Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mundelein Cons High School 5

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
1) The information reported is incorrect: most of Fremont feeds into Mund. HIgh School not Steveson.2) Less than 100 student out of 2500 are in the ESL program. 3) Mundelein high school as posted their highest ACT score EVER this year. 4) Enrollment in AP courses have doubled in the past 4 years. In addition I have two children at MHS. Both feel safe, accepted and academically challenged. Teachers, staff and administration know who kids are, contact parents when needed and are approachable and caring. I wouldn't send my kids anywhere else. It has been a Godsend having them at MHS.

Mundelein Cons High School 4

Posted October 20, 2013
- a student
Mundelein High School is above average in terms of the AP courses they offer and the recent renovations of the bathrooms and natatorium. The only exception would be the football team that has been a little shaky, but we do have a phenomenal swimming team. Connor Black broke seven of our eight pool records and even broke a state record and a national record on the 50 fly! We may not be diverse by ethical standards, but we've got a diverse educational curriculum.


Mundelein Cons High School 1

Posted October 09, 2013
- a community member
Mundelein has reached the proverbial "tipping point" in its demographic slide. Mundelein High School is only 50% white and falling fast, the rest are children of parents who were born in Mexico. Mostly children of illegals. In another few years Mundelein will be indistinguishable from Round Lake or Waukegan. White taxpayers are fleeing Mundelein and its school system (except Fremont Dist. 79 which funnels into Stevenson HS) while more Mexicans who pay little or no taxes are calling Mundelein home. This is having a disastrous impact on Mundelein High School --- special needs programs and advanced curriculum classes (AP, Honors classes etc.) suffer because of the funds diverted to teach the Mexican students remedial English, math and science. Also, nearly a quarter of Mundelein's student body speak little or no English at all, and these students require expensive ESL teachers, further subtracting from what Mundelein High is able to offer. I have not even delved into the disciplinary challenges of Mundelein's "diverse" student body. If you are white and looking for a nice school district, look elsewhere. Mundelein is finished. Just think: only 50% white and falling fast!!!

Mundelein Cons High School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
Mundelein High School deserves a much better reputation than it has. My stepson attended MHS, which was the third high school he attended. The smaller school brought him out of his shell, along with involved teachers and respective and accepting classmates. The diversity helps the children to be respective of others. As such, bullying is NOT an issue. He ended up an honors student with an A/B average, accepted at a top college, and with a terrific group of friends. Please see the testing averages by group - we have students who do not yet speak English bringing down the overall average. If you look at kids who have English as their first language, they average is 10/10. If you are a parent that believes diversity is important and fears the social pressures (such as bullying), consider Mundelein. As a parent, I am proud of these students who seem to support each other rather than "pick on' those that are different.

Mundelein Cons High School 5

Posted September 01, 2012
- a student
Go MHS! The school has numerous AP course offerings and a variety of activities and sports, and award winning bands and choirs. While not all students excel, those who do are at the top of their game and are well-prepared for highly selective universities such as MIT.


Mundelein Cons High School 1

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
I regret not moving out of Mundelein. this high school has been terrible to deal with, has limited course offerings compared to surrounding schools, and is poorly run.

Mundelein Cons High School 1

Posted April 06, 2011
- a community member
This is the worst school I know of. The teachers are good, but the way this place is run is completely ridiculous! I moved out of Mundelein just so my kids wouldn't have to go here!

Mundelein Cons High School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2010
- a parent
Mundelein High School is a school of opportunity helping to build great futures for Mundelein kids. The socio-economic makeup of our community is not able to support this, the only high school in our district as it should be to insure a competitive education opportunity for it's ehtnically diverse student body. The per-capita ratio of funding is sorely below other districts around us. There is much we could accomplish with this opportunity!


Mundelein Cons High School 5

Posted November 26, 2008
- a parent
Amazing school, my daughter has best friends from every ethnic group and has learned to appreciate differences. She excells in all her classes and is very challenged . She is not into the sports programs and so it is wonderful they offer so much more. The teachers are down to earth and flexable. We are lucky to live in this district . My children are so much more prepared for the real world.

Mundelein Cons High School 5

Posted March 03, 2008
- a parent
Excellent intsitution. Go Mustangs!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mundelein Cons High School
1350 West Hawley Street, Mundelein, IL  60060
(847) 949-2200
Last modified Mundelein Cons High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mundelein Cons High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top