Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Charles North High School 1

Posted December 18, 2015
- a student
This place was absolutely awful. Graduate and go experience life somewhere else. There is an entire world out there and not every community is full of as many fakes as this one.

St Charles North High School 2

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Freshman who are not naturally outgoing get lost and looked over. My child has been at North for 3-4 weeks and there is 0 support for students who struggle socially, and the kids are not nice. My child hates it, even though her grades have been consistently a 4.0


St Charles North High School 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter loves the school. She's in sports, peer leadership and multiple other clubs. She's very involved and enjoys going to school. I do agree with the person who said there is more emphasis on athletics than academics at this school.

St Charles North High School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a student
This School is excellent and is most definitely one of the best schools in the nation. This is shown with it being a blue ribbon school and constantly being ranked as a top school. Having attended this school, I can say that it is absolutely great and my 2 siblings would say the same. There are of course some problems, such as the overall quality of education, teacher quality, and organization of learning, but these are not problems that are worse here than any other U.S school. In fact, I would say these issues are better at St.Charles North than 90% or more of U.S schools. Any problems stated in other reviews (such as poor special needs services, student attitudes, etc.) are not issues taken with STC North (which it is actually very good at) but with the nearby community or the organization of education in the United States in general. I guarantee you, if you are looking to send your child to school nearby, St.Charles North is the best place to choose.

St Charles North High School 3

Posted July 23, 2012
- a parent
Having multiple children going thru North, I can say that there are some FANTASTIC teachers who take the time to work with the students and help them understand the subject matter. Unfortunately, there are also some teachers who just shouldn't be there. They do not show professionalism nor respect when dealing with students. I have had to call out one female pe teacher on two occassions for the way she be-littled my son and he wasn't even in her class. I am a very involved parent and volunteer where I can, however, I am considering sending my youngest to another high school as I am not sure North is worth the money they charge.


St Charles North High School 5

Posted November 16, 2010
- a parent
I look at these reviews and most that are bad have a common theme. Either their children have special needs or they feel the environment is too competitive. All I can say is that this is an exceptional school and no school can provide and or cater to the needs of every student. I am sure and have had the privilege of using some of those special services if they are need. You get out of it what you put into it and the school district has programs for those students if they need it. You may have to drive your kids to a different location but the services are there. As far as being competitive, all I can say is wait until you see college and let s not forget the work force. The children need to be exposed to this, be accustomed to it, and take it in stride. In our brave new world competition is king. Eat or be eaten and they need to realize this ASAP. I feel the job of the school is to prepare them for real life. Protecting them from competition is no way to prepare our youth that have to compete with the youth of the world.

St Charles North High School 2

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
Disappointed on emphasis on athletics over academics and tracking of students rather than meeting their learning needs. Too many teachers sit in front of computers checking e-mail and have students "learn from each other". Why pay teachers to be there if they are not going to teach a student. No accountability for new teachers that are hired to teach courses they are not qualified for. Hard to believe this is a Blue Ribbon school.

St Charles North High School 2

Posted May 28, 2010
- a parent
My son has ADHD and requires some special education needs. Although the school has an active program and promises all the great help our son will be getting, they rarely follow through. This is so frustrating especially with the teachers who don't under stand the condition and needs. We have had to go through this every year since early grade school, so it's not just north. He actually had to go to an area wide program held in the next town where he got great help.


St Charles North High School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
The teachers and the administration put the children first when making decisions and determining policies. They truly care about all of the students.

St Charles North High School 5

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
This school offers an unbelievable amt. of support to students so they can suceed, from emotional well being to scholastic. There are clubs and more clubs and the staff will add another if a few students show interest. As a parent of a child with special needs, the amount of afterschool study grps. and tutoring is amazing, and it truly has helped my daughter. This is a school with a large student body and a bigger heart. If you hear any complaints, I believe the person truly did not want to get involved. I am greatful to the environment created by the staff and will always be proud to be a North Star parent. It is truly amazing that as a parent I can walk down the hall of a school of over 2,000 students and the staff and students greets me by name!

Nearby schools

St Charles North High School
255 Red Gate Rd, St Charles, IL  60175
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (331) 228-4400
Last modified St Charles North High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top