Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Colene Hoose Elementary School 1

Posted June 12, 2013
- a parent
Bullying is tolerated. Many more issues beyond that, but I think new parents would appreciate knowing this. I can't for the life of me figure out whople like this school.

Colene Hoose Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2012
- a parent
Colene Hoose is a great school. I've had two kids go from K-5 here and my youngest will start in Fall 2012. I have been involved in the classroom, on field trips, and help out for special events. The teachers are caring and teach using different methods for all learning types. Both of my boys are kinesthetic learners (hands-on) and I appreciate the extra effort to incorporate this into the daily curriculum. All the teachers will give extra help to a student who needs it. This school has so much to offer I would not consider sending my kids anywhere else. A special appreciation to 1st grade teacher Joanne Schumacher who took my reluctant learner (that's an understatement) and started him on the path to where he is today as an A/B student enrolling in high school honors classes.


Colene Hoose Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
This school now holds an amazing program that fit the bill with my very young son who in the start of Kindergarten last year was put through the ringer the entire year. Now that he's at Colene, he's almost caught back up and is thought of as a person not as an issue on a daily basis. We love Colene Hoose for being such a great school in such a tough district for children with special needs! :) A BIG thank you to Alli Essig for being such an amazing teacher!

Colene Hoose Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2011
- a teacher
Colene Hoose is a fantastic school with a top notch staff. We work extremely hard to make sure all of our students have the very best experience while here. We care not only about curriculum and test scores but about establishing a sense of community, safety, and involvement with students and their families. We encourage parent participation at every level and ask for it throughout the school year.

Colene Hoose Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has studied at Hoose for 2 yrs and 2 months, and has enjoyed every bit of it. She has been in the Hoose chess club and has participated in several chess tournaments. I have seen and experienced a great community and volunteer sense here, and there is a huge scope for parental involvement. The school has exceeded our expectations and remains our favorite school. We recently relocated, and had to leave the school. We miss this environment very much and will highly recommend this school to anyone.


Colene Hoose Elementary School 1

Posted November 12, 2010
- a parent
As a very involved parent I know first-hand how this school is run - like an institution such as a prison, or the army. Children are shouted out, spoken to in a disrespectful manner and are given very little freedom to be children. Teachers do not encourage parent participation and the school essentially creates a barrier between parents and the school. There is no sense of community. The curriculum and teaching takes a back seat to the enforcement of discipline. I have to wonder if the other reviewers actually spent much time at the school during teaching hours to witness what is really going on.

Colene Hoose Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2010
- a parent
Top notch school. The teachers are exceptional and caring. The administrators are experienced and fair. Great sense of community. The other schools we have had our children in to not compare!

Colene Hoose Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2008
- a parent
Excellent school! Very involved teachers. Great learning environment!


Colene Hoose Elementary School 4

Posted September 24, 2006
- a parent
The coverage of different Language, Math and other subjects is quite extensive, with reasonable homework to strengthen the kid's skills.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Colene Hoose Elementary School
600 Grandview Drive, Normal, IL  61761
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (309) 862-3440
Last modified Colene Hoose Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top