Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Southwest Chicago Christian School

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oak Lawn

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $134,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2014

This is the best school in the area! We would not send our children to any other school. There is peace in our hearts as Parents to know that our children are in a safe,loving environment for the most hours of the day. They are very strong on academics and a big PLUS in this school is their commitment to follow through in teaching and modeling Christian values that we want our kids to learn.Our children are in full bloom, happy and thriving well here. We appreciate Southwest Chicago Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

THIS SCHOOL IS EXCELLENT. A GREAT, LOVING LEARNING ENVIRONMENT. IT HAS BEEN A BLESSING HAVING MY CHILDREN EDUCATED HERE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

SWCCS is family. You can't help but feel the love and committment to a Christ-centered education running through this family. We are so blessed to have this wonderful family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

I love Southwest Chicago Christian School because it provides a high quality christian education. The teachers are dedicated and awesome! I give it 5 Stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

We love Southwest Chicago Christian for so many things, the Christian environment, the outstanding academics, but mostly because of the wonderful teachers and staff! They love and care for our kids as if they were their own. There is no price for peace of mind in knowing that your children are receiving a quality education in a genuine Christian environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

As a graduate of SWCS there was no question as to where to send our son when he started kindergarten. We have not regretted our decision. The love and Christian spirit of the teachers is outstanding. He comes home everyday with some example of what our school stands for...a christ centered education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

I grew up in this school, and now I am watching a second generation go there also. It has made me the person that I am today. I love the small enviroment for teaching in that each child recieves the attention that they need. The parents play a huge part in this school and that is why we have the success we do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

Christ centered education with caring teachers and administration! I attended this school in the 1970's and wouldn't want my kids attending any other school. Scripture tells us - "Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it." Proverbs 22:6. I think that says it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

The "family" at Southwest Chicago Christian School in Oak Lawn is as important as the high standard of education and outstanding extra curricular. The teachers know and love and pray for our children alongside teaching them. I would send my children to no other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

I love the diversity at SCCS Oak Lawn. Families come from many different geographical areas, different denominations, and different backgrounds, yet all share a love of Jesus Christ and a belief that all areas of life belong to God. The children are educated, not just to make a difference in God's world in the future, but in recognition that even at a young age, they are part of God's Kingdom and have something to contribute.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

It is so important to me to have my children at a place where they continue to learn and study all the ideas that we have at home - all our values and Christianity is reinforced. They learn to grown in Christ in all aspects of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

Great school with the best faculty I've ever met. It is apparent that these teachers love teaching, and that helps the kids love learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

It is a very caring, christian school. Definitely the best school on the southwest side to send your child. Check it out. You'll love our principal and staff and will wind up enrolling your child at Southwest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

Our daughter is physically handicapped so we never thought we'd be able to send her to a private school without losing all the accomations necessary for her educational enhancement. The principal and staff have made our dream of a Christian education a reality with their unbelievable dedication to work with our daughter. Also the parent involvement opportunities and level of communication between school and home are amazing. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

The teachers and staff have done an outstanding job in instilling a love of learning in the children. My daughter wakes up every morning wanting to go to school. The teachers are the best and they genuinely love each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

I love Chicago Southwest Christian School for many reasons. The students, parents, and staff are nice, friendly, and God-fearing people. My daughter has developed some very meaningful friendships at school. My daughter is absolutely stimulated and excited by what she is learning. She loves the variety of subject matters she is exposed to such as music, Spanish, math, science, history, computer class, library, art, etc.... She also loves the after school activities and looks forward to returning to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

The dedication of the teachers and staff, and the incorporation of Christ into every aspect of education are unsurpassed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

This school prepares hearts and minds for excellence. Southwest Christian demonstrates the true spirit of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

My husband and I enrolled our son for his first year at SWCCS as he was starting 4th grade. The love and care this school provides to him and to us is remarkable. We appreciate the time the Teachers spend helping the students to learn everything that God has given to us on this earth. Our son is so happy to be going there and so are we. We are truly blessed that we can send him there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

I love our school because it is a school where children are taught the basics of education in the light of God's word. Also, all children are treated as special.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Nate Pettinga
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Calvinist
Associations
  • CSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10110 South Central Avenue
Oak Lawn, IL 60453
Phone: (708) 423-0150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT