Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Chicago Community High School

Public | 9-12 | 775 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2012

Military families....... Think before you move into "housing" first of all it is not military housing because anyone can live here. The schools from elementary to high school is horrible your kids will be behind in everything and the personnel are very unprofessional. This school is the most unorganized place on the planet. Just be warned when you move here there are better places to live in so please do your research!!!! --Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

Please do NOT allow your child to attend this school. A lot of military families don't know how bad the school is when they move to the area. It was one of the biggest mistakes of my life allowing my child to attend this school. I pray for the people of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Well I think this school is great not onli because they help theyre students but because the have great teachers that not inli care about students but help them and yea they need more help but once again it's not onli the staff's fault t's also students that dont understand the true meaning off school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

this school is bad, it needs better teachers and counslers. the reason is because they are always suspending, and expelling students and that effects their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

North Chicago High School needs to be completely revamped from the bottom to the top. The implementation of new leadership at the high school appears to be a last ditch effort to save the failing high school from state takeover. This will be the ultimate test and is one of many problems that has plagued the high school for years; lack of effective leadership, care and concern for children with special needs, stability among teachers and administrators, and lack of parental involvement are just a few of the issues you as a parent or student will face this school year. My question to the principal is what is the strategy to raise the scores of the underachieving students to the standard that No Child Left Behind has set? That information should be available to the public, especially our parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 30, 2006

This school is horrible. My son went here for all of his high school years, and yeah he did great, but the school and administration were horrible. They worried TOO MUCH about the uniform and not enough about the education at the school. I would not recommend this school to anyone until they clean up their act.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2005

This school is just mediocre. It's not bad education-wise, but its atmosphere is unpleasant.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2005

Greg J. Graduated 2003 I am an alumnus of North Chicago High and I can honestly say that I did everything I could to get out of that place. There were so many problems that I don t know where to begin. Security: Never seemed secure when I could have easily gotten a weapon through the same way I would get my CD player through. The bag checks are a joke people. Teachers: With the exception of a FEW, I believe that many of them had a genuine interest in the students. I know I had to grab hold on tight to the few that I knew would be beneficial for me. Extracurricular Activities: Just a way to forget that your school is failing on a large scale. There are many of them, sure. But who wants to represent a school that values the basketball, football, and track teams more than its education?
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 25, 2005

I am a sophmore student at NCCHS and I just have to comment on the things that people are saying about the school. First of all, it's not the best school in the world but it has some of the best educators I have ever seen. They continue to stay commited to the students, giving them help and tutoring after school hours and make sure that what is taught is fully understood by all of the students in the class. The security does show favortism towards students known personally, but that's life, who doesn't show favortism? The extra programs they offer are nice and express the many talents that students at NCCHS possess. If you want to give your kids a taste of real life and not a sugar coated version of it, send your child here. And don't worry, not all of us here are idiots, we actually average alot of 3.5 gpa's. -Jazzmine Williams '07
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2005

The worst school I have ever seen! Ebonics is an exceptable form of communication (spoken by staff) Uniform code is a joke, EVERY time I have gone to the school I have seen kids in 'brand name' shoes with all the markings(supposed to be black with no markings) kids in t-shirts and even undershirts,not the required collared polo shirt. The office looses everything, and takes no responsibility Teacher should not even be there (most). they don't want to be there so why pay them to be. We PAY (100+ registration fee) for our daughter to attend this school that has failed and not shown any improvement in the NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND program This school offers nothing any student. They send out mailing about programs, only to have then not be implemented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

I am currently a student here at North Chicago and would say it is one of the worst schools I have ever attended. With an exception of a few teachers, the rest of the staff is appalling, expecially the security! The security guards allow students they know personally to get away with things that other students would not! The teachers show favoritism. The entire school system is unfair and it needs some serious adjustment. If you are considering sending your child here, I would highly suggest you find another school unless you want your child to uneducated. Attending North Chicago Community High School is one of my biggest regrets!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2005

I'm a 1997 graduate of NCCHS. My parents recently relocated so my brother would not have to attend NCCHS. While the district does have a lack-luster reputation, I can say that it has improved greatly. There's an increased amount of extra-curriculars. What the schools need more of is active NON-MILITARY parent involvement! Your child's education is just as dependent on YOUR involvement as it is the educators. Schools perform according to parents expectations. Most parents in this district don't have any. Nor do they show support. How many parents attend athletic, music or art events? Attend conferences? Active in the PTO? Boosters? Bake Sales? There are excellent teachers in the district, especially at the high school level. The district could also use more military funding, given they comprise 1/3 the district's population. Bottom line, taking an interest in your childs education could be the very thing this district needs.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 19, 2005

(2004-2008) i am a student at ncchs the school is not bad but some of the teacher are the worst.the njrotc program is one of the best program to have your kid in its teachs them displin and it help them with personal problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2004

I was a student here and, yes, some teachers are decent but the school is the worst! I've been to only one other HS which was a palace compared to NCCHS, and it was in the city. This school is not the place you want your children if you love them. The ROTC is not bad as long as you become committed because the staff will give you all you need if you wish to join the military. I was very unfortunate to graduate for this school and this is the only regret I have in life. I hear form persent students that the principal this year is much more concerned but it will take years of these types of principals to bring this school up to standards.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 3, 2004

I attended this school from 2000 to 2003, I have attended a variety of schools before that because I come from a military family. This school is not as bad as the rumors that go around make it out to be. Granted it isn't the best school in the world but some of the best teachers I ever had were faculty of this school. The principles were all terrible but the school was decent. Keep your kids out of the NJROTC program it has gone downhill in terms of instructors and discipline.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 21, 2003

I have had my children in this district for five years, and cannot begin to explain the numberous problems.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
11%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
12%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students12%
Female11%
Male14%
Black7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income11%
Non-low income17%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities12%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students18%
Female22%
Male14%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income16%
Non-low income31%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities20%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students10%
Female8%
Male12%
Black7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income8%
Non-low income21%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities10%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 18%
Hispanic 46% 23%
White 2% 51%
Asian 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Eric Gallagher

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1717 17th Street
North Chicago, IL 60064
Phone: (847) 578-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Lake Forest High School
Lake Forest, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT