Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Francis De Sales School

Private | PK-8 | 53 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lake Zurich

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $345,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2014

No wonder this is a Blue Ribbon school! My kids LOVE St. Francis. There is a strong emphasis on old-school grammar and writing. The Language Arts/Reading program is way ahead of D95. The Math program is comparable, but taught in a more digestible manner. They have a full array of sports, beginning in fourth grade. The kids are polite, kind and smart. NO PARENT DRAMA! Father Ryan is wonderful. The teachers have been there for a long time. My kids went from crying every morning and being late at public school to being ready early with smiles for St. Francis. Spanish starts in third grade. Middle school has a regular track and advanced track. Fifth-graders go to Loredo Taft in May. Great band program. You can't believe the number of activities. Most of the teachers provide free tutoring. The technology in the classroom is top notch. I am so happy with this school; it is worth every penny. Many kids go on to Carmel High School, and are very successful in college. I am so grateful for the change in my kids' attitude toward learning and their behavior. The best school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

Transferring my daughter from public school to st. Francis de sales was the best decision our family has made for her. She was immediately welcomed by students & faculty, and was made to feel like she had always been part of the community. God bless the staff and members of this school, and especially to the teachers who made sure was never left behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

Sending our children to this school is by far one of the best decisions my husband and I had made. I would highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

The teachers, staff, and families at St Francis School have made this school an amazing community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I am a mom of three boys at St. Francis de Sales school. We have been attending the school for 8 years. As soon as you enter the school, there is a feeling of friendliness and caring. Our front office staff is so kind, courteous, and caring...to both students and parents. Our principal, Mr. Rash, stands in front of the school and welcomes the children to school each day..rain, snow, or shine. He responds to any parental concerns quickly and confidentially. Our teachers are there because they love teaching. It is a wonderful community. I love our school, and choose to send my children there, despite the fact that we live in a highly acclaimed public school district. St. Francis offers my children a wonderful education...we love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The faculty, parents and students of St. Francis all combine to breathe life and soul into this great academic institution. The pride and support of the associated parish makes this a truly wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

St. Francis De Sales School is not just a school-it is a family, a supportive community and a home away from home for our children to be educated in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

St. Francis has wonderful teachers and a caring environment. The kids who attend there go on to share all they have learned with the world...the teachings of the Catholic faith are a very important part of what these students become in life. We need to continue to maintain Gods teachings along with the 3 R's....Amen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

9 Years here. Made me grow in faith
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2006

The parent involvement in this school is wonderful, the parents do so much. I work Wed. pizza lunch, volunteer as a sub,& do many other things. My kids have gotten all a school could ever give them. The teachers have such good control over the kids. When Mr. Rash asks the students to be queit they a re silent right away! I love this school, & highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 51%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Hispanic 1% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Roy J Rash
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11 South Buesching Road
Lake Zurich, IL 60047
Phone: (847) 438-7921

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Seth Paine Elementary School
Hawthorn Woods, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT