Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arbor View Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
I participated in a Dad's Watch Dog day on 10/24. It was a great experience. The kids were enthusiastically engaged and the teachers definitley had a grasp of classroom management. The staff made my day an enjoyable one. The interaction that the teachers had planned for me was well thought out and effectivley applied. I feel very good about Arbor View and the committment of the staff. None of this would be possible without the qualified and enthusiastic leadership of Mr. Bruno. I would like to do this again.

Arbor View Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2010
- a parent
I like that this school is in the middle of a neighborhood, not next to a busy road. The school community (administration, teachers, students, parents, siblings,...) make it a great school. The teachers are great and push the students to their abilities.The community just adds to this school. There are "get togethers" like Septemberfest, Halloween Harvest, basket ball league,... that make everyone feel a part of the school. Studies have shown that students do better if they feel they are a part of the school - Arbor View captures this illusive quality.


Arbor View Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
We just moved to the area..But already I know that Arbor view is a great school...I have aa child in 3rd grade and a child in the preschool program at Arbor View...the care and loving nature of the teachers and the academics that they have are outstanding...

Arbor View Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2008
- a parent
Our children have attended several elementary schools in several states, and Arbor View outshines them all! It is a great school with great teachers and an outstanding Principal in Mr. Diehl.

Arbor View Elementary School 5

Posted December 29, 2007
- a parent
This is a wonderful school! I would never leave our neighborhood, just so I can keep my children in this great school!


Arbor View Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2007
- a parent
My child is speech delayed as well as a couple of other things. He was able to join the Early intervention preschool class at Arbor View March of 2006. I noticed at the time that the teachers were kind, the Principal involved and caring, and the security comforting. When My child started in the fall He had a new teacher, Mrs. Chris Gillis. Ms. Chris, Ms. Karen, and Ms. Linda( with the help of the therapists Ms. Beth, Ms. Sue, Mrs Brown) REALLY made an impact on my son. He started tallking more, participating more, and most importantly was excited to go to school every day. These teachers are awesome. My son has been counting the days this summer, waiting to go back and see his favorite teachers. This is his last year there and we will be very sad to say goodbye!

Arbor View Elementary School 1

Posted June 20, 2007
- a parent
This district teaches to test. They care about test scores. I was not impressed with and administration here.

Arbor View Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2007
- a parent
This is a great school. All faculty and teachers are caring, and have a top-notch teaching program. We moved to this area because of the District 89 schools, and we absolutely made the right decision. We could not have done any better. Other suburban schools seem overcrowded, and the kids become a number. Not here, I believe there are less than 350 kids, and it's like a large family. Honestly. Life is so much easier when your kids love school and can't wait to get to school in the morning. The school is also in a safe location, as it's tucked into an older subdivision called Valley View, so it's not located on a busy street or in a busy area. It's literally in the middle of a neighborhood, and if you didn't live there, you wouldn't even know there was a school in there.


Arbor View Elementary School 4

Posted January 04, 2006
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The academics provided at Arbor View are quite superior to many of the other elementary schools in our area. The only one I feel compares well with it is Briar Glen Elementary. The staff are warm and accomodating which only serves to further facilitate an above average degree of parental involvement. The art and music teachers are excellent and keep things very interesting for our kids. This school has an excellent reading program and mathematics program as well. We have been very pleased all around with Arbor View.

Arbor View Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2004
- a parent
Arbor View is the best! Kevin Diehl does an amazing job of running this school. He knows each and every child by name as well as their family. The teachers are outstanding! My children are fluorishing here and are way ahead of other kids academically from different schools - look at the test scores. Most importantly... my children are safe, loved, treated with respect and protected. The front office staff is amazing! They will do anything and everything to keep you informed and they treat you as family. There are many involved parents (no cliques) and everyone is always welcome. You can participate as much or as little as you'd like. I would HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone! We are considering moving out of state and leaving Arbor View will be the hardest part. We LOVE it here and they will be a tough act to follow.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arbor View Elementary School
22W430 Ironwood Drive, Glen Ellyn, IL  60137
(630) 469-5505
Last modified Arbor View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arbor View Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top