Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glenbard South High School

Public | 9-12 | 1367 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

Do not listen to parents describe what a school is like. They get the propoganda that is fed to them by the school. Take it from an actual student, this place is no where near as top notch as they like to think. Pathetic sports with overly demanding coaches, administration that cares about their bottom line more than the well being of the students, security guards picked straight out of the nursing home, food that prisoners at dupage county jail eat (literally, same company provides for both institutions) watered down academics because "every kid is an honors kid" and teachers that are overpayed in proportion to how much they actually do. Not to mention the pure wastefulness of the funds. There is a smart board in nearly every classroom, over $5000 a pop. And you know what the teachers do with them? Pull down the projector screens in front of them because they are so buggy and inefficient that it's better to just use handouts and projector screens. This is a miserable place to be and nobody should be fooled by the smoke and mirrors the administration puts up. I hated every second of my experience at glenbard south.


Posted January 13, 2014

The school is very very focused on kids in the honors and AP classes only
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

I am an alum from around 2007-2010 grad year (prefer to stay anonymous). Honestly, this school is a small school so therefore it is what you make it. If you are a motivated student who wants to do well and wants to get along with teachers and hang out with the right people you will do well. That's why I am currently doing very well in the real world. However, if you have some needs beyond being self motivated (not that you are a bad kid) then this might not be for you. Not all kids are mature enough to be able to do this. As the community around this area is relatively well off, there are certain limitations with that, but there are certain benefits. I enjoyed high school overall (although I seriously disliked some teachers and some aspects, but who doesn't?). As far as public schools go this is a great one. Also, security is minimal because it doesn't need to be better. Its a great area and there is a certain trust with students and teachers. Lastly, I agree with the person who discussed the separation between honors and regular. Honors students are regarded above the "regular" kids, which creates an environment in which high performers are rewarded (AKA just like the real world).


Posted July 9, 2013

Small class sizes, experienced teaching and admin staff, caring community and family friendly, safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

My daughter didn't like it much there, staff wasn't friendly at all, had a horrible experience with this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

I have the distinct honor of being a Glenbard South alumni as well as a parent. As a product of this small but proud school, I was thrilled to be able to find a home in the area so my sons could have that same opportunity. Smaller class sizes offer more one on one teaching if necessary and tons of AP class options. Excellent teachers, a caring and involved principal, along with a challenging academic program is what makes Glenbard South such a fantastic school! I honestly don't believe my son would've been able to get an academic scholarship to the University of Illinois without having the benefits of academic rigor this school instilled in him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

I teach there, and I think the students, staff and community are fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Pros: Stellar academics (particularly for honors/AP track), active extracurriculars, flexible course choice, personal attention due to small size Cons: Athletics are lackluster, somewhat cliquish, honors and regular kids divided socially, administration considers students' views little when making decisions. Overall, it's a good school. I'm glad I went here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2009

The honors program is so diluted, my daughter is getting bad grades from pure boredom. Not a good idea for anyone who's kids are involved in the honors program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

This school is amazing!!!! the teachers are very nice, they help out, and you can talk to them about any problems that you are having.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2008

As far as schools go, i think gshs is a good one, although it may be lacking in a few areas, it's a small school which is nice, it's in a safe location and it's well rounded in many aspects as far as having a variety of sports, clubs, and classes. As a student there i must say i rather enjoy it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2008

i love this school, i'm a freshmen and it's honestly is a great school with amazing teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2008

horrible at sports< not even close to good edcation< very poor standards and doesnt have alot off money availible for broading studentences expectations.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 27, 2008

Honestly, this school isn't exactly the best place on earth like these parents say. They don't attend the school. But I did. I hated it, personally. I mean, it was alright to some extend but I much rather attend a different highschool. The security is horrible. I know a little birdie who snuck her boyfriend in the school and he got by with 5 classes. What does that tell you about the security? And might I add...they police offers are mainly over 50. What coul they do when there is a crisis? Nothing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2008

Great high school. There is a lot of division between the honors and regular kids. If you are not honors don't plan on being challenged to much. The school caters to the honors kids. If you are in any honors classes or AP classes you can really go places. If are just a 'regular' student you still have many opportunities, but you're on your own.


Posted May 31, 2007

Scholastically top notch. My children diid well as a result of the programs directives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

This is a fantastic school. It offers a variety of classes, including a wider-than-usual selection of AP classes. The music program is exceptional, and academic excellence is stressed. Glenbard South is a very competative school for a public high school, and dozens of academically-based clubs and after-school activities are great suppliments to the already fantastic leaning environment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 17, 2004

This is a wonderful school with amazing teachers and students. My daughter was a new student last year and she made friends amazingly fast being that she is so shy. The teachers were wonderful at helping her catch up seeing as we moved with only seven weeks of school left. She felt very welcome and had wonderful grades thanks to the fabulous staff at Glenbard South. I would recommend this school to anyone and everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female69%
Male75%
Black28%
Asian81%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Low income35%
Non-low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female74%
Male70%
Black35%
Asian72%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Low income41%
Non-low income79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female71%
Male76%
Black24%
Asian72%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Low income29%
Non-low income83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)39%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

91.8%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Black 9% 18%
Hispanic 9% 24%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23W200 Butterfield Road
Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
Phone: (630) 469-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Benet Academy
Lisle, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT