Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Rockford, IL
Students enrolled: 130

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montessori Private Academy 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
My son have been in this school since pre-k and he is in 3rd grad now. We have no complaints for this school. The teachers and all the stuffs are wonderful. Montessori Private Academy is the best school.

Montessori Private Academy 5

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
Our child has been at Montessori Private Academy since 2007 & will be an 8th grader in the fall. He has been receiving an excellent academic education and continues to love learning, due to the hard work and dedication of the staff. The students learn responsibility, respect for others, and other skills needed in society. It is well-rounded learning. The middle school teacher has kept the students excited about learning by tapping into their creativity and imagination, sometimes combining arts with science, literature, or history. They become comfortable with public speaking by presenting their work to classmates and other classes, using PowerPoint or other software. They work hard, using and perfecting time management skills learned early on in their education to complete assignments. The new administrator has a strong Montessori background, with fresh ideas and good organizational skills. We find him to be a great asset to the school. By developing a strong sense of self, social skills, and receiving excellent guidance and academics, we feel that students are well prepared for what lies ahead in high school and beyond.


Montessori Private Academy 5

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
Both of my children have been going to MPA for over 7 years now, and we feel that we have made the best investment in our children's future that we can by sending them here. We are so happy to have our kids come home each day from school and still be excited about what they have learned or accomplished. They are challenged academically but have been taught the skills and problem solving needed to meet and exceed these challenges. They have wonderful, caring, and patient teachers who truly want nothing but the best for them. Our children will continue their education here through the highest possible grade.

Montessori Private Academy 1

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
I would not recommend this school. The quality of education has declined with the new administrator and the tuition has increased. It use to be a good, safe, enjoyable place for our kids but that is changing.

Montessori Private Academy 5

Posted July 16, 2012
- a parent
We have two children at MPA. They both started when they were two and are now five and eight. We are reminded by them each day during the summer how much they enjoy the learning experiences, the staff and the environment. They can t wait to go back in the Fall. We didn t know anything about a Montessori education when we were looking for schools, but are now big believers. Our children have benefited greatly from the multi-age classrooms and the opportunities to learn at their own pace. They love being able to focus on one topic or project for an extended period until they have mastered it. It s great preparation for the real world . The testing we ve done outside of school shows them to be well ahead of their peers in more traditional schools. Their staff has gotten stronger each year. The new principal has taken time to meet with us and we are big fans of his approach to communication with us. Parents looking for a safe, friendly, learning environment with great staff and a beautiful campus should consider this school.


Montessori Private Academy 5

Posted June 15, 2012
- a parent
We currently have 2 children enrolled at MPA, one 3-year-old transitioning from the Young Child classroom into Early Childhood and one 6-year-old going from Early Childhood to Elementary I (1st grade). We have been thrilled with the quality of education they are receiving. They are enthusiastic about learning and I can see how the independence that is a focus there comes through at home now too. My son loves learning Spanish as well as science and geography. He is also eager to read and loves the math works. My daughter loves the variety of works available and is developing empathy for her peers. I can see how proud she is of her accomplishments and how eager she is to share what she has done at school and to help at home as well. We have been very pleased with the teachers and all of the support staff. We are big advocates for MPA and will continue to send our children there as long as we possibly can.

Montessori Private Academy 5

Posted May 23, 2012
- a parent
My son is in the Young Child program (for 2 & 3 year olds) at Montessori Private Academy. He absolutely loves the school and his teachers. In fact, he often asks to stay late to participate in the after care program. And as parents, we couldn't be more thrilled with the school's faculty and staff. The facility is new and clean and the classrooms have the most amazing, hands-on learning environments. We recently observed the Early Childhood classrooms (for 3 to 6 year olds)--where our son will be next year--it is amazing to watch the children work. They are excited, focused, and self-motivated. They work well independently and in groups. They are respectful and kind toward one another. My son has absolutely blossomed at Montessori Private Academy. There is nothing more rewarding than when our son says, I love school!

Montessori Private Academy 5

Posted November 27, 2011
- a teacher
Montessori Private Academy is a great, intimate school in an excellent location. The staff members are kind, qualified, and make the school a fun place to learn. They go above and beyond to ensure students are learning and succeeding in their education. The school's environment is very inviting and warm. Students help one another and there is a "family" feel upon entering the school. The teachings of Maria Montessori are well in place here and the children are happy and engaged. This is a top-notch school!


Montessori Private Academy 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
My daughter started pre-school this fall at MPA. The difference I have seen in her is fantastic. Her manners have improved, she is asking more questions about the world and demonstrating that she is learning. Her school building is new and beautiful. The instructresses are very nice. They have a very active and involved parent community.

Montessori Private Academy 5

Posted December 27, 2010
- a parent
Extraordinary Staff and Programming. We are extremely pleased with the quality of education and compassionate teachers and staff. The focus on each child's needs as an individual as well as part of their larger classroom community fosters a type of learning that is overlooked in many educational settings. The caring staff and teachers are continuously developing their skills through continuing education and workshops. The care compassion shown to each child by all staff members - not just their own teachers, is incredible. Although this school follows authentic Montessori principles, we have been pleased to see the development of additional programming in sports, arts, technology, and music. Frequent field trips both in school and out - provide additional learning opportunities that excite our children. Our children love this school, their teachers and the beautiful building. We believe that the Montessori methods taught at this school will help lay the foundation for excellence in education in whatever path our children decide to follow. Our family could not ask for a better place for our children to learn and grow.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Private Academy
8101 Sayer Road, Rockford, IL  61108
(815) 332-8101
Last modified Montessori Private Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Montessori Private Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top