challenging academic work and minimal home work for our child to the principal, he responded with a perfunctory "I will look into it." Of course, he never did... The teaching staff body could do with the injection of young, and male teachers who are university graduates. In addition, electronic technology should be introduced to classrooms as teaching and learning aids. The services they provide are not worth the fee which they charge. Prospective students' parents may want ask questions about our experiences mentioned above.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

My experience with Infant Jesus of Prague was not the greatest. Many years ago the reputation was excellent. The lower grades (1-4) are better, but once your child enters fifth grade, the drama begins. The staff responds with demerits and the pirincipal, who is fairly new, seems to be uncaring. Clearly not the best choice for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

IJP is a wonderful school. Better than that Joe school done the street. It has way better than most private schools. It has alot to offer for a not so high pricde!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2011

As an alumni of this school, I can tell you that while not all of the teachers care, almost 99% of them do. IJP prepared me very well for high school. It allowed me the chance to take Honors Geometry at Marian Catholic High School when I was in 8th grade. This allowed me to be ahead of the game in high school, and will allow me to take advanced courses in the future. Along with great academics, IJP athletics were always my favorite part of the school. All of the coaches are required to be trained supervisors in a program run by the school. This allows a safe environment for your child in extracurricular activities. The curriculum, contrary to the previous review, is quite challenging. The science program (and especially science fair) has helped me become prepared for high school science. Also, the "Stock Market Game" in 8th grade gives the children a chance to understand the stock market and the economy. All in all, IJP is a great school that I plan on sending my children one day.


Posted March 29, 2011

This is school is average at best. Not worth the money especially if you are a non-parishioner. There are a handful of teachers that care and there seems to be a handfull+ of teachers that do not seem to care about the students. Some teachers make it painfully clear that they do not care.Furthermore, the curriculum is not all that challenging. The new principal is involved and seems to be trying to improve some things although he is not responsive when it comes to parents concerns with doesnt set well with me. The atheltic board which consisits of parents whose children attend the school are unpleasant, unwelcoming and very discriminatory. They have rules that they do not follow. HMM? Wonder why not? The school is lacking adequate supervision during lunch and recess. The are many accidents on the playground that could be avoided with adequate supervision. Sometimes the children are left unattended in the classrooms when there is an indoor recess. I would really research this school well on all levels and weigh out your options carefully. On a positive note, the parents are really involved which makes for a positive environment for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Infant Jesus of Prague School is a wonderful school that takes pride in being a Blue Ribbon School! One of the nice things at IJP is the parents are involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

It's a wonderful school to learn at, but my daughters are talking about alot of drama at the seating of tables.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

I've learned so much in such a short time from Infant Jesus of Prague School. Not to mention, it is a Blue Ribbon school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

Attention to detail is an understatement. The Administration as well as a low turn over Faculty are fabulous creating a plan for every student to excell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

The academics are exceptional. Both my children are reading two grade levels above their year with faculty and programs to support and challenge them daily. Five Golden Apple Award Nominees this year (one nominee has taught at IJP for 22 years). This school has the best of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

The superior educational environment is reflected in the children's love of learning. From Spanish to scouting, the students are given so many opportunities to expand their academic exposure. The award winning principal knows how to encourage learning and remain on the cutting edge of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2006

I think IJP offers the best elementary school education in the south suburbs. My child has attended since 1st grade, and we have overall been extremely pleased with the quality of education and teachers. I think they look for creative, innovative approaches to challenge all kids. The school has become more diverse over the years, which is a positive as it's a reflection of the real world. I think adding some diversity to the teaching staff would be a positive for the school, as well as perhaps training for the staff to build upon their efforts to embrace a diverse student body. There is significant parent involvement. I would like to see the PTO make a better effort of inform all parents of opportunities to serve on boards, committees, etc. Overall, I highly recommend IJP. We could not have made a better choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

IJP is a great school. They offer a solid catholic education. The diversity in the classrooms is a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

I am an IJP alumni who went on to attend Marian Catholic High School. Upon arrival to MCHS, I quickly discovered that my knowledge base was far more expansive than that of freshman who had attended other parochial or public schools. I credit that to the education that I received at Infant Jesus. IJP provides an atmosphere of discipline, competition and unity. As much as the teachers at IJP push their students to achieve their best, they are sure not to let other students fall behind or feel less accomplished than others. The teachers are truly dedicated to the excellence of their students, but more importantly, to the character building of their students as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 16, 2005

I think this school is alright but isn't the greatest. Alot of children here are not happy. You should have some more extracuricular activities like soccer or drama club. But besides all that the school is great.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 24, 2003

Infant Jesus fosters an effective learnng environment. The Principal and teachers appear to be dedicated to the educational interest of all the students. Parent involvement is encourage and, also contributes to students academic achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 18%
White 32% 51%
Hispanic 7% 24%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Daniel G Smith
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1101 Douglas Avenue
Flossmoor, IL 60422
Phone: (708) 799-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT