Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
153 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Edmund Parish School 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a community member
Saint Edmund school is a rare academic and diverse environment. Today it was announced it will close after the 2015-2016 school year. Thanks to its pastor Fr. John McGivern and its top notch faculty, students are leaving a wonderful legacy of beautiful hearts and minds. Gratitude to all in the school and parish who consistently supported the school and its mission over the years.

St Edmund Parish School 2

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
I was not impressed with the school. The class had 23 in pre K3 to one teacher and one add. This seems very excessive Especially for a private school. The school needs lots of updating. From facilities to amenities this school is very antiquated. I feel there are much better choices in the area that are actually more economical. My son is now attending st. Vincent's. We are very happy with at St. Vincent's. Live and learn. P.S. The mandatory fund raising at St.Edmunds is costly and aggravating.


St Edmund Parish School 3

Posted December 26, 2013
- a parent
My child attended PK3 and was rather shy, as it was her first school experience. I found the teacher (Ms. Andrea) to be very knowledgable, but not compassionate and nurturing enough for my daughter. The ratio of 20 kids to 1 teacher, plus an aide seems too much for that age range. My child might not be the norm, as other parents say their kids are thriving there, although it is rather universally understood that the school does not practice a nurturing style of teaching and discipline. That's what disappoints me the most about this school- they are rather stuck in the old-school catholic education mentality (based on my childhood experience going to Catholic school) compared to what I've seen at my son's former school- where they were very compassionate and nurturing and engaging with the children. Overall, it may be OK for some outgoing, confident, secure 3 & 4-years-olds, but I was disappointed. They want to improve enrollment so bad, and do a TON of fundraising, but really need modern approach to teaching PK - it's way too structured for 3 & 4 year-olds. You really need to know what environment your child needs... if they need reassuring, encouragement or support, look elsewhere

St Edmund Parish School 1

Posted April 11, 2013
- a community member
St Edmund is not a good school. The current principal is oblivious to what is going on at St Edmund. The teachers are mediocre and the office staff is rude. Politics plays a big role at the expense of your child's education.

St Edmund Parish School 5

Posted January 12, 2013
- a parent
Saint Edmund's offers a very high level of academics with incredible diversity and nurturing faculty all in the heart of Oak Park. A most affordable pre, post school program is available with balance of play/socialization, homework and physical exercise. Student camaraderie from Pre-K-8 is positively unique. Any turnover has been for the better with current principal and faculty as top notch. From the many excellent public/ private school choices in the area, our children's social, academic progress keeps us committed to St. Edmund's.


St Edmund Parish School 2

Posted May 19, 2011
- a parent
My kids were enrolled in St. Edmund's and unfortunately, the experience has not been as positive as I expected. There's been a lot of turn-over in terms of teachers and they were very slow to hire another teacher for a large class. I think the teaching style is not the most nurturing, especially with kids that may be more shy/reserved or at different developmental stages. The environment is very rigid, overly structured and focused on completing a lot of worksheets. It also becomes less diverse as you get into the upper grades and the culture of the school is not the most energetic. It feels like it's in a state of decline.

St Edmund Parish School
no rating

Posted March 16, 2009
- a student
I love going to St. Edmund. We get time in class to actually finish our work. We have team spirit. Plus everyone is just helpful

St Edmund Parish School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
St. Edmund is a great school for my child.The classes are small and the teahers are helpful and involed with the student's education. The classes are diverse and all the classmates get along great. St.Edmund is a great enviorment for any child.


St Edmund Parish School 4

Posted December 06, 2006
- a parent
The school is a fantastic diverse mix rolled into a loving nurturing environment. I have been blessed to have my child grow and learn from the many teachers,parents and class mates who all care for the well being of each other. Everyone does their best for the children, and it shows in them like a beacon. My family has been truly blessed by having our children go to St. Edmund School in Oak Park.

St Edmund Parish School 5

Posted September 27, 2006
- a parent
St. Edmund's is a unique place providing high quality, individualized education for its students. A 12-1 student-teacher ratio, a partnership with Dominican University, and a beautifully diverse student population make it a very special to educate my children. It is a warm , welcoming place. I highly recommend it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Edmund Parish School
200 South Oak Park Avenue, Oak Park, IL  60302
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (708) 386-5131
Last modified St Edmund Parish School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top