Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Leyden High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
My kids are in all honors classes, and they do their homework on their free period. Which to me is strange because when i attended high school I would come home with loads of homework.

West Leyden High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
If the child doesn't have the drive themselves, and they aren't being pushed at home, I don't feel the school makes that much difference.


West Leyden High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
With the diversity of ethnicities in this school, there is no other way than to respect your fellow student and peers.

West Leyden High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
The school is fair and everyone has an equal chance to succeed. If you want to coast in high school, no matter which school it may be, you won't get far.

West Leyden High School 5

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
My two children go to West Leyden. They have ample opportunities to join clubs, sports and even volunteer programs. The school offers honors and AP classes. I am not sure why the reviews are low, but your child needs to have the drive to succeed because if they can't handle high school they won't make it to or even through college. You get into your education what you put into it, if your child is lazy then they won't go far.


West Leyden High School 1

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
i don't know how i feel about this school anymore. i attended leyden and graduated back in '87. things have surely changed. my sophomore now attends guerin prep.

West Leyden High School 5

Posted September 21, 2012
- a student
west leyden as of this year started the chrome book computer which all the kids love there studys are done on this and its very helpfull to them also if they miss an assignment on account of being sick there teachers communicate through this computer of there homework assignments they have to do that way they dont miss there assignments at all the teachers are very great and always there to help out what schools out there have the chromebook computer.

West Leyden High School 5

Posted September 14, 2012
- a student
I love it here at Leyden. I'm in the honors program and i have to say that the teachers are great, their classes are engaging and they give lots of their time before and after school to helping students. We have great elective choices. There are many choices for extracurricular activities and sports. most of the sports are no cut so everyone can have a chance to play. Sure there are some bad kids, but they aren't there for long and let's face it there are bad kids everywhere.


West Leyden High School 5

Posted March 07, 2012
- a teacher
Great school, great kids, great teachers, great leadership! Students from surrounding districts are constantly trying to enroll at West Leyden.

West Leyden High School 4

Posted May 17, 2011
- a student
I was a student at West Leyden back in 2008. I thought West Leyden was a great high school compare to the other 2 i have been to. The teachers, principal, and administrative force were always helpful. Teachers used to stay long hours to help students succeed with thier homeworks, tests, and even provided personal life conflict assistance. Overall, it was a above average school and I greatly recommend students who are reading this message to consider this school as a great opportunity if you want to succeed. P.S - there were some bad students too but you can't run away from them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Leyden High School
1000 North Wolf Rd, Northlake, IL  60164
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (847) 451-3154
Last modified West Leyden High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top