Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Alexander School

Private | PK-8 | 15 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Villa Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2014

The staff is "cliquish". You will notice this when you attend open house. Nobody will greet you or make eye contact. You get a strange feeling from day 1 from this place. If you volunteer to help out, you will get an email from the teacher asking you to go shopping for her class. Bizarre. You get things in your child's backpack from other kids, sometimes even lunch trash in the backpack. Terrible experience, poor quality education and odd staff. The administration seems to support mediocracy. Run for your life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Be cautious of the preschool program for 3 year olds. You want a place where they are guided and taught, and not scrutinized for typical little 3 year old behavior. There are plenty of options in the community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 26, 2013

St. Alexander School is fantastic. I went there for 8-years, graduating in the early 1990s. Our children are currently enrolled there, and they absolutely love their classmates, teachers, and principal. My St. A s experience really paid off. I went on to attend college and graduate school and now have a solid career. I attribute most of my success in life, thus far, to this school's close-knit, nurturing atmosphere and outstanding faculty. As with *any* child enrolled in *any* school, there were periodic rough patches, socially and academically, but I overcame these challenges. They made me a better, stronger person, and I am glad to have had these experiences. The school s sports program and academic trajectory has always been, at least, very good. Enrollment is increasingly, and, in particular, the class sizes of the younger grades are really expanding. This bodes well for the school and community s future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

An anonymous slanderer posted a comment on October 15, 2012, decrying the school's supposed political ideology and alleged culture of mediocrity and bullying. Saint Alexander is obviously a parochial, Catholic school but a *tolerant* Catholic school, at that. While I attended, I had Protestant classmates and a handful of peers from irreligious households whose parents sent them to St. A s solely based on its reputation as a PHENOMENAL school. These students simply did not make their sacraments with the Catholic students and graduated with their own faiths (or lack thereof) still intact. I am in touch with many of these non-Catholic former classmates, and they greatly value their experiences at St. A s. I think it says more about our anonymous slanderer than it does about St. A s that, all these years later, s/he is anonymously defaming the school on the Internet. If anonymous truly still feels that traumatized, then anonymous should seek professional help for his/her problems rather than dissuading parents from providing their children with a stellar education. In other words, this critic s problems are deeper than any issues related to this fine school. Long live St. Alexander


Posted October 15, 2012

I went here. I went here from age five to age thirteen. It was horrifying. The academic standard is terrible. The bullying culture is encouraged. My experience at this school largely contributed to my struggles with depression in early adolescence. The irresponsible track system and terrible teaching the reason I still struggle with math as a young adult. My little sister--my bright, happy, friendly little sister--was recently pulled out of this school because of intense bullying and faculty apathy. If you want your child to mingle only with the whitest and blandest America possible, participate in nothing but sub-par sports, be shamed for having interests like reading, math, or art, have a political agenda pushed on them from a young age, receive a less than satisfactory education, be targeted by their teachers, and be asked to simply "ignore" or "play nice with" their tormentors (especially when their tormentors make up four of the sixteen people in the room) despite consistent evidence of a serious bullying problem, than by ALL means, send your child here. If that's less than palatable to you, I suggest the public option.


Posted August 11, 2011

Our son attends Saint Alexander and it is truly like no other school around - a small family enviroment with teachers who truly care. Each child receives the personal attention they need to ensure they are confident and successful. I can't imagine sending my children anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

A very caring and nurturing school environment. The academic curriculum is strong and cohesive, with an emphasis on our Catholic faith. All the teachers and staff give the students the individual attention needed for both academics and social well being. A great place to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I definitely will recommend this school to anyone looking for a great education with a strong Catholic Faith behind it. The class room sizes are perfect, and the one on one attention your child receives from his/her teacher is by far the best. My son is in kdg I plan on being there till he graduates 8th grade with his brother 3 years younger to follow. St Alexander s School in Villa Park is so certain that you will love their school and the curriculum that they are offering lower tuition to all new families who enroll. Now that s worth trying. With the cost of education no a days sky rocketing it is a great thing that a school can stand behind their word and offer a excellent education, more one on one attention for your child at a affordable rate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

You will never go wrong by sending your child to St. Alexander Catholic School. My daughters love it! They actually are dissapointed to leave at the end of the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 51%
Hispanic 3% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Glenn F Purpura
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Joliet
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

136 South Cornell Avenue
Villa Park, IL 60181
Website: Click here
Phone: (630) 834-3787

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Pius X
Lombard, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT