Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waukegan High School

Public | 9-12 | 4293 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2013

I am very happy with the Washington house 4 school. My daughter is excelling and she has improved study habits and has grown as a student and a person at this school! She loves her teachers and says they are great at teaching and encouraging their students.There are also a great group of kids in house 4!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

I LOVE WAUKEGAN HIGHSCHOOL it builds friendshiip and involvment in school and there are hot guyss :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2010

I don't like this school. When I attended it was in a better standing. Now, I hear it's a horrible school to attend. But the reason, I'm voting for it, it's because it SERIOUSLY needs the money SO IT CAN IMPROVE, because I still believe in WAUKEGAN HIGH. GO BULLDOGS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

Waukegan High School can be a great school for any student. They almost got every class a student would want to take in high school. It can be a great learning experience for anyone. But like any other schools, Waukegan has its downfall. Most of the teachers there are great and know what they are talking about. Then there are those other teachers who have temper problems or just don't know how to connect with the students. Another problem are the students. There are too many ghetto kids who are a waste of space and don't want to learn. They need to get kicked out asap. And security is horrible at the school. They just sit all day doing nothing. other then that waukegan can be a AMAZING school. If these problems were fixed Waukegan would get the respect it deserves
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2009

the only students that learn anything of substance are those who seek for knowledge elsewhere
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2009

waukegan high school is the best high school ever and the basketball teams are always good i love tht school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

Waukegan High School has it's pros and cons. Then again, what school doesn't? I'm a sophmore in the College Studies Program, and I do have to say, it's great. The teachers...are exceptional. Each and every one of them is unique and they honestly care about their students. At least, my teachers do. People say that our school isn't very good, but who are they to judge? Every student that attends Waukegan High has the potential and opportunity to be great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2008

I graduated from WHS in 2007. Throughout my four years there, we had 3 (technically 4 principals) and they weren't that great. They all had their own flaws and didn't do much to try to improve the school. Teacher quality was pretty decent. I was in the College Studies Program, so of course we seemed to have better teachers. They really cared for their students' success and development as young adults. The extracurricular activities were the best! We have one of the best JROTC programs in the country along with one of the best fine arts programs in the state. Parent involvement wasn't too great, but I think that has to do with the administration not motivating the parents either. Safety was terrible (the security guards were all lazy)...we had the millions of fire alarms and the numerous bomb threats...but I do believe that WHS can improve!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2008

I'm a student at WHS. I will be a sophomore this fall. There are 2 buildings, one which only houses freshman, and another which houses sophomores, juniors and seniors. Major changes will be made as of next year- both campuses will house freshman-seniors. Waukegan High School has some fun and educating programs. 'CSP' are college-prep classes, the only bad thing about the program is that many students think they are more than what they really are. Rotc is fun, it teaches a student about discipline alongside with leadership skills, which most students find interesting. The campus overall has both; cons and pros. The NGC could use a little bit more re-modeling, along with better staff. The UGC needs more space on my part. Overall, both buildings are fun- you just need to make the best of it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2007

Waukegan High School is the type of school that only cares for you if you have good grades. They don't try to motivate the students at all. It's very sad to be in a school where there are constant fights. None of the students take school seriously. They think its a big popularity contest or a fashion show. The teachers, the principals, and the security really need to work harder in motivating our students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2006

Others have commented very well on the excelence of the advanced programs and problems with others; my comments relate to the school board and lack therein for a group effort to improve the overall district.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 24, 2006

The College Studies Program is dynamite. Kids are well prepared for college level work. Honors level is exceptionally good. These kids' abilities are not accurately reflected in overall average for the district. But be aware there is a top end present that does a great job. Average students could be challenged better and the bottom end which constitutes the majority of the population is in real trouble in spite of serious efforts to reach out to them and provide opportunities to remediate and appropriately challenge these kids to excell. New principal will take over duties in July '06 and so it is not clear how his leadership will affect the school at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

The CSP Program is a great program. It exposes students to a vast amount of knowledge. The student who complete this program are well rounded for college. This school has a band and music classes. The sports program for track could be better though. They could use better coaches that take the team seriously and motivate the students better. This school has many clubs you can join during and after school. Parents are involved somewhat. I would like to see gymnastics back at this school. One problem this school has is that it is over crowded. The halls during passing periods are real tight. The could use a bigger building.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
24%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female22%
Male29%
Black15%
Asian58%
Hispanic26%
Multiracial29%
Native Americann/a
White52%
Low income19%
Non-low income30%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities29%
English language learners1%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students24%
Female24%
Male25%
Black18%
Asian53%
Hispanic24%
Multiracial36%
Native Americann/a
White41%
Low income19%
Non-low income28%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities28%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students21%
Female15%
Male26%
Black13%
Asian53%
Hispanic20%
Multiracial29%
Native Americann/a
White45%
Low income14%
Non-low income25%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities23%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

75%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 73% 24%
Black 18% 18%
White 5% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2325 Brookside Avenue
Waukegan, IL 60085
Phone: (847) 360-5621

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT