Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mae Jemison School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Mae Jemison functions from the intellegience and grace of two wonderful gentleman. Mr. Scott and Mr. Johns are extremely appreciated. Leaders.

Mae Jemison School 4

Posted April 22, 2008
- a parent
this school is the best this district has to offer!!


Mae Jemison School
no rating

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
I think that this school is one of the best in the district considering my childs behavior they have still worked with her through it all and i appreciate that. Just want to say thanks to the staff as a whole and keep up the excellent work.

Mae Jemison School
no rating

Posted December 05, 2007
- a parent
I have seen 2 of my girls through Mae Jemison and have 1 in 1st grade now. I'd love to see more time spent actually teaching and ensuring the kids have gotten the lesson. I've seen parental support but it leaves alot to be desired. I've also seen the bldg. through 3 principals and have loved each of them- Dr. Patterson was by far the best. The PTO at the school if fabulous! Kudo's the the custodians also for keeping our building in good shape. The secretaries are very professional and helpful.

Mae Jemison School 5

Posted November 05, 2007
- a student


Mae Jemison School 5

Posted August 20, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has been a student at Mae Jemison for two years now. I love the school and the teachers that she has had so far. She is learning and doing much more than I was at this age. She is and has been an honor student since day one. Special thanks to Principal Patterson, Mrs. Chinske, and Ms. Skinner. You all are the best.

Mae Jemison School 4

Posted July 31, 2007
- a parent
I had two children in Mae jemison one in 2nd grade and one in kindergarden and they had excellent teachers . They were both helpful and concerned. Ihave another child attending the 2007-2008 school year and I hope she has the same creative and helpful teachers as her brothers.

Mae Jemison School 4

Posted March 29, 2007
- a parent
Mae Jemison has an excellent principal and many very good teachers. As with any group, some teachers are less talented than others, but as a whole they are good. I would be happier with less consentration on testing and more on learning what the students need to give them a solid well-rounded education, but this is a problem system-wide as there is more emphasis on test scores and less on actual knowledge. There is a need for more student activities.


Mae Jemison School 2

Posted September 26, 2006
- a parent
It seems that the teachers have no control of the students and the children are giving work without being taught and they come home and expect me to teach them. Yes more parent involvement needs to happen, but the quality of teachers needs to be addressed as well.

Mae Jemison School 1

Posted May 21, 2006
- a parent
Started off totally impressing but as time went on it became more evident that this school is a major disappointment. My kids were enjoying this school for the first couple of months, and now they dread going to school. Academics are shot, and they are using outdated textbooks with the covers falling off even though the property taxes are through the roof in Hazel Crest.

Nearby schools

Mae Jemison School
3450 West 177th St, Hazel Crest, IL  60429
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (708) 225-3636
Last modified Mae Jemison School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top