Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Naperville North High School

Public | PK, 9-12 | 3140 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2007

As a parent, I find NNHS to be lacking in integrity, moral value, and high standards. The leadership is poor and I feel that the students are given busy work instead of school work. I am very happy that the kids are just about out of this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

I graduated from NNHS in 2005, and I am so lucky to have done so. I am now at Purdue University, and I feel so much better prepared than many of my friends, and I certainly credit that to North. I am also currently teacher-observing as part of my elementary education degree, and I am so much more appreciative of what I had both at North and in District 203. I always thought NNHS was just another high school, I knew we performed well and were a good school to attend, but I had never compared it to anyone outside of the Naperville area. I now see just how excellent of an education I received thanks to District 203, but also from North.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 13, 2006

I graduated from NNHS in 1998 and was very happy with the experience. I do think that both North and Central are getting overcrowded now (my younger brother goes to Naperville Central). I felt that I was very prepared for college, much more so than other students in my college classes. NNHS offers many extracurricular activies. I participated in the music program, a community service organization and the Youth in Government program. The teachers are extremely dedicated. My parents moved us to Naperville from the south side of Chicago so I could have a more challenging academic experience, and I am very thankful that they did because I found that experience at Naperville North.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 14, 2006

I was very happy at NNHS and feel that it prepared me well for undergraduate and post graduate work.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 25, 2006

Naperville North High School, is an excellent school. Its acedemic program is top-notch, with courses varying greatly, such that everyone can enjoy something special to him or her. For examples, there are the Music/Fine arts- orchestra/and countless art classes, Foreign Language- spanish, french, german,latin, and next year mandarin chinese, business/tech-electronics, comp. programming, and other core subjects-math, science, english, and humanities. Same goes to the extracurricular activities. With anything imaginable including evironmental club, anime club, debate,...etc. Same goes to sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2006

The academics and the support staff are excellent. The school provides every opportunity for students and the support staff helps them to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2005

Naperville North offers an exceptionally high quality of academic programs and extracurricular programs for its students. Parents are involved and students are successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

High quality school.High parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

This school provides great opportunity to every student with vast selection of high quality AP classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

Naperville North is a school that offers numerous extra curricular activities for both athletes and musicians. The teachers there are also very well trained and are loved by the students. The school's facilities need improvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2004

One of the best high schools in the country in every aspect. Great athletics. Great academics. Great location. Better than all private schools in aera. Give your child the 'gift' of attending NNHS.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female80%
Male79%
Black28%
Asian91%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial78%
Native Americann/a
White84%
Low income45%
Non-low income86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female86%
Male76%
Black37%
Asian85%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial67%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Low income43%
Non-low income88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)37%
Students without disabilities85%
English language learners25%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female81%
Male80%
Black39%
Asian87%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial78%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Low income46%
Non-low income87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities85%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

25

Graduation rate

96%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 4%
Hispanic 8% 24%
Black 5% 18%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

899 Mill Street
Naperville, IL 60563
Website: Click here
Phone: (630) 420-6484

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ss Peter & Paul School
Naperville, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT