Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Trier Township H S Northfield

Public | 9 | 1078 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2009

I currently attend this school, and while it's not perfect, it's definitely a nice place to be. I have yet to encounter this diversity issue others have brought up, and the size problem. Sure, the staircases get a bit crowded, but teacher student ratio is excellent and you can always ask your teacher for extra help. If you'd like to learn in a more logistical way, enroll in a lower level course--that's what they're for, while higher levels assume the information is already learned by the students and teaching is more vague. Students have cliques, but get along and I would like to see a high school where everyone gets along. It is the student's job to find themselves because its a simulation of real life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2008

I am currently a student at Northfield, and after reading all of the previous reviews I am shocked. The diversity issue is non existent. The are all kinds of kids enrolled at Northfield this year, and I am not just talking about white kids and asian kids who normally dominate the class. In my advisory alone their are three different kids who immigrated from another country, not just have parents from a different culture. The school has also been putting all the freshman through names day which is a really moving experience, where your peers stand up at open mike and talk about how bullying and name calling have hurt them during their school years. That really helped with an issue that occurred after getting assimilated into our new school with kids we had never met. Name calling in bullying is not an issue here at Northfield.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2008

NT is way too big. Far too many opportunities for kids to fall through the cracks. The sports are highly competitive and there are so many kids that you are competing with a huge number for just a few spots on a team. The classes are very large so there is not a lot of in depth discussions during class and the burden is on the student to do the work at home. If the school were to split into two campuses again it would be a much more manageable situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

This school is A plus and has so much to offer students with a variety of interests, whether they be sports, arts, social service, politics, academics, etc. The teachers really care about the students and are very available for extra help. They expect the students to be proactive in getting assistance which which helps prepare them to be independent in college and in life. i wish I had all that New Trier has to offer when I was in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

New Trier is the least innovative, least interesting school in the area by far, and it does not surprise me in the slightest that it is never listed in anyone's top school list, anymore. the school is way too large, anyway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Despite all the rhetoric about the wide-ranging course options you child will have, just TRY to find a course for the World History requirement that teaches traditional, chronological history, without silly projects and with special emphasis on the culture we are ALL members of, western civilization. Nope, doesn't exist: it's their way or the highway. Or, try to find English courses that emphasize grammar and writing, with literature choices dominated by a time-tested canon and free of blatant ideological bias. Nope again. (Try not to gag on the description of the required junior year English course.) Try to get anyone to show you how well NT achieves, NOT on the basis on grade points and test scores (highly determined by the training and family preparation of the kids that the school starts with) but rather on value-added assessment (VAA). Finally, worry about the superintendent's talk about needing more constructivism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2005

I am a student at New Trier. All though it is a great school, the diversity of our school is unbeliveable. I came from WHJS and there was one black child in the grade. The transition is a shocking one seeing that more than half of the students are white and the rest are most likly asian. The school should try to enroll a more diverse crowd.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2004

I believe New Trier school is an excellent school to put your children into. It's one of the top schools in the nation(public). It has thousands of programs despite what the previous parent said about diversity. Their special education program for the extremely disabled is excellent. They have one on one aids for each child and make the children feel as normal as possible. They have just gotten a new principal who is in fact changing things around a bit. The school rules are much more strict and children are unable to get away with name calling with out recieving a breakfast club. Espicially with security in every single hallway.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

Putting all 14 year olds in the district in one large school is a very bad idea. Bullying, racial harrassment and gay bashing are very common and ignored by teachers. The leadership at this school denies there are any problems and because students only attend for one year, it is difficult to get problems addressed since the administration's attitude is 'ship them to Winnetka' (for grades 10-12) rather than address anything in the 9th grade. The special education programs are particularly poorly run compared to Winnetka's elementary schools (which are administered by a different school district).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 51%
Asian 8% 4%
Hispanic 4% 23%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7 Happ Road
Northfield, IL 60093
Phone: (847) 446-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Loyola Academy
Wilmette, IL


Arlyn Day School
Wilmette, IL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT