Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
307 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Emily Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2016
- a parent
Two of my kids that have already graduated from St Emily's are doing great in high school. I love st Emily's teachers and small class sizes!!

St Emily Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
My son is in Mrs. Slivka's second grade class at this time and has been a student since pre-k3. I only know this for sure. My son can't wait to go to school in the morning. Education is NOT just reading and math. It is the development of the whole person. To teach the children HOW to learn and HOW to problem solve not just fill their head with data to pass a test. Up to this point there isn't enough room on this site to tell you how impressed we are with the development of my son as a whole person. Attitude is everything here. The saddest thing is wasted and undeveloped talent. My son has been given a growth mindset here instead of a fixed mindset. Extremely happy to sacrifice hard earned money to establish a strong foundation for my son here. St Emily Single Parent


St Emily Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
It has to start at the top. The family atmosphere and the great attitude throughout the school from the staff, teachers and students doesn't happen by accident.

St Emily Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
Develop a growth mindset instead of a fixed mindset. Positive attitude that someday with hard work you will achieve what you want even though you may not be there yet.

St Emily Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
They develop a relationship between students where the older students know and work with the younger students at times. In the classroom, special programs and on field trips. They absolutely do not tolerate any behavior problems here.


St Emily Elementary School 1

Posted September 26, 2015
- a community member
Hello, I have been student at St. Emily Catholic Institution for 8 years and, at the risk of sounding subjective, I can just say that my experience at the school has greatly deteriorated my academic capabilities. For instance, my 5th grade science teacher could no explain what a wormhole was, WHICH IS IN FACT, the basis for Einstein's theory of relativity....you're kidding me right??? Also, the number of children considered obese increased 10 fold due to us winning the ice cream thing. There was also some weird guy with puppets who did a terrible adaption to the classic Christmas story "A Christmas Carol". Furthermore, the day-care students would not shut up and I, the most polite and obedient student to ever exist on this planet, would also get in trouble due to the little manifestations of annoyance. In conclusion, all I learned from that school was that the mitochondria was the powerhouse of the cell.

St Emily Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
Thank you so much to the teachers from PK through Grade 3 as they get you started in believing SES is a great school...but it all goes downhill after that.

St Emily Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
With all due respect, the middle grade school teachers are beyond their best years in teaching. The experiences of sitting in these classes thwarts any type of student interest of learning beyond just completion grades for worksheets that waste time in class and are only sometimes assessed and virtually never get any valuable feedback. As one reviewer noted, send your child(ren) to a public institution where the teachers are evaluated by a competent administrator who will ensure that teachers are continuing to do what is best for all students, not the favorites (as one other reviewer correctly noted). In reality, there needs to be a complete reconstitution of the school and it starts with the principal who is lackluster at best. Enrollment will slide the longer that the current principal is in place. In reconstituting the school, teachers are in effect pink slipped, temporarily, and after a new administration is put in place, one by one, each teacher is interviewed by team consisting of a school administrator, a pair of parents who are in education and know the current best practices (preferably parents who are teachers, however NOT teachers who already entrenched in the school). Those teachers who continue to impress (primarily ALL of the excellent teachers are in PK-3) So, the downward spiral will continue and enrollment will drop as St. Raymond is a viable alternative and / or the public schools which are far superior in what St. Emily could ever offer. How is it that SES cannot even have a working wifi connection in place, Google Chromebooks for every student, etc. This is all the norm in other schools, but not the norm at this school. SES, unfortunately is archaic in many ways. Think twice about risking your most valuable resource and possession. SES can and will demotivate the ones you hold most dear. Be careful in your choice.


St Emily Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a community member
Students do not practice what they preach. Teachers REALLY don't practice what they preach. They are catty and small-minded.

St Emily Elementary School 1

Posted August 04, 2015
- a community member
If you care about your children's academics and future success in high school and beyond, you will send them to a higher-ranked PUBLIC middle school that is more well-established and employs better teachers with genuine credentials. Send your kids to Sunday school but don't risk their academics and stifle their intellectual capabilities just because you want faith incorporated into their education. If you must send your kids to a Catholic school, I recommend St. Raymonds, as those students really shine in high school. This is not to say for St. Emily's students.

Nearby schools

St Emily Elementary School
1400 East Central Road, Mount Prospect, IL  60056
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (847) 296-3490
Last modified St Emily Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top