Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Hazel Crest, IL
Students enrolled: 458

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mae Jemison School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Mae Jemison functions from the intellegience and grace of two wonderful gentleman. Mr. Scott and Mr. Johns are extremely appreciated. Leaders.

Mae Jemison School 5

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mae Jemison School 5

Posted August 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mae Jemison School 4

Posted April 22, 2008
- a parent
this school is the best this district has to offer!!

Mae Jemison School 0
no rating

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
I think that this school is one of the best in the district considering my childs behavior they have still worked with her through it all and i appreciate that. Just want to say thanks to the staff as a whole and keep up the excellent work.


Mae Jemison School 0
no rating

Posted December 05, 2007
- a parent
I have seen 2 of my girls through Mae Jemison and have 1 in 1st grade now. I'd love to see more time spent actually teaching and ensuring the kids have gotten the lesson. I've seen parental support but it leaves alot to be desired. I've also seen the bldg. through 3 principals and have loved each of them- Dr. Patterson was by far the best. The PTO at the school if fabulous! Kudo's the the custodians also for keeping our building in good shape. The secretaries are very professional and helpful.

Mae Jemison School 5

Posted November 05, 2007
- a student
I love my school!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mae Jemison School 5

Posted August 20, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has been a student at Mae Jemison for two years now. I love the school and the teachers that she has had so far. She is learning and doing much more than I was at this age. She is and has been an honor student since day one. Special thanks to Principal Patterson, Mrs. Chinske, and Ms. Skinner. You all are the best.


Mae Jemison School 4

Posted July 31, 2007
- a parent
I had two children in Mae jemison one in 2nd grade and one in kindergarden and they had excellent teachers . They were both helpful and concerned. Ihave another child attending the 2007-2008 school year and I hope she has the same creative and helpful teachers as her brothers.

Mae Jemison School 4

Posted March 29, 2007
- a parent
Mae Jemison has an excellent principal and many very good teachers. As with any group, some teachers are less talented than others, but as a whole they are good. I would be happier with less consentration on testing and more on learning what the students need to give them a solid well-rounded education, but this is a problem system-wide as there is more emphasis on test scores and less on actual knowledge. There is a need for more student activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mae Jemison School
3450 West 177th Street, Hazel Crest, IL  60429
(708) 225-3636
Last modified Mae Jemison School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mae Jemison School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top