Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bethany Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 258 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Naperville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $337,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

My son is in his first year at the school and we love it. The staff is friendly and caring. My son has learned so much more than we believe he would have in a typical public school. We have yet to experience any cliquishness in general. I will say that the stay at home moms do seem to take over at times but I believe that would happen in any school. The teachers we have interacted with are wonderful, caring, and dedicated. If everything goes as well as it is now, we will be sending all of the kids here through 8th grade. They say it takes a village to raise a child. I have no doubt that this one will help us raise ours into amazing adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

We love this school! My two sons are enrolled and we plan on keeping them throughout 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE LEADERSHIP AND PASTOR OF THIS SCHOOL. LET SOMEONE ELSE LEAD AND TEACH YOUR CHILDREN. YOU DON'T WANT THEM TO LEARN THE LESSONS TAUGHT HERE. UNLESS OF COURSE YOU SET ASIDE THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND MANY HOURS FOR THE THERAPISTS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

The school is good, at least better than average public school. However, if you child needs extra attention/help, I would not recommend this school. Not all teachers are good, what is very frustrating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

I am truly thankful that I had the opportunity to help out in so many different ways this year. Thank you to the staff for allowing us to be involved in such a great amount of activities, it is appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2012

Lots of coordinated 5-star postings, encouraged by the principal, but the reality is different. Not as bad as the disgruntled reviews either, but parents should be warned: the school is very cliquy and the church is cultish. There is certainly some good education going on here, and I was also impressed with the dedication of several of the teachers. But the environment is very dysfunctional, and many of their best teachers have left over the years as the congregation has embraced an extreme theological position. This contributes to the cliquishness of the school, I think, as parents who don't want to be marked or labeled as "impure" don't' know whom to trust. Like I said, it is a dysfunctional and unhealthy environment. I would also add that even though this is Christian school, there is not much teaching of Christian morality and ethics. The teaching here is pretty much that because Jesus died for your sins you can do anything that pleases you. So in an odd way they are so conservative about worship and doctrine they wind up incubating rather libertine kids. Those with hardcore LCMS roots may want this, but I think there are many better options out there for most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

A wonderful place for a well rounded Christian education. Very talented staff, attentive principal and an awesome church that supports it's school. Lots of opportunities to be involved and truly partner with teachers to educate your child. My children truly love this church and school as do I!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

this school /church had some great disrupt a while ago where I understand many people left. Like half I think... There is just way too much drama here for the good of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2012

Going on our 7th year at Bethany & couldn't ask for a better school to send our kids to. Fantastic faculty & staff! They've developed great friendships and have blossomed in the classroom as well. Bethany offers a wide variety of extra curricular activities as well as family activities throughout the school year. A++++++++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2012

I was a student here for three years, and through all of them I was bullied. I had hoped it would get better as the years went on, but it didnt. The faculty thing about it. It got so bad I switched schools, and nobody would be friends with me because I was a new kid and nobody was nice at all. I would definently NOT RECCOMEND THIS SCHOOL!


Posted April 30, 2012

wow - so many coordinated positive reviews all at once. wow. Our family was not happy and do not agree with these positive ratings at all. Our children are worse for the wear after experiencing things at this school. It seems to us that if you are in their little club you are fine but when you see things that are wrong and speak up - this is where the trouble starts. We did not see "individual education" we saw favoritism. Good luck to any decent people who choose to send their babies here for a Christian education. They are better off learning about God from their loved ones and a decent church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

As an educator myself I choose this private Christian school for my child very carefully and I have not been disappointed. The staff are highly educated and very caring and dedicated. The principal is accessible and motivated. The school is small and that was important to us..public education with vast classrooms just simply cannot compete with individual education received at this school. The fine arts programs (which were lacking at some of the other similar private schools in the area) are unsurpassed here. All around could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

Christ centered and bible believing, with a committed staff. What more could a parent want?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

The dedication of the teachers and the administration is remarkable. At Bethany there is true school pride on the part of the students, faculty and families. A Christ centered education at Bethany provides a firm foundation in faith to build their life on. The curriculum is challenging and the music and art programs are very impressive. The environment is very warm, welcoming and nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

Our son's experience at Bethany was outstanding!!! The school was welcoming and felt like a fmaily. The high level of academic excellence at the school made his move from Bethany to Naperville Central almost seamless. Their emphasis on the arts, sports, and the strong spiritual foundation all contributed to his well-rounded education at Bethany.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

Excellent leadership and top notch academics that easily compare to the nearby Naperville schools. Prep for HS is great and teachers are helpful. School to home communication is great compared to most other schools. Highly recommend it- our 2 children are grads.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

My two children attended and graduated from Bethany and were very prepared for high school. The academics at BLS are great and the staff is very helpful. They develop the whole person and truly prepare them for the challenges of high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

I am so impressed with the caring Christ center environment that Bethany has provided for my children. Even in this economy the investment is worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

great -dedicated teachers wonderful learning enviroment
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 51%
Black 5% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Hispanic 3% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pamela Mueller
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1550 Modaff Road
Naperville, IL 60565
Phone: (630) 355-6607

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Owen Elementary School
Naperville, IL



Lincoln Jr High School
Naperville, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT