Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Zurich High School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
After carefully reviewing many of the local communities, we chose to move to this school district several years ago. We've been very happy with the results. The teachers are dedicated and attentive to the students and what needs to be taught. Great electives are offered both in the middle schools and high school. The community itself has a welcoming, home town atmosphere, and that carries over to the students' attitudes. Excellent programs are offered in foreign language, music, drama, art, business and engineering as well as all the honors and AP programs. Class levels are offered to address all the needs of the students, and the teachers are equally attentive to struggling students. We have experienced quite a few phenomenal teachers who really go the extra mile to make sure their students master their subjects. As a former school teacher, I expect a lot from a school district, and I have been very pleased with what we've found in Lake Zurich.

Lake Zurich High School 2

Posted July 28, 2014
- a community member
Teachers that can teach are few and far between. Too make up for this they assign a lot of homework.


Lake Zurich High School 3

Posted December 18, 2013
- a student
Lake Zurich is a mostly privileged area with no gangs or horrible drug problems. However there are no real resources for kids with a struggling home life, mental illness, mental disability, struggling academically, or being bullied, although it has PLENTY of money to support these issues that need attention. Things are swept under the rug, for example when someone in the school or community commits suicide or even in a much less serious situation like if the football team loses, they just don't address it and pretend it didn't happen. The staff are not people you will want to come back and visit since they are often not personally invested and often judgmental, thriving off of gossip and scolding "bad seeds" instead of investigating the real cause behind a young person's actions. The teachers are average, some are wonderful, but it's the office staff and administrators that are usually not pleasant.

Lake Zurich High School 5

Posted January 28, 2012
- a parent
We chose this school district six years ago and have no regrets.The staff has been responsive to my questions and concerns, and truly believes in partnering with families. That said, this year the tone turned slightly more negative. Punishment and making examples of students seemed more prevalent than in prior years. However, I'm fairly confident that the leadership will not let this continue and remember to keep nuturing the education of our children their paramount concern.

Lake Zurich High School 3

Posted June 12, 2011
- a student
Most teachers rarely make sure the students know the material prior to test days. The school also cares more about football than anything else. The music program was nearly cut until middle school and the band had the same uniforms for 19 years. Many electives end up not running unless the class has 20 people signed up and the most of the students are snobby and rude. Also, the interior of the building is very outdated (except for the PAC) and most of the water fountains either don't work or the water tastes like iron. I don't think that can be very sanitary


Lake Zurich High School 3

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
Great school but for a reach parents, that can afford to buy kids very expensive brand names stuff. To bad we had to move our kids to a different district with same great rating but less snobs.

Lake Zurich High School 4

Posted February 17, 2010
- a parent
Overall LZHS has something for everyone. We have no regrets in choosing this school district or this community. Most teachers, counselers, and administration have students best interests at heart. One piece of advice we wish that we'd had--don't be pressured into allowing your child to take too many honors classes. Save Honors for those subjects your student really likes. Specifically stay away from the Honors math classes unless your student really has an interest in (not just an aptitude for) math. It can be a real confidence killer. And the math administration pushes the program for the sake of numbers, not students.

Lake Zurich High School 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
My life was enriched by attending Lake Zurich High School. I walked away with solid foundation in education. The teachers I had were second to none, not only did the provide an education, they challenged, they encouraged, and they believed. Thank you!


Lake Zurich High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I love LZHS because the town of Lake Zurich has been described by visitor's as 'Norman Rockwell like.' It is! The kids can walk to the High School football games. The community rallied this summer to save programs that would have been cut by budget contstraints. The Community got involved and raised thousand dollars to save not only athlethic programs, but musical programs and staff!!! This is a school that produces top students as well and a strong sense of family. The faculty is top notch ~ Come and see for yourself!

Lake Zurich High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and wonderful school spirit shown by the students and the whole LZ community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Zurich High School
300 Church Street, Lake Zurich, IL  60047
(847) 438-5155
Last modified Lake Zurich High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Zurich High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top