Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Willow School

Public | PK-2 | 543 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

What a great school year. This is my last of 3 children and the second time we have been in Willow. My daughter started there and is now at a Honor Student at HF. My son has progress so much this year in Mrs. Kappmeyer class I'm so blessed she is in his life. She and the school has definitely put him on the path of Excellence in Learning. To see that the standard of care and learning has withstood for the past eleven years I'm glad to say great job Willow school. When the parents get involved which I may say is encourage and welcomed you and your child will have a tremendous jump on their educational journey. Thank you Emmanuel W's mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2014

Fantastic teachers, principal and staff. This school has gone above and beyond to help my child that has ADHD. To the point of making future plans of how to handle and teach him for the next school year. Absolutely recommend having others enroll their children. Park needed a little work, but the school and classrooms are what is really important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2012

I AM VERY HAPPY WITH MY DAUGHTERS PROGRESS AT WILLOW, MS. MAJEWSKI AND MS MALONE ARE VERY EXCELENT TEACHERS FOR MY DAUGHTERS AND MY DAUGHTER LOVES THEM BOTH VERY MUCH I AM HAPPY THAT BOTH ARE PART OF MY DAUGHTERS LIFE. THANK YOU BOTH MS. MAJEWSKI AND MS. MALONE FOR BEING PART OF MY DAUGHTERS EDUCATIONAL PROGRESS. THANK YOU THE RAMOSES ARE HAPPY YOU ARE PART OF SMILEYS LIFE LOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

This is a great school. I have loved every teacher my daughter has had since she started last January. My daughter has grown so much in the past year in a half. The different teaching styles that her teachers have is awsome. I love the fact that the teachers cater to each child's learning style. The staff are also readily available and provide alternative ways of communication for parents to get updates on their child. I love the reward system for behavior and work ethic. I just don't have anything negative to say. I love Willow school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I moved into Homewood District 153 because of the schools. My son has a Speech Delay/Learning Disability. The teachers there are wonderful working with those kids especially those with special needs. My son went from two word sentences to five or more word sentences. He went from barely talking to talking a lot. The teachers are caring and understanding and the communication with the parents is phenominal. I have never seen a Principal and Assistant Principle get so involved as to go out and greet the children coming into school. All staff always make time to meet with a parent whenever a parent request a meeting. We have direct phone numbers and email addresses to all staff including the Superintendent. I really love this school because for the first time I can trust an entire school system with educating my special needs child. This school promotes healthy eating and ensures that the children eat their snacks and lunches. This school has art, music, gym, a resource room, computer lab, library and a learning center. I must mention that they always meet the Adequate Yearly Progress under the Illinois State Report Card. Also, I like the diversity it has. I must say I know I made the right decision in choosing Willow School in Homewood School District 153 in Homewood Illnois. I definitely think Willow school would greatly deserve to win $20,000 so they can enhance the programs they have, they can build a new playground and be able to continue to take the educational trips they so much love. Thank you Tina Willis Willow School Parent of now a 1st Grade Special Needs Child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

I am new to the community and everyone at Willow welcomed us with open arms. The past 5 weeks I have seen a change, which I didn't expect so soon, in my Special Needs Son. His teacher Mrs. Reed, who teaches kindergarten, cares about challenging her students to be better no matter what the disability. She and Mrs. Vallero and Mrs. Zofield really care for the students. I am so happy I chose Willow school and the Homewood school district for my childs education. I know this district with its great curriculum really can work well with my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I love Willow School because it is built on a foundation of caring and inclusion.


Posted October 14, 2008

Willow is excellent! The curriculum is extremely stimulating. My daughter learns 15 new words weekly, math is taught consistently and reinforces principles. The attitude of the staff is great. I love Mrs. Kazmarck who teaches 2nd grade. She is such an asset to the school. My daughter loves Willow. I can say she is being well prepared for 3rd grade. Her reading skills are very good and the parent's involvement is evident in how well the children do. I highly recommend. We'll miss Willow when my daughter goes to 3rd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

It's a wonderful school, they really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I am extremely pleased with Willow school. My daughter performs very well, above average to be exact. But the teachers continue to challenge her. I like their methods and know that I made the right choice sending my daughter to Willow school. I only wish they had a full day Kdg program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2006

I am very happy with the teachers and programs that are offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

The quality of academic programs are not stressed as much as everyone brags about. I started in the school district, because I thought it was one of the best public school districts in the South Suburbs of Chicago. I now find that the quality of teachers is not so great, and with the new breed of teachers is a new set of academics. Dealing with the new age child is not something possessed by the group of Teachers that have recently evolved. My children are basically a part of the test programs. On pilot programs. If they work great, if not back to the drawing board. Well I want a proven system for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

I am very impressed with the involvement of teachers and other staff. The students are always involved in some type of activity that provides stimulation and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 51%
Black 37% 18%
Hispanic 12% 24%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Ann Savage

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1804 Willow Road
Homewood, IL 60430
Phone: (708) 798-3720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Joseph School
Homewood, IL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT